We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No reason to stay here unless you are stuck downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W New York - Downtown
Ranked #245 of 468 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“No reason to stay here unless you are stuck downtown”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Of course, the hotel can't be faulted for its location, but I struggle to find a reason as to why anyone would want to be down here unless you have a meeting in lower Manhattan early in the morning (as I did). The hotel is located directly across from the WTC memorial, and that adds to the unsettling sense. Generally speaking, W hotels are attractive for those seeking a hip, trendy, loungy, party kind of experience...but if you are seeking this, why are you downtown? It's a vacant no man's land. I have stayed at the W on Times Square, and that makes a bit more sense. As for the facilities themselves, the rooms are small, as expected, but chic, and the lounge area is upscale (but empty). The staff was OK...didn't seem to know that much about what was going on. This is not a convenient place to get find a taxi, so unless you are comfortable riding the subways, it will not be easy to the other attractions in Manhattan. So again, unless you need to be downtown, stay else where. If you do need to be down town, then this is worth considering but there are less expensive options than to pay for the "W experience."

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JNelsonRedSoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear JNelsonRedSoxFan,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you found our location to be less than desirable. There are quite a few hidden gems in Lower Manhattan and it is our responsibility to shine a light on these experiences for our guests. From your feedback, it sounds as if we missed this opportunity.

I do hope you will consider staying with us again and give us a chance to show you all that Lower Manhattan has to offer!

If you would like to speak with me further about your experiences, please do not hesitate to call me at 646.826.8600.

Warm regards,
Patrick H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    414
    159
    75
    29
See reviews for
173
351
81
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed at the W New York Downtown for 3 days when I was in NYC on business late October. The room was spectacular, with a view overlooking the 911 memorial, which is across the street. It had complementary coffee or tea in the morning, and the huge King bed was super comfortable. The lobby was hip, and the outdoor terrace was fun for drinks before dinner. I'd stay there again, as long as my business appointments are in the area, otherwise it's a bit of a hike to midtown or even Soho.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acdcusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Acdcusa,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at W New York - Downtown. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay.

We do hope that you will consider us again in the future - we would love to share with you some of the wonderful things to do in our growing neighborhood!

If you would like to discuss your visit further, or have any further feedback please contact me directly at 646.826.8600

Warm regards,
Patrick H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

W hotels are a known quantity but often can be a little too trendy and not functional with rooms so dark I have often used the emergency torch for some extra light. The location is great if you need to be this far downtown, on arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful, the double lift format where you get one lift to reception and another to the rooms is a little tiresome when popping out but it does mean you get a second quieter bar with a nice if small balcony. The more classic W Hotel bar is on the ground floor away from reception. Rooms were very functional, WIFI was good, zircon wasn't as loud as it sometimes can be but still needed to be turned off. In short one of the better hotels I have stayed in New York but check out the location works for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSMLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear JSMLondonUK,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your adventure at W New York – Downtown.
We are happy to see that you enjoyed your overall experience with our Talent and our amenities.

We hope that you will continue to stay with us whenever you find yourself in NYC.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 646.826.8600 if you would like to discuss your stay further.

Warm regards,

Patrick H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Amazing Lobby, very Stylish , had a gorgeous view onto 9/11.
Bathrooms are Star Trek style.
The Staff is extremely arrogant, not matching the High Level of Spg as it is used to be.
Not again for me :(

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HotelJoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Therealalexmorph,

Thank you for your review of your experience at W New York – Downtown. It was lovely to see that you enjoyed our design elements and the wonderful views.

However, I am greatly disappointed to learn that you felt our team was less than welcoming and that your SPG status was not recognized.

I assure you that this is not indicative of the service culture that we champion at W New York – Downtown and would love to discuss your experience further.

Please contact me directly at 646.826.8600.

Warm regards,

Patrick H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
137 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Let's start at the beginning.

The bell / valet servicemen who greeted us were exceptionally friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

The reception team were welcoming and efficient. The lobby design is a bit spacey and, since we arrived late at night, was lit more like a club than a hotel, complete with dj and loud thumping music. The kids (teens) were very impressed.

The rooms, with a view of ground zero, were small but sufficient. I wasn't a huge fan of the spacey design concept, but again, the teens loved it. I did, however, like the window seat. More hotels should have them.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ExpatTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear ExpatTraveler2,

Thank you for your review of your experience at W New York – Downtown.
We are pleased to hear that you had nice interactions with our Talent and hope that we were able to exceed your service expectations during your stay.

We are sorry that our design narrative did not meet your tastes, but do hope that we were able to make up for it in other areas!

When you are planning your next adventure in New York, we hope you will think of us.

If you would like to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 646.826.8600.

Warm regards,

Patrick H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for a belated anniversary trip, and from start to finish, the service was terrific. We arrived first thing in the morning, and they had our room ready for us. They also upgraded us and left a bottle of sparkling wine in our room to celebrate our anniversary. Such a thoughtful touch!
The room wasn't massive, and not a lot of counter space in the bathroom, but there were some clever uses of space in the room and it had a great view of the new Freedom Tower and 9/11 memorial.
Lots of great places to lounge in the lobby to check email (free wifi), and the gym was well-equipped, although had to take two elevators to get to it from our room.
While it is in the financial district, it's easily accessible to the subway, and a nice walk up to Soho or over to Seaport/Brooklyn bridge.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Michellybean,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at W New York – Downtown.

It is wonderful to hear that our Talent was able to spoil you a little bit on your Anniversary trip. We strive to be the best place to stay, live work and play in Lower Manhattan and we hope that we were able to meet that mark for you.

We do love a celebration at W New York – Downtown and hope you will make this an Anniversary tradition!

Please feel free to contact me anytime at 646.826.8600 if you would like to speak further about your experience.

Warm regards,

Patrick H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
244 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Always overly trendy this brand, but here desk, doorman and concierge service warm and friendly. Bar understaffed. Except for the view, I wouldn't drink here. Get the Freedom Tower room view; wonderful to wake up in the morning to this symbol. If it is vacation, still a good location; getting around is what the subway is for. If W was not so full of itself and clean lines, it would put a shelf under the bathroom basin for ones toiletries for guest convenience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelbeeSantaFe_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear TravelbeeSantaFe_NM,

Thank you for your detailed feedback about your experiences at W New York – Downtown. It is wonderful to hear that your interactions with our Talent were warm and friendly … we certainly strive to provide that feeling for our guests.

We also appreciate your comments about the Living Room Bar & Terrace. I have addressed your feedback about being understaffed with our team and hope that on your next stay you will give us a chance to improve your impressions of this amenity.

Finally, we will certainly take your notes about better storage in our WC’s and look for ways to improve on this detail

If you would like to speak further about your stay, please call me directly at 646.826.8600.

Warm regards,
Patrick H.
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#203 of 468 in New York City
1,780 reviews
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#357 of 468 in New York City
93 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#120 of 468 in New York City
2,891 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#318 of 468 in New York City
4,252 reviews
Financial District
World Center Hotel
World Center Hotel
#103 of 468 in New York City
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Downtown

Property: W New York - Downtown
Address: 8 Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#149 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#161 Family Hotel in New York City
#164 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#180 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Downtown is where the Financial District power action is, rubbing shoulders with the Statue of Liberty, NYSE and Brookfield Place. Power wheel and deal at our sleek and chic Living Room Bar & Terrace with stunning unobstructed north-facing views of 1 World Trade Center. With 217 rooms and 58 floors, explore the signature W bed, innovative technology, fantastic in-room entertainment and more, as Whatever/Whenever(R) makes all big city dreams come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New York - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing