We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location to See Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W New York - Downtown
Ranked #237 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The W Downtown was great experience. We were in NYC for a concert at Madison Square Garden and decided to stay downtown for easy access to all parts of the city. The W is a new building with full amenities and a lobby/living room which is very club like at night. We enjoyed the view of the World Trade Memorial from the cool outdoor terrace.

There are 3 subway lines within a couple of blocks that take you anywhere in the city, one goes to the east side the others to the west side(including a stop directly under Madison Square Garden) and the airport. The service was excellent and you are walking distance from Tribeca , Wall Street, Battery Park and the Hudson river walk. A great bonus is that there are no midtown crowds to deal with.

A new purpose built property with new bathrooms and fixtures in an old historic part of New York with great public transportation can't be beat and will make your trip.

Room Tip: Get a North facing room on one of the upper floors for the best view of the city
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario0355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Hello

I appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review; almost all of our guests look for insider information like this! Thank you for sharing your positive experience here at W New York – Downtown. Have a wonderful Holiday Season and we hope you’ll come back and visit us again soon! If I can be of any further assistance, please contact me at GMWolfgang.Wehen@whotels.com.

Best Personal Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,170)
There are newer reviews for W New York - Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

Had a fantastic time over the weekend before thanksgiving at the W Downtown. Everything was great! Staff attentive, Acura service good (although felt it was quite a hard sell of the car rather than focusing on being a complimentary shuttle) the beside lamp in the room was not plugged in properly and you could see quite a bit of wiring around the desk area, but I am sure this could be easily sorted. Upgraded to double spectacular with a view of the memorial which enabled me to treat my sister to the W experience... Bar was great, coffee and tea in the mornings is a great idea! Loved the hotel fragrance, reminded me of the W Hong Kong! Would definitely star again. Thank you to Chelsea who made our stay all the more special.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammccrimmon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Hello

I appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review about your recent stay here with us! Thank you for sharing your positive experience here at W New York – Downtown, I trust everyone had an enjoyable time despite the lamp not plugged in properly and the visibility of the wiring around the desk. I am sorry that this disturbed your overall experience; however I am glad that you have kindly brought this to our attention. I do hope you have a wonderful Holiday Season and we hope you’ll come back and visit us again soon! If I can be of any further assistance, please contact me at GMWolfgang.Wehen@whotels.com.

Best Personal Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just returned from a very welcoming stay at the W Downtown. The views from the rooms are superb. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The breakfasts were good quality with a good range on offer. Overall, a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Open views over 9/11 memorial at the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Hello

I appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review about your most recent stay here with us at W New York – Downtown. I am so happy to hear you had a welcoming experience and enjoyed the view from your room. Have a wonderful Holiday Season and we hope you’ll come back and visit us again soon! If I can be of any further assistance, please contact me at GMWolfgang.Wehen@whotels.com.

Best Personal Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

From our room we could look down at the two reflecting pool of the World Trade Center Memorial ... We could see it at all different times of day plus got to watch the building activity! The food was great as well as a wonderful bar with amazing views from it too. Due to construction not the easiest to get to BUT accommodation and view make up for it. Easy walking to shopping and restaurants. I will be going there again.

Room Tip: The higher the room the more you will see
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargieBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Is a nice hotel, modern and clean. We stayed two nights. The lobby is awesome!!! Rooms are nice for a couple or a single person. There is coffee and tea complementary during the mornings. The beds are very confortable. The closer train station is not working because of Sandy. Is just in front of the Memorial. The staff is great!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoeyeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The W Downtown is a great hotel that has very small (but normal for NYC) rooms, with beautiful bathrooms, and great views. As some other reviews have stated, it's very trendy, with the lobby being on the 5th floor with a really neat ceiling. You do have to go from the street to the 5th floor, and then around the corner to room floor elevators, and at night you do have to walk through essentially a night club/lounge. These things really didn't bother me though, it's just worth noting. The staff was really friendly and helpful. My only 2 complaints were that 1. the wireless internet was only free in the lobby, not the rooms (this seems to be normal practice though), and 2. the hotel is a little far downtown. There are a few subway stops very close though, and they were easy to navigate. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank easilyconfused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Every room (except the suites) either adjoins the elevator shaft or is directly across from the elevator doors. Don't get an "11" room. It has 2 common walls with the elevator and 1 common wall with the ice machine. They turn off the elevator "ding" at night, but it is quite disturbing during the day. Both people at the concierge desk were helpful and pleasant. Stunning view of the World Trade Center site from the fifth floor bar. The front desk in on 5 and the ceiling is an undulating art piece. You need a flashlight to find the button for the elevator to the rooms. Low light, black granite floors and walls. I don't need a dj in the lobby or a $20 glass of California cabernet.

Room Tip: Don't get an "11" room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay_In_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your most recent experience with us. You’ve made some very valid points which we certainly appreciate. I would be happy to discuss this further with you so please reach out to me directly at GMWolfgang.Wehen@whotels.com.


Best Personal Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#195 of 468 in New York City
1,842 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#103 of 468 in New York City
1,501 reviews
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#209 of 468 in New York City
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#318 of 468 in New York City
4,410 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#216 of 468 in New York City
4,641 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#63 of 468 in New York City
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Downtown

Address: 8 Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in New York City
#146 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#157 Family Hotel in New York City
#161 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#176 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $222 - $685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Downtown is where the Financial District power action is, rubbing shoulders with the Statue of Liberty, NYSE and Brookfield Place. Power wheel and deal at our sleek and chic Living Room Bar & Terrace with stunning unobstructed north-facing views of 1 World Trade Center. With 217 rooms and 58 floors, explore the signature W bed, innovative technology, fantastic in-room entertainment and more, as Whatever/Whenever(R) makes all big city dreams come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New York - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing