We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money in Central Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Ranked #169 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good value for money in Central Manhattan”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The hotel is very conveniently situated on the West side, close to Times Square. The best part about the hotel is its location close to most tourist spots, Times Square, Central Park, Museums, Theatres.

The service is very good and you see smiling faces all around. The rooms were ok for me but might be a bit small for families.

The food was good and for its price and location, the hotel is very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jturano1, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
We do have an awesome location and we are glad that you got to experience it. Smiling faces and sincere care is what my staff strives for and we are glad you found that.

The Gotham Bistro serves some real excellent dishes and we are glad you came to enjoy it. We look forward to seeing you back.

Regards,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    931
    289
    82
    44
See reviews for
613
610
154
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
san rafael ca
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I chose Four Points because it is near the theater district and we were there with our grandkids. We were happy and they loved it -- the beds were comfortable, the bathroom was more than adequate, the front desk people were very helpful (they even gave the kids welcome cupcakes!). We slept well, none of the often annoying NYC street noise. It is just across from the Port Authority bus station but that was not a problem. We found several very nice coffee and sandwich shops nearby which met with the approval of both adults and grands.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jturano1, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and the great cupcakes! We look forward to seeing you back in the future.

Regards,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Last September, I booked a 7 night stay over Christmas at Sheraton Four Points Midtown-Times Square on Booking.com with the understanding that it could be cancelled without a fee. My computer locked up after filling out my credit card information and I never received a confirmation email. I made several attempts to search for it but it was not to be found. I should have contacted Booking.com to cancel but I didn't, thinking the reservation did not go through. MY mistake. But the hotel charged me for the whole stay, a whooping $1576. I called and emailed both the hotel and Booking.com several times, each telling me to take it up with the other, and both claiming there was nothing they could do about it. I wrote to the hotel's general manager, Mr. Turano and the Front Desk manager Priscilla Gomez, explained my personal situation, a recent widow with a teenager to raise living in a foreign country and I offered to pay for a one night stay, the standard fee hotels charge their no-show guests. Declined. I have searched Starwood / Sheraton's website to file a complaint, surprise, not one to be found. I tried to leave a completed stay review on the Four-points website, my booking number was rejected. This extremely unsatisfied customer will NEVER stay at a Starwood / Sheraton brand hotel AGAIN or use Booking.com and will do everything in my power to warn others of it's predatory no show policy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MargoMWiesbaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jturano1, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
While I understand that you are upset about the charge, we have received several variations of what exactly happened with your reservation. At first your claim was you did not receive an email. At this time we contacted booking.com who stated they had confirmation that an email was sent to you.

From this review, it is stating that your computer froze. This is another variation of the story.

To clarify you booked a reservation that was a prepaid reservation. We guaranteed that room on a sold out date for you to arrive. Unfortunately we could not sell that room again when you did not arrive for your reservation.

Please understand that these are standard policies in all hotels and we are not predators.

Regards,
Joseph Turano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The hotel was disappointing for many reasons. Firstly, the room was extremely outdated and dirty. The carpets were not clean, and the room seemed to have taken some wear and tear. The walls were extremely thin, and therefore, when the neighbour stepped out at 7am to make a phone call in the hallway, we would hear every word. The maid also knocked on our door at 9am, though we had only checked in at midnight the night before due to our flight. Lastly, the staff at the front desk and the manager on duty were extremely rude upon check-out. When we inquired about a charge, the staff became very defensive and accusatory. Overall, the experience was not at all pleasant. I would definetly recommend staying somewhere else, as New York has so many great hotels to offer (this not being one of them).

Room Tip: The walls are extremely thin. Keep this in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cloma099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jturano1, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
As you can see from many of the reviews prior, the experience you had with us is not a common one. We are so sorry you felt this way about your stay. I would love the opportunity for you to contact me so we can discuss.

I can be reached at the hotel main number.

Regards,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have never stayed in a Four points before.. i picked it because of the location and i wanted 2 Beds in the room as i was staying with my son.. it was clean , great bathroom and for NYC , pretty large rooms

Room Tip: the elevators are a problem get a low floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emjaytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jturano1, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
It is wonderful that you got to experience how great a Four Points can be. We look forward to seeing you back at our and other Four Points Hotels.

Warmest regards,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Enjoyed a recent stay at the Sheraton at Times Square while traveling for business in NYC. The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming at the front desk and lobby area. Pay attention to the banks of elevators for different floors. After reading many reviews, I wondered what the rooms would be like as many people remarked about how small and outdated they were. Here is my impression. They are smaller than what people may be used to when traveling on the interstate or smaller cities, but if you have spent any time in larger cities like Boston or London, these rooms are pretty adequate. The bathroom was small, but the shower was amazing! And honestly, how much time do you really spend in there in the whole scheme of things when on vacation - or the bedroom for that matter. The view from the 48th floor was amazing!

The hotel is a great location if you are visiting the hot spots downtown. Walking distance to Times Square, Rockerfeller Center and underground station. Interesting that the panhandlers only seem to come out on Sunday evenings....???

The hotel had two restaurants, we dined at both. Service was good and food tasty at both. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance from the hotel as well. An Irish Pub right across the street, pizza places in Times Square, and a variety of other restaurants as well - all in various price ranges. Ask at the desk for recommendations. We visited Azaleas Italian Restaurant, TSQ pub, Pig and Whistle, and Rosie O'Grady's - all within walking distance.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can for the best view and ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jturano1, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thanks for the wonderful and detailed review. You did hit on some very major points. Though our rooms are not the largest, they are pretty large for New York City.

We are glad that for the most part your stay was a successful one and we look forward to having you back.

Regards,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was a nice alternative for NY as we typically stay at the Westins. We were in to see Kings of Leon on valentines day. Given the special night, the higher end hotels were very pricey.

The four points was nicely decorated, and provides those little extras the other high end hotels don't. Free bottled water and free wifi which we use everytime we stay somewhere. The staff was very helpful and friendly and even upgrade us to a higher floor upon request (I'm a gold spg member). I would recommend this location to someone staying in NY who doesn't wasnt to splurge on the higher end locations.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlg454nyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jturano1, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review. We are glad that you found the great extras we offer and you found our hotel staff helpful and friendly.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#344 of 466 in New York City
57 reviews
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#275 of 466 in New York City
4,015 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#235 of 466 in New York City
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#142 of 466 in New York City
1,068 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#189 of 466 in New York City
587 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#72 of 466 in New York City
5,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Address: 326 W 40th St, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Green Hotel in New York City
#175 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#176 Business Hotel in New York City
#191 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square hotel is in the heart of Manhattan near the Broadway Theater District, Port Authority, Hell's Kitchen, Central Park. We offer free wifi, the Gotham Bistro, Lobby Bar, Room Service, Fitness Center, and our staff is ready to make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points By Sheraton Midtown - Times Square Hotel New York City
Four Points Midtown
Four Points New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing