We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but it is Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W New York - Downtown
Ranked #240 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed December 17, 2010

I stayed here for almost a week on business as my company is located literally around the corner from this hotel.
Rooms are ok but generally small, the beds are comfortable and showers excellent. There is an ipod speaker and a flatscreen tv in the rooms also. During the week this is an ok location with bars and restaurants but come weekend it is a ghost town. I also had issues getting cabs back to the hotel from other areas of New York city as they did not want to go back to Manhattan.
Service is ok, building noise was not really evident and the car service was also ok.
This is an ok hotel if the location is important to you, but I would say its probably over priced.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnc3720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,024 - 1,030 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2010

Just came back after a free night here using my SPG hotel points. The biggest problem with this hotel is its location. Their Acura drop-off service is a joke and no taxis will come to this area on weekend unless a hotel guest is arriving back to the hotel and taxi agrees to take you. The hotel is 1.5 blocks inside a main street with nothing but construction going on. The hotel is OK for weekday business crowd who are staying for business in downtown financial district. If you are arriving here for weekend (or weekday) stay for NYC attractions, look elsewhere unless you are getting a free night with your hotel points and all other starwood hotels in prime spots in NYC are not available. We had to wait 15 minutes for a taxi and I can see guests waiting for longer than 30 minutes during peak evening times to get one. It is about $18-19 each way from here to time square area by taxi. The contruction noise was not an issue for us as the contruction was not taking place on Sunday morning and it was raining, but I can see that as a problem also as noted by previous reviewers.

The staff is friendly and extremely helpful, lobby is wonderful (but no action at all when we were there on a saturday evening during prime Christmas time), and rooms are nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjuhawk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Great hotel design, especially the lobby and bar are breathtaking! the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful! Sofia, the GM was amazing! Thanks Nicole for the restaurant reservations! Robert, it was great seeing you back! very clean and beautiful rooms with modern design! It felt as a home away from home!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrik_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

This location is worth a look if you want a place that's not bang in the middle of all that NYC has to offer on the weekend, but is close enough to get to it, or if you want a place from which you can easily get to a waterfront view for a quiet walk, this may be for you. The hotel sits next to the WTC construction site which is sobering, but that project is progressing quietly, and was not intrusive.

W hotels have become favorites of mine and this one did not disappoint. From the lower deck entrance to the check-in experience in the visually impressive 5th floor lobby, to the clean, well-designed, quiet room, to the accommodating staff, to the lack of significant construction noise by the time I checked-out on Monday morning, to the very gracious general manager who came to meet me before I left to see how things were that weekend.....it was a good experience, and I'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vigi06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Yes, it's new. Yes, it's a W. Means the lobby becomes a throbbing night club at night and the halls are dark during the day.

Yes, the construction was ongoing until late in the night. SInce I'd read comments on TripAdvisor, I requested a side room instead of the larger room booked that faced the DB construction. It made a huge difference vs. my colleagues who had rooms facing the street. There are only 1-2 rooms not facing construction per floor and these rooms are small. I'd also be concerned about the rooms that are not open yet; they back on to the elevator shafts.

The thing that distinguishes this hotel from others in the city is the staff. They made a point of remembering guests and engaging them. They handled any & all requests with a can-do attitude- such a pleasant change from NY hotels.

The gym is very small and with limited equipment, but no one seems to use it. The bathroom only has a shower and there is no hand held shower head. The rooms, although new, are basically comfortable, but utilitarian. Nothing "luxe" here. I appreciated the new heating system- it worked vs. the last hotel I stayed in in NYC.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intrepid88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

This hotel is directly across from the WTC building site so the jack hammers work from 7:30am till dark every day except Sunday. The WTC project is about 4 years from completion.
The hotel believes in loud techno music and uncomfortable seating everywhere in the hotel. The staff said this was a W "soft opening", we thought it a "hard opening".
Rooms were tiny but the site across the street at least interesting! Beds were good and staff tried to be helpful but nothing quite worked from our heating unit to our friends' safe.
Lots of money for a hotel that fell short of what it should be!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelerpdx38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

I stay several weeks per year in New York. Discovering this new W-hotel last week was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is located close to 3 subway lines (1, R, 4+5 are within three blocks from the hotel), and very close to the ferry lines.

The people at this W exceed expectations, both in efficiency and genuine friendliness. The staff in the hotel is among the best I have encountered in my recent stays in similar hotels. They are friendly in a very genuine way. They made me feel at home from the moment I arrived here.

When I stayed here last week, some construction work at ground zero was taking place, but none of it affected the rest during the night. In day time, one can hear the noise of the workers, but not interfering with normal life.

The room I stayed in is very spacious, has lots of light and is - in W style - very nicely decorated. The hotel itself has a very cozy atmosphere. The lobby on the 5th floor is designed to create this great W-atmosphere.

The Sweat/workout has all equipment for a complete workout, and the BLT bar at the ground floor attracts not only hotel guests but locals from the nearby Battery Park as well. Great atmosphere: try the lobster ravioli!

To be short: I will be happy to stay here again any time soon.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koenbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#195 of 469 in New York City
1,853 reviews
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#176 of 469 in New York City
262 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#108 of 469 in New York City
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#323 of 469 in New York City
4,473 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#219 of 469 in New York City
4,682 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#69 of 469 in New York City
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Downtown

Address: 8 Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in New York City
#146 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#157 Family Hotel in New York City
#163 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#176 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $206 - $630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Downtown is where the Financial District power action is, rubbing shoulders with the Statue of Liberty, NYSE and Brookfield Place. Power wheel and deal at our sleek and chic Living Room Bar & Terrace with stunning unobstructed north-facing views of 1 World Trade Center. With 217 rooms and 58 floors, explore the signature W bed, innovative technology, fantastic in-room entertainment and more, as Whatever/Whenever(R) makes all big city dreams come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your W New York - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing