We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic New Downtown Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of W New York - Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
W New York - Downtown
Ranked #239 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Fantastic New Downtown Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

I just stayed at the new W Downtown with my mom and sister for a girls weekend. The weekend started on a high with the friendly staff at the door and at the Welcome Desk. The lobby and bar are fun and lively on Friday night with a cool crowd of New Yorkers and out-of-towners. We loved the room - hip and spotless yet understated and full of great treats - from the Bliss products to the fun mini-bar! And, of course, the comfy W beds.

The restaurant downstairs, BLT provided a delicious late night snack & drink (try the chocolate hazelnut cake!)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASKNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    400
    151
    72
    29
See reviews for
169
344
80
288
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
398 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

We chose the hotel for location as we prefer to be in the financial district when in NYC. The room felt like it had not had a decent clean, we think the housekeeping department could not be bothered and wanted to be out of the room as soon as possible. Front desk were excellent. We might return (if I knew the room would be ok) but I think next time we will stay at the Marriott!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brittanymarkwis, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Welcome CheshireLady,

I am thrilled to read your shout out to the Front Desk Team here for a job well done, however, disappointed to learn of your other feedback… I would really appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further and gather more details regarding your experience. Please reach out to me at gmsofia.vandaele@whotels.com so we can connect! I look forward to hearing from you…

Warmest,
Sofia L. Vandaele – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

The W Hotel downtown has a fantastic staff! The doormen went out of their way to take care of our bags, find a taxi (not always an easy task by ground zero), and advise us on the best way to get around.

The concierge staff were extremely responsive, answering questions prior to my arrival and arranging dinner reservations on the spur of the moment. Not to be outdone, the cleaning staff were particularly friendly as well.

Its a new building and the room was larger than I'm used to in NYC however some of the hallways were quite dark, its party of the trendy atmosphere perhaps but it made my significant other feel uncomfortable.

BLT, the restaurant in the lobby was also fantastic... I ate the BLT burger and shared the Tuna. Great staff there as well!

Overall, thanks for a wonderful stay

- Cameron

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cameroons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

Between the tooth sucking, sighing complete with eyeball rolling front desk representative to the bellman repeatedly being sent to the wrong room to the fire department having to rescue trapped guests in the elevator and security knocking on our door to ask us if we had a wire hanger to help get them out to not having the correct rooms reserved having made the reservations six weeks prior and confirming every two weeks up 'til two days before check in- it's LAUGHABLE to think that ANYONE, anyone at all, has had any proper training of any sort at this hotel. There are plenty of wonderful hotels in this city even other "W" Hotels but this one is without a doubt NOT one of them. STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manvilleboy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brittanymarkwis, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Hello Manvilleboy54,

It is troubling to learn of your experience here at W New York – Downtown. I must apologize for the numerous mishaps that occurred during your escape with us; I assure you that is not the norm. It would really like the opportunity to discuss this in further detail with you – at your earliest convenience please reach out to me at gmsofia.vandaele@whotels.com or call the hotel’s direct line and ask for me. Again, I’m sorry for your seemingly unpleasant experience, Manvilleboy and I look forward to speaking with you.

Warm Regards,
Sofia L. Vandaele – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
772 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

We always stay in and around the Financial District when we visit NYC, with the Millennium Hilton and Embassy Suits having been our regular hotels.

We decided to have a change this trip and booked into the W.

Overall it was a very good hotel, very modern and great location.

As a Gold SPG member I got my complimentary upgrade to a larger room overlooking the WTC site.

The Acura car service is very good - we made use of it to go to dinner one evening.

My biggest complaint was the cleanliness of the room (especially over the weekend period). The carpet and bathroom floor didn't appear to have been cleaned when we arrived and the overall room servicing was patchy (often with toiletries not replenished etc).

Overall a hit, but it has been open for 6 months or so, they need to bottom out these issues!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkSil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

I am a business traveler who stays all over NYC. This is the best hotel in the city. Marvelous room, especially the bed. But the best was the customer service. Great value for a 4 star.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brittanymarkwis, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Welcome Kimberly…

WOW, thank you so much! I’m thrilled to read your feedback and can’t wait to share it with the team!! It’s encouraging to hear their hard work and dedication doesn’t go unnoticed! I hope we can welcome you back for future escapes!!

Best personal regards,
Sofia L. Vandaele – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

Everything about the hotel was top drawer. The guest services Yeshare who checked us started our trip off on a positive note. The room was clean and cozy as stated. The bar was a great place to visit prior to heading out for a night in New York City. I normally don`t bother writing a review positive or negative but this hotel warrants the praise for outsanding merit in there abilities to meet guest services needs all around. Conceirge services, door man, housekeeping were all great. I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone to consider this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodyvisla1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#202 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#312 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,810 reviews
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#363 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Financial District
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Downtown

Property: W New York - Downtown
Address: 8 Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in New York City
#150 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#158 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#162 Family Hotel in New York City
#181 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Downtown is where the Financial District power action is, rubbing shoulders with the Statue of Liberty, NYSE and Brookfield Place. Power wheel and deal at our sleek and chic Living Room Bar & Terrace with stunning unobstructed north-facing views of 1 World Trade Center. With 217 rooms and 58 floors, explore the signature W bed, innovative technology, fantastic in-room entertainment and more, as Whatever/Whenever(R) makes all big city dreams come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your W New York - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing