We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awful”

New York City Sightseeing
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.00*
and up
City Sightseeing New York Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #172 of 594 Tours in New York City
Attraction details
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“awful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is our 3rd time to NY and stupidly booked the city sights bus tour this time.. (this is the bluebus). We were left waiting for 80 mins for a bus at ground zero that should just never showed. We ended up getting a taxi back to our hotel on 52nd and 7th. There were several other people waiting at the same stop that had to do the same thing. Very expensive and very frustrating. The tour guides on the buses were also poor to say the least they hummed and hawed and tried to fill gaps when they didn’t have any info. We jumped off 3 of the buses and each of the guides was very disappointing . We had done the loops before but for a first time visitor to the city it would have been very disappointing,.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank creamybeamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    149
    67
    52
    93
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Worth the money, plenty of buses. Although some were a little dirty. You can also use other closed in services if it is wet

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Insult to the History”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have never been on a tour of a City where the guide hates every moment of history and every one of the past people. We were unable to get a feel of this city as the guide made it clear that NY was a very nasty place with tales of horror. We came away feeling that this is a place of crime and dregs of the world lived here. We could not wait to leave NY and only when we got on our Tour Bus Of USA did we feel safe. Don't go on this tour if you want a real history of past people.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank patrickchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Choose your tour guide carefully”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I recently took some family members from out of the country on this tour. The first tour guide was a nightmare. He was rude, unfriendly and racist against the country of my families origins. He spoke in depth of drugs, money and what an attrocity all the buildings were in the city. It was an embarassment and definately not for families. Thankfully we got off that bus before anything else offensive could happen. The other tour guides varied.
Being that it was March the bus was still covered with plexiglass which was very scratched leaving the only good seats in the front row. Because there were not many buses they were very full and we had to sit downstairs where you could barely see out the windows because they were covered from the outside with stickers. Also, the maps provided did not coincide with where the bus actually stops. This creates a lot of confustion and missed buses.
I have been on a lot of double decker bus tours and this was by far the worst. There are many other options in NYC that could be better. The Big Bus Tour group looked nicer and had a lot more room on the top of the buses we saw.
This company could improve tremendously by getting polite, culturally sensitive tour guides, replacing the plexiglass with some you can actually see through, taking the stickers off the windows on the first floor, getting more buses, and updating their maps/stops.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank azzzure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Blue bus tour.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

We pre booked a 3 day ticket with our New York City Pass. When we picked up the tickets from their office they tried to sell us an upgrade for the red bus for an extra fifty dollars. We didn't, but wished we had!
The blue bus was extremely cold. There was no heating and the cover was only plastic with gaps. It was scruffy and grubby and you could barely see through the scuffed plastic. The only positive was the guide Darius. He was informative and engaging with the passengers. He sang and kept us entertained through the one and only trip we took. We couldn't face being so cold on another trip.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Garlen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York City Sightseeing also viewed

 

Been to New York City Sightseeing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing