We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Be Uber Cool For This Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W New York - Downtown
Ranked #254 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Every room (except the suites) either adjoins the elevator shaft or is directly across from the elevator doors. Don't get an "11" room. It has 2 common walls with the elevator and 1 common wall with the ice machine. They turn off the elevator "ding" at night, but it is quite disturbing during the day. Both people at the concierge desk were helpful and pleasant. Stunning view of the World Trade Center site from the fifth floor bar. The front desk in on 5 and the ceiling is an undulating art piece. You need a flashlight to find the button for the elevator to the rooms. Low light, black granite floors and walls. I don't need a dj in the lobby or a $20 glass of California cabernet.

Room Tip: Don't get an "11" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay_In_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your most recent experience with us. You’ve made some very valid points which we certainly appreciate. I would be happy to discuss this further with you so please reach out to me directly at GMWolfgang.Wehen@whotels.com.


Best Personal Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

765 - 771 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and were upgraded to a room with a breathtaking view of the World Trade Center site. Got a good deal on our stay, and considering the prices of poor-to-average hotels in NYC, we considered the W a great value and well worth the cost. The staff, in particular, were absolutely fantastic. People might expect snobby service in a hotel that looks as great as this one, but they'd be wrong. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillygirl3140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This Hotel is in a great location and the staff are pleasant and unobtrusive, which is welcome as American service, good as it is, can be overbearing.

Low lighting hides tired walls and fixttures and ho hum 10 years on trendiness thats boring and pedestrian. Ok mid priced for Manhattan, no wow factor but serviceable and all that low lighting hides late NY nights better than cover girl.

Room Tip: Rooms on the outside are loud no matter how high, NY is loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Got a fantastic deal for a 5 night stay at the W Downtown this October. The hotel is very modern, the bar wasn't our cup of tea, but the rooms and service were all brilliant throughout our stay and we don't have a bad word to say about the place.

Room Tip: If you can, get a corner room on a higher floor for great views of Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patpromise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. Got a decent deal through Expedia, probably because it was a weekend. The rooms are pretty spacious for New York - nicely decorated, clean, comfy beds etc. Nothing remarkable about them, except for the view over Ground Zero, which is excellent. We did get a bit disturbed from the construction there, but nothing too bad. Not too keen on the bar area, which is like being in a nightclub, especially on a Fri/Sat night! You can barely even see the lift, as the lights are so low and the wave effect on the ceiling looks cool, but makes it difficult to see where you're going. Staff were pretty good and helpful. Overall very good, although I probably wouldn't stay this far downtown next time, as it's a bit far away from most of the bars, sightseeing, restaurants etc.

Room Tip: Rooms that don't overlook Ground Zero would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itrapnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I am writing this in appreciation of one of the staff at the W Hotel Downtown New York. While on a walking tour of lower Manhatten I was separated from the group and my husband. After a considerable time I became very distressed. I approached the doorman, Victor, to catch a cab. He was very friendly, calmed me down, took me inside for a refreshment, rang my hotel and got hold of my husband. He is a good ambassador for this hotel and his kindness to me is something I will never forget.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Be sure to request a room overlooking the World Trade Center Memorial - the view is incredible and showcases New York and the USA's response to 9/11. The hotel immaculate and the lounge on the 5th floor offers the best views is the Memorial. If possible - book the package that includes cocktails and an appetizer. The value of the package is easily $70+ for a couple of glasses of wine and a first class and generously sized appetizer. Also, go to the Highline (nearby) and Eataly (Batsli's fresh market and restaurant emporium). Hopefully the hotel weathered Sandy - Godspeed NYC and the Northeast! We look forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the WTC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdm3x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
W New York - Union Square
#161 of 470 in New York City
1,516 reviews
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#194 of 470 in New York City
1,878 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#324 of 470 in New York City
4,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#215 of 470 in New York City
4,745 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#267 of 470 in New York City
4,366 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#128 of 470 in New York City
3,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Downtown

Address: 8 Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in New York City
#146 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#173 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#176 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $170 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Downtown is where the Financial District power action is, rubbing shoulders with the Statue of Liberty, NYSE and Brookfield Place. Power wheel and deal at our sleek and chic Living Room Bar & Terrace with stunning unobstructed north-facing views of 1 World Trade Center. With 217 rooms and 58 floors, explore the signature W bed, innovative technology, fantastic in-room entertainment and more, as Whatever/Whenever(R) makes all big city dreams come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New York - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing