We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W New York - Downtown
Ranked #243 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

I stay several weeks per year in New York. Discovering this new W-hotel last week was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is located close to 3 subway lines (1, R, 4+5 are within three blocks from the hotel), and very close to the ferry lines.

The people at this W exceed expectations, both in efficiency and genuine friendliness. The staff in the hotel is among the best I have encountered in my recent stays in similar hotels. They are friendly in a very genuine way. They made me feel at home from the moment I arrived here.

When I stayed here last week, some construction work at ground zero was taking place, but none of it affected the rest during the night. In day time, one can hear the noise of the workers, but not interfering with normal life.

The room I stayed in is very spacious, has lots of light and is - in W style - very nicely decorated. The hotel itself has a very cozy atmosphere. The lobby on the 5th floor is designed to create this great W-atmosphere.

The Sweat/workout has all equipment for a complete workout, and the BLT bar at the ground floor attracts not only hotel guests but locals from the nearby Battery Park as well. Great atmosphere: try the lobster ravioli!

To be short: I will be happy to stay here again any time soon.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koenbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    406
    154
    73
    29
See reviews for
171
347
81
295
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

I stayed at the W New York Downtown this weekend with my husband. We wanted to get away for the night without the kids and had not been to this hotel in NYC yet. I had heard about it through some articles and was excited to have the opportunity to try it!
When I checked in I was completely wowed by the decor of the hotel. The lobby design was really unique, especially the arched ceiling made of light.
The front desk staff was very accomodating and they gave us a lot of information about the hotel services, including the restaurant BLT, which we tried for brunch and loved!
Our room was very nice and it was great to stay at a hotel that was so new.
We went out in lower manhattan for dinner and the doorman was very accomodating in helping us get a cab. There is still a lot of construction going on near ground zero, but it was very quiet in the room and during the weekend it was relatively quiet around the outside of the hotel.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel, especially if you want to be in downtown New York.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzacoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

If you want to see the amazing progress on the memorials and new buildings at Ground Zero, the new W in downtown Manhattan is the place. It's located right behind the Deutsche Bank building, which is nearly down, so the views into the heart of the construction will soon be amazing. The hotel is fun - good restaurant and bar and work out facility. We were able to arrange a free ride to the west Village for dinner from a joint promotion with the W and Acura. We normally stay in midtown when visiting, but the new W exposed us to new restaurants and sites we normally don't visit. A very enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoffman_chas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

Just spent the weekend in NY and stayed at the W Downtown. This hotel looks to the future - towards the completion of the World Trade Center and surrounding buildings and memorials. Once complete, I have no doubt the W downtown will be full to the brim with the hipster crowd downtown.

It's only fair to disclose that the hotel looks over the World Trade Center construction site. This is not something the hotel has any control over but be aware that notwithstanding the hotel's best efforts to insulate the rooms, there is an audible amount of construction noise. I didn't notice any noise at night, but I only stayed over the weekend.

OK - with that caveat, the rest of the review is entirely favorable. The coolest thing about check-in is the amazing lobby and light installation in the 5th floor lounge. It really transports you to another place and says you have arrived somewhere very special.
The rooms were a nice size for NY - king size bed and the usual fabulous Bliss products. No bathtub, but it's not expected in NY where every square inch of the room has a functional purpose. The interior is super cool with white leather headboards and banquettes by the window, and very innovate and chic cabinetry which serves multiple purposes including desk, safe, closet, TV wall, bar fridge among a dozen other things while retaining a very sleek feel.

The workout room is signature W and very well equipped, and the hotel bar and lobby areas are really cool. This hotel is recommended and will only improve with time and completion of the World Trade Center projects.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmppwwzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for my birthday weekend. The location is spectacular, with the downtown going through a renewal period. There is so much to see and do we never had to walk more than a few blocks for anything. The staff and management at the hotel were always available for any questions we had, Jason was especially kind, and we were very happy with everything at the hotel. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but that is what you get when staying in NYC. The beds were very comfortable and the gym is amazingly well equipped (I was very impressed with the gym and the fact that they don't charge extra to use it). The other extra touches like coffee in the morning, water and pressed cider in the afternoons were really nice as well.

I will absolutely be staying at this hotel again, and if they do put a park on the site of the old Deutche Bank Building the views of the WTC memorial and Freedom Tower are going to be unbeatable. We may have to bring our kids next time (or maybe not).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisajahrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

New York is said to be the City that never sleeps. Unfortunately at W-Downtown in our recent stay, sleeping was not an option. Construction noise was running at in excess of 80 decibels inside our guest room. On a number of nights construction noise ran until well after midnight, on the day we were checking out (which incidentally was a Saturday) construction noise began around 7.30am, which I guess was to be expected given that it had started at that time for the remainder of our stay.

Half way through our stay I complained about the noise, the staff were courteous and apologetic and offered us another room. A room which would have been far too small, and did not appear to offer additional benefits with the exception of being on the side of the building and not facing Ground Zero.

On the second last day of our stay, a voicemail came through at 10.04am (according to the message) to advise us that there would be no hot water in the hotel between 10am through to 4pm. I called Whatever Whenever (the Concierge Desk), to be advised that they did not know when hot water would be back on, and they would contact the company who had the gas off, hardly the pro-active response I would have expected from representatives of a Starwood hotel.

Apart from the above, the hotel is new, has very nice and spacious rooms, with the exception of the side room that we were offered as an alternative, and has all the amenities you would expect in a W. I expect that the W Downtown will age fairly quickly given the white interiors, and I noticed in the room we were staying in, dirty black marks which had not been cleaned off, and some of the linen was already showing wear, particularly the towels.

As you would appreciate I was extremely disappointed at the above inconveniences during our stay, particularly given that I had made it clear to the Starwood agent who had taken my booking that we would be on vacation, and we stayed in the hotel for 9 nights. My personal opinion is that Starwood either should not have opened this hotel, until the Dueche Bank building has been completely demolished (which the W’s staff told me would not be before at least the end of the year), or should be warning potential guests of the possible inconvenience, something they certainly did not do with me, although the manager on duty when I made further complaints on the day before we left told me he would ensure that happened in the future, something I will believe when I hear it with my own ears!

All in all a very disappointing experience, and Starwood’s response has been to “gift me” points which I can redeem for a night’s accommodation. It hardly makes up for 9 very sleep disturbed nights, where we paid good money to stay in what should be a lovely hotel. I have stayed in Starwood hotels in at least seven different countries, all of our prior experiences have been positive in their hotels.

I have never provided feedback such as this on a website previously. I provide this summary as a warning to potential guests of the W Downtown, so that they can make an informed decision before they commit to staying in this hotel.

I should also add that I have passed on this feedback to the General Manager of the hotel in question some two weeks ago, she promised a response within three days, despite two follow up’s and two weeks passing no response has been received. Undoubtedly, indicative of what you can expect at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul21234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

I can only recommended this hotel to everyone because they are extremely professional and carefully, if you will visit New York there is one place to be and that is W hotel downtown Sven Baele Belgium

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sven_baele1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#200 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#113 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#364 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#313 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,149 reviews
Financial District
World Center Hotel
World Center Hotel
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Downtown

Property: W New York - Downtown
Address: 8 Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in New York City
#149 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#161 Family Hotel in New York City
#163 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#180 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Downtown is where the Financial District power action is, rubbing shoulders with the Statue of Liberty, NYSE and Brookfield Place. Power wheel and deal at our sleek and chic Living Room Bar & Terrace with stunning unobstructed north-facing views of 1 World Trade Center. With 217 rooms and 58 floors, explore the signature W bed, innovative technology, fantastic in-room entertainment and more, as Whatever/Whenever(R) makes all big city dreams come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New York - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing