We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel surprise near Wall Street”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Ranked #347 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Travelers Rest, South Carolina
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A hotel surprise near Wall Street”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Visiting New York on business, I expected an overpriced selection of tiny hotel rooms. Not so at the Holiday Inn Express hotel near Wall and Water Streets. It is a narrow building with four rooms each on 27 floors. Though the room was not large, it was certainly large enough to be comfortable. The best thing about this HI Express was the staff. They went out of their way - every one of them - to do great service, from the front desk clerks to the cheery breakfast room hostess who, when she found that I didn't care for the peppers in the prepared omelets, offered to cook me some scrambled eggs. This never happened before in a mid-price hotel (for a free breakfast!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaDGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. We truly appreciate your kind words. We look forward to your next visit with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    240
    92
    25
    27
See reviews for
138
119
31
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel became my favorite place to stay when traveling to Manhattan on business. It is in the heart of the financial district, is walking distance to most of the large financial firms and brokerage houses, and is close to a metro station if you need to venture farther than your legs will take you. Even if you're in NYC for sight seeing this hotel might be the perfect place to base yourself and a budget price for the city. Yes the rooms are small but every hotel room less than $250/night is small in NYC! The staff were always friendly and after a few stays at the hotel they remembered me. The hotel is clean, quiet, and has fast internet. I also like that there are great restaurants, coffee shops, and food carts nearby as well as a number of plazas and parks that can be a great escape from the hustle and bustle of Manhattan.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReyShaunMadolora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaDGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to your feedback. It is great to hear this! Thank you for continuing to stay with us when you travel to NYC. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The only reason why I don't rate this as a 5 is b/c it is so tight/small. It goes up a lot of floors (23+), but there were only 4 rooms on our floor! Service was great. Location tough to find; it's not actually on Wall St. One delivery truck blocks the entire entrance. Breakfast was great as well, but it too was so cramped; you're walking around people saying "'scuse me, 'scuse me." But IK it's NYC; that's what you get. The room, altho small, was great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jncapobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaDGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. We look forward to hearing from our guest. We truly appreciate your feedback and glad to hear you had a great time with us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have stayed in NY many times in my life, for business, for leisure, or both. NY never fails to leave you untouched. It is truly a great city.
However, most hotels in NY are either very expensive, or they are complete ratholes (like that Hotel Pennsylvania, for example, terrible)
This one was a lucky find!
It was cheap, and it was VERY clean. The rooms are small-ish, but: that made them cosy. The bathroom was downright beautiful, and the small of the room was unusually fresh and nice. We felt comfortable right away. I think it is the best hotel I have stayed in in NY, and yet it was the cheapest!
And: the location is amazing! Wall Street for residents and hotels is up an coming anyway, as more uptown is often loud at night, and a lot less civilised. With Pier 17 10 minutes walk away it is perfect for great outside dinners and seeing Brooklyn.
Staff at the desk was very helpful, breakfast was decent (actually it was very good for the price, and it was included in the rate) and, for me very important, Wi-fi connection was perfect.
I can only recommend this hotel, and I will certainly stay here every time I am in NY as long as they keep rates this low, and as long as they keep the hotel maintained as they do right now. As I always say: why change the formula, if it works!

Room Tip: Take one at the back, very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaDGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your feedback. I am very pleased to hear you had a great time with us! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Booked the Holiday Inn Express after much research - Ten of our familiy met up in NYC and it was just as we expected from reviews we had read. Clean, friendly staff and a fantastic breakfast selection. The lady running breakfast was amazing, so organised, in control and nothing was any bother for her. All staff were extremely helpful. We were out all day so the key thing was a good bed, breakfast and safe place to stay-Holiday Inn Epxress did all 3. We are used to walking and picked this hotel and location as NY is easy to walk around. If you enjoy a good walk to other main attraction book this hotel. Its only a few minutes from 911 Memorial, Ferry Stations, and South Street Seaport, a fantastic mix of seaside type atmosphere, shops and food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaDGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your feedback and glad to hear you had a great time with us. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed there two nights for the price of about $220. I think it's a long time ago that I've seen such an horrible hotel.

The lobby is very uninviting, the aisles are small and the hotel looks as it hasn't been renovated since ages. The room is a complete horror. Small, furniture from the 80'ies. There is NO SAFE in the room, so you have to take all your belongings with you all the time. For a couple you'll barely find space to store your bags. The shower curtain look as if you don't wanna touch it and you barely can close the door of the bathroom, because it's so small. The AC is so loud that you just can't sleep. To complete the journey, our room was full of mosquitos, so we couldn't sleep the whole night because we had to kill about 20 mosquitos. So you can't sleep because of the loud AC and you can't open the window because of the moquitos.

For this amount of money, even in NYC this is a bad joke. For just $20 more we've found a great boutique hotel - last minute booked.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasTravelTester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaDGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. I truly apologize for your poor experience. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and it truly disappoints us to hear this. We are working to improve your concerns and will address these issues immediately. We hope that you will reconsider us in the future. Thank you again and please accept our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We landed at Newark 11.30am and was able check in at 12.30pm some 3 hours early without any issue, greeted with a smile and a very nice clean modern room, the rooms are a nice size my wife uses a wheelchair and we could get this in the room and leave it up and still have plenty of room toiletries are provided, the lifts are fast and never waited more than a few mins, the breakfast was just great with things like fresh juice, coffee, pancakes, toast, bacon, omelets, sausage, muffins and more and there are trays so you can take it back to your room and the lady who was in charge was very helpful. Location about 10 mins walk to world trade center and the water taxi is just a few mins across the roadand battery park about 5 mins walk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaDGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Very grateful to hear you had an excellent stay with us. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#177 of 468 in New York City
372 reviews
Financial District
Eurostars Wall Street
Eurostars Wall Street
#397 of 468 in New York City
272 reviews
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Fi...
#241 of 468 in New York City
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
The Wall Street Inn
The Wall Street Inn
#280 of 468 in New York City
502 reviews
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#205 of 468 in New York City
523 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall...
#339 of 468 in New York City
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Address: 126 Water St, New York City, NY 10005-1615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Green Hotel in New York City
#234 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new in 2009, the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Manhattan is conveniently located on Water Street close to Wall Street. We are just a short distance from NY Stock Exchange, City Hall, Federal Reserve Bank, and World Trade Center. Lower Manhattan will keep you fully entertained by offering a variety of attractions including South Street Seaport, Battery Park, Little Italy, Chinatown, and walking distance from the South Ferry which connects to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. We offer 112 luxuriously appointed guest rooms equipped with deluxe new bedding, Smart Bath Collection amenities, wired/wireless high-speed Internet access. This newly constructed hotel also features an exercise room, business center, and hot breakfast bar. We are confident that your stay with us will be a pleasant experience, so Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing