We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W New York - Downtown
Ranked #239 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, modern hotel”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Got a fantastic deal for a 5 night stay at the W Downtown this October. The hotel is very modern, the bar wasn't our cup of tea, but the rooms and service were all brilliant throughout our stay and we don't have a bad word to say about the place.

Room Tip: If you can, get a corner room on a higher floor for great views of Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patpromise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    427
    160
    75
    31
See reviews for
178
361
81
312
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. Got a decent deal through Expedia, probably because it was a weekend. The rooms are pretty spacious for New York - nicely decorated, clean, comfy beds etc. Nothing remarkable about them, except for the view over Ground Zero, which is excellent. We did get a bit disturbed from the construction there, but nothing too bad. Not too keen on the bar area, which is like being in a nightclub, especially on a Fri/Sat night! You can barely even see the lift, as the lights are so low and the wave effect on the ceiling looks cool, but makes it difficult to see where you're going. Staff were pretty good and helpful. Overall very good, although I probably wouldn't stay this far downtown next time, as it's a bit far away from most of the bars, sightseeing, restaurants etc.

Room Tip: Rooms that don't overlook Ground Zero would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itrapnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I am writing this in appreciation of one of the staff at the W Hotel Downtown New York. While on a walking tour of lower Manhatten I was separated from the group and my husband. After a considerable time I became very distressed. I approached the doorman, Victor, to catch a cab. He was very friendly, calmed me down, took me inside for a refreshment, rang my hotel and got hold of my husband. He is a good ambassador for this hotel and his kindness to me is something I will never forget.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Be sure to request a room overlooking the World Trade Center Memorial - the view is incredible and showcases New York and the USA's response to 9/11. The hotel immaculate and the lounge on the 5th floor offers the best views is the Memorial. If possible - book the package that includes cocktails and an appetizer. The value of the package is easily $70+ for a couple of glasses of wine and a first class and generously sized appetizer. Also, go to the Highline (nearby) and Eataly (Batsli's fresh market and restaurant emporium). Hopefully the hotel weathered Sandy - Godspeed NYC and the Northeast! We look forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the WTC
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdm3x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I fully appreciate the extreme weather that NY has faced this week and it was not entirely surprising that the W NY Downtown should be closed.
However what has shocked me has been the complete disregard the hotel has had for its guests:
Over the past 48 hours i have received numerous conflicting emails from the W and Starwood Preferred Guest services stating that the hotel was both open and closed. Finally this evening I have found out that the hotel is indeed closed and will remain so for the rest of the week and that i should make alternative arrangements at my own expense.

The hotel has said that it would refund the cost of my booking, but that it would not arrange replacement accommodation. Clearly, since the storm hotel costs have sky rocketed but the hotel and the Starwood group feels that it has no duty of care to its guests in this regard.

I have found alternative accommodation which will cost me an additional ca. $500 which the Starwood group has managed to extract from the sorry situation that New York finds itself.

Poor show to profit from such circumstances i feel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJRUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alyskie, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
We sincerely apologize for your experience. Due to the effects of Hurricane Sandy, and the location of our hotel within the evacuation zone, we have been unable to accept guests. Our team has been working hard around the clock to ameliorate the situation to the best of our ability. Without power and phone service, communication has been difficult. We contacted and relocated as many guests as feasible to other hotels in Manhattan that did not lose power. We continue to work diligently to have our hotel up and running again as soon as possible. We are very sorry for the miscommunication and frustration you have experienced. Please reach out to me directly at GMWolfWehen@whotels.com to further resolve your situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We asked for a double as a friend was joining us later in the stay. Super VIEW, SUPER people, Very young vibe, first time I felt "old" as a traveler, when the DJ music was blasting at check in! :)
Nice rooms, bigger than the W Lexington. As always the BLISS products were awesome. The W at 57 has a spa! None here. But the view on the fifth floor overlooking the Freedom tower is Awesome!Q A++++++++++ And the bar staff are super too! On the fifth floor!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, VA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The service was great, really like the location, beds were comfortable and the bathroom was fine. I was 'upgraded' to a room with double beds when I requested a king, but that's not a huge deal to me. Great views of the WTC site and I didn't hear construction noise....though I could hear the room next to me.

The place was just a bit too trendy for me. After a long day of traveling and meeting with colleagues, I don't want to walk into the lobby of the hotel at 9pm and be assaulted by a DJ playing loud music and have to, essentially, walk through a club /bar to get to the elevators. I realize I'm probably not in the target demographic for this hotel, but I just found it far too much like a nightclub and less like a hotel where I was paying 500/night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJVA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#204 of 466 in New York City
1,822 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#106 of 466 in New York City
1,491 reviews
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#242 of 466 in New York City
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#321 of 466 in New York City
4,359 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#217 of 466 in New York City
4,605 reviews
Financial District
World Center Hotel
World Center Hotel
#91 of 466 in New York City
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Downtown

Property: W New York - Downtown
Address: 8 Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in New York City
#146 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#157 Family Hotel in New York City
#164 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#176 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Downtown is where the Financial District power action is, rubbing shoulders with the Statue of Liberty, NYSE and Brookfield Place. Power wheel and deal at our sleek and chic Living Room Bar & Terrace with stunning unobstructed north-facing views of 1 World Trade Center. With 217 rooms and 58 floors, explore the signature W bed, innovative technology, fantastic in-room entertainment and more, as Whatever/Whenever(R) makes all big city dreams come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New York - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing