We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left stranded by the W Group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W New York - Downtown
Ranked #245 of 468 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Left stranded by the W Group”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I fully appreciate the extreme weather that NY has faced this week and it was not entirely surprising that the W NY Downtown should be closed.
However what has shocked me has been the complete disregard the hotel has had for its guests:
Over the past 48 hours i have received numerous conflicting emails from the W and Starwood Preferred Guest services stating that the hotel was both open and closed. Finally this evening I have found out that the hotel is indeed closed and will remain so for the rest of the week and that i should make alternative arrangements at my own expense.

The hotel has said that it would refund the cost of my booking, but that it would not arrange replacement accommodation. Clearly, since the storm hotel costs have sky rocketed but the hotel and the Starwood group feels that it has no duty of care to its guests in this regard.

I have found alternative accommodation which will cost me an additional ca. $500 which the Starwood group has managed to extract from the sorry situation that New York finds itself.

Poor show to profit from such circumstances i feel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJRUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alyskie, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
We sincerely apologize for your experience. Due to the effects of Hurricane Sandy, and the location of our hotel within the evacuation zone, we have been unable to accept guests. Our team has been working hard around the clock to ameliorate the situation to the best of our ability. Without power and phone service, communication has been difficult. We contacted and relocated as many guests as feasible to other hotels in Manhattan that did not lose power. We continue to work diligently to have our hotel up and running again as soon as possible. We are very sorry for the miscommunication and frustration you have experienced. Please reach out to me directly at GMWolfWehen@whotels.com to further resolve your situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    414
    159
    75
    29
See reviews for
173
351
81
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We asked for a double as a friend was joining us later in the stay. Super VIEW, SUPER people, Very young vibe, first time I felt "old" as a traveler, when the DJ music was blasting at check in! :)
Nice rooms, bigger than the W Lexington. As always the BLISS products were awesome. The W at 57 has a spa! None here. But the view on the fifth floor overlooking the Freedom tower is Awesome!Q A++++++++++ And the bar staff are super too! On the fifth floor!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The service was great, really like the location, beds were comfortable and the bathroom was fine. I was 'upgraded' to a room with double beds when I requested a king, but that's not a huge deal to me. Great views of the WTC site and I didn't hear construction noise....though I could hear the room next to me.

The place was just a bit too trendy for me. After a long day of traveling and meeting with colleagues, I don't want to walk into the lobby of the hotel at 9pm and be assaulted by a DJ playing loud music and have to, essentially, walk through a club /bar to get to the elevators. I realize I'm probably not in the target demographic for this hotel, but I just found it far too much like a nightclub and less like a hotel where I was paying 500/night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJVA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great location in lower Manhattan directly across from WTC site and convenient to Century 21 and World Financial Center. Rooms are W-small and W-dark, which are par for the course for NYC and W-style. For business travelers, the walks to farther flung financial headquarters can he harder to get to, but walks along Battery Park are quite easy. For families: there's barely room for a crib in standard king size rooms -- ask for handicap accessible rooms for more space flexibility. Thoughtful touches: the free hotel shuttles, coffee station in the lobby in the mornings, walk around deck off the check-in lobby level.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

A nice addition to Lower Manhattan. The hotel is relatively new and in good shape. Great views of the WTC, obviously. Convenient to C21. The lobby area was pretty packed and noisy at night, but my room was quiet and comfortable. Standard W hotel, lots of tourists. Bathroom wasn't as clean as it could have been... a few hairs here and there. Wasn't as easy to get a cab as I would have thought, though maybe that was just my luck.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank stevendilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston,ma
Level Contributor
125 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Booked a last minute girls weekend trip and we were pleasantly surprised at how roomy our double room was. From the 15th floor we were able to appreciate the view of the WTC memorial (the effect of the waterfalls was very touching). The room was very clean and comfortable, with nice amenities. The staff were polite, bartender very attentive when we checked out the lounge (live DJ's on the weekends). The outdoor terrace and lounge area has plenty of comfortable inviting seating, great for spending time relaxing with friends. Though some may consider the location out of the way, subway stops are close by (rector st stop one block around corner), tribeca only one stop away and when we went to our broadway show it was a quick 20 minute ride up to the 50th st stop.Nice hotel out of the overcrowded, touristy bustle of midtown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linglingma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a great time here. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. Everything you would expect from a W Hotel.

They also have a great service with a car where you can book a journey every day (first come first served) for free to basically anywhere in Manhattan. Make that the first thing you do every day!

It was conveniently located near several subway stops and a great location to stay in New York as a tourist. We thoroughly recommend George's Cafe round the corner for breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#203 of 468 in New York City
1,780 reviews
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#357 of 468 in New York City
93 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#120 of 468 in New York City
2,891 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#318 of 468 in New York City
4,252 reviews
Financial District
World Center Hotel
World Center Hotel
#103 of 468 in New York City
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Downtown

Property: W New York - Downtown
Address: 8 Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#149 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#161 Family Hotel in New York City
#164 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#180 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Downtown is where the Financial District power action is, rubbing shoulders with the Statue of Liberty, NYSE and Brookfield Place. Power wheel and deal at our sleek and chic Living Room Bar & Terrace with stunning unobstructed north-facing views of 1 World Trade Center. With 217 rooms and 58 floors, explore the signature W bed, innovative technology, fantastic in-room entertainment and more, as Whatever/Whenever(R) makes all big city dreams come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelPower, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New York - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing