We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time staying here, across from the WTC Memorial!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of W New York - Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
W New York - Downtown
Ranked #239 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Second time staying here, across from the WTC Memorial!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I chose the W Downtown because it's trendy, upbeat, and in a great location just across the street from the World Trade Center Memorial. (If you want to go there, you'll have to get a pass in advance.) The W has an outdoor terrace on the 5th floor with a view of the Memorial. The rooms are modern and well equipped; the beds are totally comfy, and the bathroom toiletries are Bliss Spa products. Look across the corner to find O'Hara's Tavern which serves a great hamburger or the tastiest pub grub like fish 'n chips or shepherd's pie!

Room Tip: Starwood Members may qualify for an upgrade; we've been upgraded to a corner room and from a ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    400
    151
    72
    29
See reviews for
169
344
80
288
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We enjoyed 5 days in NYC to see friends, tour the city, and enjoy food.... The W was a bit of a surprise after our last year living in SPG hotels in Asia. The staff was nice, helpful, the room was nice but small, location was hard to get to and from, and the hotel lacked the servies we have grown accustom to enjoying in Asia. Its not bad just not great.... W is a party place not a work or service oriented hotel.... We enjoy the BLD in Hong Kong a great deal but found the BLD within the hotel very expensive and not worth the effort and found going outside better food worth the pricing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hello,

I wish we had had the opportunity to discuss this while you were here as I am concerned about your experience. Please email me directly at GMWolfgang.Wehen@whotels.com so that you can tell me more.


Best Personal Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

First, a general comment about Starwood: (not really reflective of this hotel)
I have gold status and like the spg program, however, its pretty confusing to navigate. Any time I call the hotel, call starwood, or do an online chat with starwood, I am given different information, usually conflicting, with varying degrees of friendliness. I think the people that work in these different areas are confused, and it is obvious. Part of the problem is that when you try and book a room through the W website, starwood website, or starwood ap (calling the hotel directly seems to get a less desired rate) there are different packages available. So my overall advice with Starwood is shop around their different various websites and don't take one person's word for it when they tell you something. I was told by multiple people my room was prepaid and could not be changed, even though my confirmation said otherwise. In the end, I had no problem making those changes, but i wish i didn't have to go through the hassle.

Some of this is relevant to my stay at the W, because the front desk person did not understand the package that was booked, and then when I got my invoice, I had to call and go back to the front desk to get the charges taken off. This is really a minor inconvenience but it goes back to my earlier point of general ignorance so I am sure it happens on a systematic basis. That said, they fixed my bill, but why deal with this at a luxury hotel brand? A wise man once said " details, gentlemen" they really do matter.

Ok, on to the hotel, I felt that I got good value, package included a couple drinks and an Amex gift card. The room was REALLY small....I am local, so I get the whole NY real estate thing, but cool corner is advertised as >300 sq ft. My first NYC apartment was 600 square feet, so I'm calling BS on that...other than that, the bed was super comfortable, the shower was great, nice bathrobes, and it was a nice room. Living room bartender Trevor was friendly as all staff we encountered were. The location is a little weird, I mean, its FiDi, so there is easy access to Tribeca/SoHo and battery park. I noticed alot of out of towners love it there because of the whole world trade center thing which seems really bizarre. I didn't want to stay in midtown, and because of the close proximity to downtown neighborhoods, and the room rate, can't really complain about the location.

I was there for one night with my wife as a night away from our daughter for my birthday, so the size of the room was pretty inconsequential. I am not sure how expensive the room would have to get in order to be large enough to accommodate families, although I always find it strange when families stay at W's--they are not really geared towards families (i know every W hotel manager would probably dispute that though)

It has an ok gym too, workable to get a little done while you are there, but it is more of an afterthought.

Overall, be aware of the location and if its what you want. The rooms are great, but very small.
Friendly and professional staff. Very reasonable prices for NYC (even considering the room size) If you have business in FiDi, its probably a good place to stay, although might be worth checking out the prices at the Ritz too. I would stay again with my wife, but if I were to come back with kids, I think i would want to stay more uptown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adambr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hello,

I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our ideal location however in reading your comments I see you did experience some challenges with your SPG booking and the communication on arrival with the package you booked. I'm terribly sorry to hear this and please allow me to apologize on behalf of the entire team! Please contact me directly at GMWolfgang.Wehen@whotels.com so that I can start on restoring your faith in our hotel, Starwood, and SPG.


Best Personal Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Perfect spot in NYC with a classy bar literally overlooking Ground Zero and the new towers. Service is like that which you can usually only find in Asian hotels where the staff actually cares about the guests. Walk to everything the tip of Manhattan has to offer. Or just seconds to a Subway entrance

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beautifulbutterflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night, quiet room, much quieter than mud-town hotels for sleeping. It is annoying W's have pay in-room wifi. But I applaud the recycling program. I hope to return soon. Great shower. Large room and bath for NYC. Seating in Living Room lounge was not comfortable, but LED lights in room were great. I liked the energy saving elements in the room that turned off power when you left the room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Professorgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The staff at this hotel is not to be trusted so remember to use the safe provided in the room for your valuables.

Let me first start with the positives since the list is pretty small. Proximity to downtown if thats where your work is and to the WTC memorial. You can actually see the memorial from some of the rooms. Close to discount shopping at century 21. Ok thats where the positives stop.

Negatives - lets start with staff honesty. Bunch of thieves. I had my iPad stolen from my room and let alone an apology from the hotel they wouldn't even acknowledge the theft. Head of security Bill Masterson had no concern about the theft (I hope they fire him) and refused to return my calls. Only after numerous attempts did I get an update. So please folks use the in room safe for your valuables at this hotel, I didn't and I paid the price for it. Another big negative Construction noise. The location is in the middle of a construction zone and its going to be that way until 2015 so avoid this hotel for the next 3 years if you can. Its so out of the way that their bar/lounge is never packed you will get a smattering of after work crowd but it peters out after 8pm.

So all in all this hotel is to be avoided not a W by any measure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hello

Thank you for your feedback and again we truly apologize for the challenges experienced. I trust you understand how seriously we take comments from our guests. Their safety, as well as that of their belongings, is of the utmost importance to us. Following our conversation last week, we believe this situation has been resolved to your satisfaction. If you have any questions, or need further assistance, please reach out to me directly at GMWolfgang.Wehen@whotels.com.


Best Personal Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My stay at the W hotel downtown New York...was great...beautiful hotel...excellent location...busy yet not like time square....our room over looked the World Trade Center exhibit..very modern and clean rooms...alittle small..but we made due! Great staff...my only compliant is that we receive horrible service from the staff in the lounge..bartenters was horrible and made our second round of drinks in the same glasses and reuse the same garnish(there were three of us...so who knows which glass belong to who)......we complained to the manager...however didn't let it ruin any part of our trip.....overall an awesome hotel....and I would return...when visiting New York.....be ready to shell out BIG bucks to stay here though....

Room Tip: Pay the extra money to get the lounge package "complimentary drinks and appetizers each night&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolfgangWehen, General Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. I would be happy to discuss your recent service chellenges in our Lounge further with you so please reach out to me directly at GMWolfgang.Wehen@whotels.com.


Best Personal Regards,
Wolfgang Wehen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#202 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#312 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,810 reviews
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#363 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Financial District
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Downtown

Property: W New York - Downtown
Address: 8 Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in New York City
#150 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#158 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#162 Family Hotel in New York City
#181 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Downtown is where the Financial District power action is, rubbing shoulders with the Statue of Liberty, NYSE and Brookfield Place. Power wheel and deal at our sleek and chic Living Room Bar & Terrace with stunning unobstructed north-facing views of 1 World Trade Center. With 217 rooms and 58 floors, explore the signature W bed, innovative technology, fantastic in-room entertainment and more, as Whatever/Whenever(R) makes all big city dreams come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your W New York - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing