We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Ranked #343 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Short Break”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had recently reopened after post Superstorm Sandy repairs to Reception & Basement. Mostly new staff but they were wonderfully friendly and helpful.
Very enjoyable stay, slept really well on 27th floor and we were even found a room with a bath.
Breakfast staff were unbeatable and the cinnamon buns “to die for” – very sad there were none on our last day.
Fantastic area to stay in and we loved NY.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaDGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We truly appreciate your feedback and thank you for returning after we reopened from the storm. I will share your comments on our new staff to our team. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    240
    92
    25
    27
See reviews for
138
118
31
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Had to get last minute reservations in NYC and this was one of the few hotels in the area of my office that offered the government rate. Best selling point for the hotel was its location. The hotel itself is fine. Clean rooms. Free breakfast. Only one complaint..the bed was too hard. Otherwise, for the money...I'd stay here again if need be. Oh, one huge thumbs up to the staff. Everyone was super polite and friendly. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaDGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I truly appreciate your feedback. Glad to hear my staff was great. I will have my housekeeping team double check our mattresses for better comfort. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotels in Manhattan are rarely under $200 so I was ecstatic when I found a deal on Hotwire for under $150 for this hotel. The hotel seemed like it was just remodeled. Everything is updated and very nice with nice comfy beds! This hotel is situated almost at the bottom end of Manhattan. It was minutes away from the 9/11 Memorial and Museum and the Brooklyn Bridge, which I walked and took the water taxi back. There are various subways close by and a bus stop right in front to take you uptown. Lots of stores and places to eat nearby. I arrived earlier than the check-in time and they were able to store my luggage while i explored the city. The staff was very kind and courteous. I would definitely stay here again for the right price!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lis_p5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaDGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I truly appreciate your feedback. Glad to hear you had a great stay. We look forward to hearing from our guest and we thank you for your great comments. Thank you so much and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed in a number of hotels in the area and I decided to try this because it is nearest to the office so I wanted to see how it compares though most of my colleagues raised an eyebrow at the choice. I now see why. I know the hotels in the area are expensive but this reached a new low ... The check-in is inefficient with me completing paperwork - who does that in the computerised age? The room is filthy - I don't know when the carpet was last vacummed but the dirt is obvious with very thick layer of dust in an easily accessible spot behind the bedside table. There are no black out curtains - good luck to anyone jetlagged waking up at 4am in the morning with sunlight and messed-up body clock. The heating is a nightmare - I'm writing this in a jacket and when it does work - it also adds to the smell whirring around dust. I would note that just last week I stayed in Andaz half a block away - for about $60/night more (unfortunately that rate wasn't available for the short trip this week) - and it's night and day difference. I also stayed in doubletree several times - same price range but also substantially better and perfectly serviceable - only further away from my office.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissTrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaDGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I truly apologize for your dissatisfied stay with us. I have discussed your concerns with our housekeeping team and I assure you we have corrected your concerns. We rely on you as our guest to let us know how we are doing and I truly unhappy to hear about your poor visit. We hope that your willing to give us another opportunity that way we can show you that we listened to our guest and made improvements. Thank you so much and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I really liked this hotel. I had read many reviews about how the rooms were "tiny". Come on people, this is New York City! I actually thought the room was very nicely sized for NYC. I've stayed in smaller rooms several times in the city. There was a desk, a flatscreen TV, a nightstand on each side of the King Size bed, a little dresser, and a small closet. The bathroom was very nice as well. The front desk staff was pleasant. The free breakfast was a definite plus. It was well stocked and very good. The 2 and 3 subway lines are just around the corner and up a block or 2. Very convenient.

I liked this area a lot because it's away from Times Square and all the touristy stuff. Yes, it's near Wall Street and the stock market, but it wasn't crazy crowded with people at all.

The only reason I gave this hotel 4 stars instead of 5 was because our toilet paper holder was broken, causing us to have to put the toilet paper on the sink counter (where it got wet). Also, the shower/tub combo drain ran very slowly. In fact, by the time I was done showering, I was standing in water up to my ankles. Also, the housekeeper unplugged my cell phone charger and moved it, moved my sunscreen into the bathroom, and also moved my bottle of Downy Wrinkle Releaser. I have no idea why. They were on my night stand and ended up in the bathroom when I returned. I don't like that they unplugged my cell charger and moved it for no reason either. I understand housekeepers might need to move a few things to clean properly, but there is no reason for what they did.

Everything else about this hotel was great. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaDGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I appreciate you comments and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I have informed our housekeeping department about your concerns on moving your items. I definitely agree they should have left them the way you wanted them. We have corrected this error. We look forward to your next visit with us that way we can show you our improvements. Thank you so much for staying with us and can't wait for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Met Scott the manager in the breakfast room (which was a good hot breakfast with great cinnamon rolls) and he inquired about our stay -- we were quick to point out his excellent staff (front desk staff found a pub for us and printed out the directions; Sonya in the breakfast room was so friendly and kept the mood light).

Our room was small with no view, but it was very clean and comfortable (not much hot water at 5PM) and the bed was comfortable.

The next day when we checked out Scott remembered us and where we were from -- maybe this is not a big thing, but being in the service industry myself. I think it is.

We were VERY impressed with this room for a very reasonable price. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a convenient location in lower Manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaDGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to reading great comments on our team. Thank you for choosing us for your lodging needs and I have shared your great comments on our staff with everyone, We will also review the hot water to make sure we correct this. We look forward to your next visit with us soon! Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here with my daughter on a recent trip to visit a college on Staten Island. About a 10 minute walk to Staten Island Ferry, right around the corner from Wall St. and the Financial District. Room was small but appeared recently renovated and was VERY clean. Small fridge in room, and microwave. Free hot breakfast was about par for the course for HIE with eggs, biscuits and gravy, juices, pastries and pancakes. Very friendly and helpful staff from check-in to housekeeping and esp in the breakfast area. Several dining options close by, nothing fancy but reasonable diner/deli type places. Lobby area small, but does have a small business center and fitness ctr. in the basement (never saw this so can't report on it.) Closest metro about 5 blks up Wall St. or at the Seaport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaDGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We truly appreciate your feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast. We newly opened from Hurricane Sandy damages and glad you were able to notice our changes. Thank you and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#181 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Financial District
The Wall Street Inn
The Wall Street Inn
#296 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Financial District
Eurostars Wall Street
Eurostars Wall Street
#396 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Four Points by Sheraton New York Downtown
Four Points by Sheraton New York...
#352 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#184 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#211 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Address: 126 Water St, New York City, NY 10005-1615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Green Hotel in New York City
#234 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new in 2009, the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Manhattan is conveniently located on Water Street close to Wall Street. We are just a short distance from NY Stock Exchange, City Hall, Federal Reserve Bank, and World Trade Center. Lower Manhattan will keep you fully entertained by offering a variety of attractions including South Street Seaport, Battery Park, Little Italy, Chinatown, and walking distance from the South Ferry which connects to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. We offer 112 luxuriously appointed guest rooms equipped with deluxe new bedding, Smart Bath Collection amenities, wired/wireless high-speed Internet access. This newly constructed hotel also features an exercise room, business center, and hot breakfast bar. We are confident that your stay with us will be a pleasant experience, so Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing