We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great VFM hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Ranked #182 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Located on West 40th, right near the bus terminal, this hotel is really good for a VFM stay in NY.
Times Square is 2 blocks away, Broadway is 8 lanes down, restaurant Row is 6 blocks away!
The rooms are basic but clean. I didnt eat in the hotel but what really impressed me was the "service with a smile" that everyone had...but the Ultimate is the location! Very central to great restaurants, shopping, times square etc. Worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajHalve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We are glad you got to experience our "Service with a Smile". We look forward to many many future stays.

Regards,
Joseph Turano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,263 - 1,269 of 2,291 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed here in November with my daugter, mother and sister. We all LOVED this hotel! It was very clean! Location was close to everything. Port Authority is right there with the E train that takes you back and forth to JFK. Hotel staff was great!!! I will stay here again!! We also had a view of the Empire State building from our room!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rayrachz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaskeane, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you Rayrachz for your review. We are delighted to hear that your mother, sister, and yourself enjoyed you stay with us. We do hope to see you all again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

About a 5 minute walk from Times Square and right across the street from the Port Authority bus station. As a solo female traveller I felt very safe walking to and from the hotel and the surrounding area at night.The price was good for such a central location. The room was clean, the furnishings seemed quite new and the heating and internet worked properly. There is a tea/coffee machine but no fridge.The hotel is 100% non-smoking and the window can be opened. My room faced an office building but there was no one working the day I was there so it was ok. The gentleman who checked me in was friendly and attentive. Leaving my luggage for a few hours after I checked out was no problem. Also there is a Maoz vegetarian, a comic store and Muji just down the street! turn right when you exit the hotel and just keep walking!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoebe_skywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaskeane, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you to the reviewer for there detailed review of our property. If you do stay with us again and you need a fridge during your stay you can request one prior to your stay or while staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

As a SPG member, I try to stay at their properties. This was the perfect location for an overnight trip. The room was functional, clean and more importantly the location was ideal as was the rate. The lobby is non-existent and public spaces are minimal but it was the perfect place to sleep while in NYC on business

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank motowninchapelhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaskeane, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you to the reviewer for being a loyal SPG member and for choosing to stay at our property while visiting NYC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The room was not large but quite comfortable with two Queen size beds. A good and ample breakfast was included. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel has minimal public areas which did not bother us as we were not there to spend a lot of time in the hotel. Neighborhood was a bit grim with a probation center next door (long line of parolees waiting to check in when we arrived). I would return but would not be willing to pay more.

Room Tip: Back of hotel was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santoro2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaskeane, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you santoro2009 for your review of our hotel. Thank you for pointing out our "friendly and helpful staff." I can assure the reviewer and future guests that our street has made a huge transformation from what it was years ago. We are on the same block as 3 other major hotels and there is always people on the streets as well as presence of police to ensure the safety of the hotels surrounding area. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great location across from Port Authority and close walking distance to Times Squre, theaters, resturant row (ESCA!) and numerous other cool resturants & bars especialy the Sky Bar which is right next door and has an awesome happy hour and fantastic views! Don't need a car, come by bus or Ferry and a 10 dollar cab ride or by train since Penn Station is only a six block walk! They have a gym, and there are many cheap breakfast and lunch joints close nearby.
Rooms on the small side but bed and shower standard siz and thats all that matters. Plus for he price compared to other NY hotels, well worth it. Staff very friendly and attentive! Easy to get a cab anywhere casue they are all over for the bus terminal! If I had to stay in midtown again- I will defenitely go back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaskeane, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you to the reviewer for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for a great review that hits on all the points we strive to provide to our guests best summed up by your review title "convienient and affordable." We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a great value hotel for those looking to explore NYC on a budget. It's not the Ritz, but it gets the job done. The rooms are small, but functional. My room was very clean, which was nice. If you're traveling with little kids this place may not be ideal as my room only had a stand up shower, no tub. The location is a few blocks away from Times Square, but because of this you only pay about 1/3 of the cost of a hotel in the middle of it all. I'd take that tradeoff every day. I also used the "fitness center" (a small room in the basement), and was pleasantly surprised that the equipment was well maintained.

The only huge downside for me (as a business traveler) is that internet, while included, was unbearably slow, to the point where is was pretty much unusable. If my iPhone 4S is a 3G phone, the internet speeds here are like 0.1G. Remember using a dial up modem? That's what the internet is like at this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on as high a floor as possible to avoid street noise. This is a 30+ story building, so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsr1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaskeane, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you to the reviewer for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for pointing out the value you received for what you paid. Just to let yourself and future guests know you can request a room with either a tub or shower when you check in we have both room types. I would also like to apologize to the reviewer for the internet issues they encountered when they stayed at our hotel. I can assure you this is not the norm for our hotel. We have recently upgraded to wifi service that is 4X brand standard to serve our guest. We do hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#283 of 470 in New York City
101 reviews
Financial District
Four Points by Sheraton New York Downtown
Four Points by Sheraton New York...
#339 of 470 in New York City
259 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#240 of 470 in New York City
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#322 of 470 in New York City
965 reviews
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#309 of 470 in New York City
4,231 reviews
Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#329 of 470 in New York City
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square

Address: 326 W 40th St, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Green Hotel in New York City
#172 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#173 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $139 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square hotel is in the heart of Manhattan near the Broadway Theater District, Port Authority, Hell's Kitchen, Central Park. We offer free wifi, the Gotham Bistro, Lobby Bar, Room Service, Fitness Center, and our staff is ready to make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Midtown - Times Square Hotel New York City
4 Points By Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points Midtown
Four Points New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing