We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Place and Awesome Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #129 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Indianola, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place and Awesome Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Staybridge Suites only made our trip to New York even better. From the staff to the food, everything was awesome. It is conveniently located close to Times Square, The Subway and Port Authority. The staff knows the area very well and made some great suggestions for dining. Hats off to Bellman Jaime and Eddie, friendly and helpful. Being within the Hells Kitchen neighborhood provides many dining options that should fit into everyones budget. A full refrigerator, microwave and dishwasher in the room was a nice added plus. Rooms in New York are typically small but theirs are adequate. Enjoy the full breakfast and happy hour which is closer to a full meal with wine, beer and soft drinks. Great place and we will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be about the same. Besides you are in New York City, go out and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,759
    1,758
    373
    65
    28
See reviews for
1,498
1,870
205
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Staybridge has been great- close to major dept stores, sights, subway etc Facilities such as the kitchenette, access to laundry on site etc very convenient. The food quality at breakfast and happy hour not really up to our standard, but we tend to sleep in anyway and eat out for brunch elsewhere, so not a problem. You can usually scrounge something even if selective, and take something back to you room if your late or its busy. The bed is very comfortable, hence another reason to sleep in. One of the most comfortable beds in any hotel we have stayed in anywhere- Australia, Paris, Japan, Scandinavia. Internet inclusive in the price fantastic and convenient.Very happy with our choice and would definitely stay here again should we come back to NY.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 15mattocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idriss K, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Staybridge Suites New York.
We are delighted you have been able to take advantage of our very central location, as well to experience the comfort of our rooms, as they are conveniently designed.
In case you’re interested the comforter mattress you’ve referred to is Serta Perfect Sleepers w/ Pillow tops.
We thank you again for choosing &recommending the Staybridge Suites and we look forward to welcoming you for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel - sure, NYC is uber-expensive - but this hotel gives you so much more for your money!
Full buffet breakfast with a wide variety of hot and cold options daily and Tuesday - Thursday 5-7pm a happy hour with wine / beer and salad / hot entree selection! This translates to a big saving in dining out costs during your stay!
Housekeeping faultless, front desk and reception staff friendly and helpful - we were even given complimentary tickets to a broadway show!!
Yes, the elevators are small and slow - but just allow sufficient time - doesn't have to be an issue!
Our room (2010) was big by NYC standards - big flat screen tv, desk, in- room safe, lots of storage, king size bed, chair and footstool, bath, fully equipped kitchenette with full-sized fridge, even a dishwasher! What more could you possibly want/need?
We even had a view of the Empire State Building from our window!
The Port Authority Bus Terminal is just across the road, which we used to go to the Woodbury Factory Outlets. The subway is on the corner of 40th and 8th, but you can pretty much walk everywhere - we walked to Macy's, Madison Square Gardens, the USS Intrepid Museum, Times Square, Rockefeller Centre, and The Empire State!! ( and we are 46 and 55 ).
Yes, the block the hotel is in is a little seedy ( parole office, couple of x-rated shops ) but in a week we never felt unsafe - NYC has police on practically every corner, and we saw more homeless on the streets of Boston. There are people on the streets 24/7, so it always feels safe!
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the Times Square district, or as great base for NYC.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gotigers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idriss K, Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so very for your review, we are so thrilled you found our hotel to be of great value.
We spent a great deal of time in recruitment process and I`m glad that you’ve noticed our team is always eager to provide excellent customer service and make sure our guest`s stay is most enjoyable.
Thank you for your understanding and plan your day accordingly, please be assured that we’ve already done quote a lot to ensure the peak hours are at a minimal.
We thank you again for recommending our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you to the Staybridge Suites for your next trip to the big apple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Was transferred to staybridge suites as onepeak messed up my reservation. The hotel is a pleasant surprise as it's located just behind the port authority. There are good food within walking distance, 5 napkin burger, db bistro, shake shack, le bernardin etc. It's also walking distance to shopping like Macy's and attraction like Rockefeller centre and empire state building. The hotel rooms are not well insulated as you can hear people talking outside the corridor. However the rooms are clean and nicely done up with area to cook. If you are going to the Javits, it's a ten minute walk. Overall it's a great place to stay in new York at a reasonable price.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kkyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Staybridge has a great location. Close to Times Square, close to the subway, close to the Port Authority (no, really, its a plus). The hotel charge is about $300 per night, which seems to be the going rate. The included breakfast and Happy Hour were a step up from the usual "Drury grub". The reason I did not rate it a 5 star is because the elevators are slow. Get a room on a lower level so that you can take the stairs. You should also check out: Four Points, Fairfield and the Distrikt hotel. They are all right next to each other on 40th and seemed nice. Maybe they could give a better price.

Room Tip: Get a room on a level that you can walk up to, so as to avoid elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Websterwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We thought this hotel was great for the price point. The rooms was pretty spacious for NYC standards. The addition of the small kitchenette would be great if you were staying for a longer time. The location was good. Lots of things to walk to in the area. The rooms and common areas were all very clean. They also offered a happy hour with free drinks and snacks (free drinks in Manhattan!). We actually didn't check that out but thought it was a nice touch. We enjoyed our stay and had no problems.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrealyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

If your looking for a central located hotel this is ideal! 10 minutes walk to Maceys, Empire State and literally minutes walk to Times Square. Rooms are small but adequate and are very clean. We had an incident with the air con unit which was eventually sorted after complaining to the Manager as the front desk staff wasn't bothered about the inconvenience I experienced. In fact that night was the worst nights sleep I've had! These things happen from time time but its all about how it's sorted out.... Would stay again if the price was right!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Brent B,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We are delighted our location suited you well. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and we regret you found the level of service received less than satisfactory. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,173 reviews
Midtown
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
#281 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,658 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#173 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#138 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,664 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,046 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#94 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing