We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, highly recommend it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Ranked #40 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
2 reviews
“Excellent hotel, highly recommend it!”
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We stayed at the new Eventi Hotel the second week of October and it was great. It was in a very good location in Manhattan. The room was a good size for NY, very stylish and the beds super comfortable. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. There was also a beautiful terrace on the 5th floor with great views of the city including the Empire State building. I highly recommend the Kimpton chain of hotels since they offer the complimentary wine hour every night!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,243
    886
    175
    45
    26
See reviews for
584
1,352
200
665
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (984)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
jacko_jackson
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

The room and service was great. We got a great deal for labor day weekend, worth exploring. Very comfortable room, really cool bathrooms and nice art throughout the hotel. Basically makes you feel like you are in your own apartment. Great location for touristy stuff - central park, timessquare, etc. Although there are many great hotels in NYC, it will be hard to stay anywhere else the next time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacko_jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We just finished 3 nights at the Eventi and could not have been happier. I try to stay with Kimpton Hotels and am a InTouch member. As mentioned in previous reviews, this is a new property and we didn't experience any glitches. The staff were helpful and friendly. Although the parking in the building isn't cheap, I liked the fact that we could park underground and access the hotel via elevator. The new ultra modern food court is excellent with plenty of choices from four different places. Check out the theater seating dining room in the back! The same restaurant group (China Grill), runs the new Basque inspired restaurant on the second level. Check out the computerized, self serve wine dispensers! Breakfast was nice but not cheap. It overlooks a landscaped courtyard with a big jumbotron screen showing cartoons, sports games and short films. The room was again modern, good sized, and had a very nice marble bathroom. We were on the 6th Ave. side and didn't notice that much noise. The bed was super comfortable. The location is within walking distance to many nice Chelsea restaurants. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, November 5, 2010
Dear RFBoston,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent visit to Eventi! It's always humbling for us to hear when a loyal Kimpton guest, like yourself, enjoys their stay, especially at our newer properties. Being able to provide various dining options for our guests was definitely something we were looking forward to so I'm glad you enjoyed FoodParc and Bar Basque. We can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Really enjoyed Eventi Hotel, super comfortable and well appointed rooms. The entire staff was outstanding in every way offering incredible service, in particular concierge Caroline who assisted with show/tour/restaurant/nightlife recommendations as well as seeing that our experience at the Eventi was a perfect one. I would highly recommend the hotel with it's trendy decor, convenient location and superb staff. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatB317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, November 5, 2010
Dear KatB317,

I'm delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Eventi! I'm glad that Caroline was able to assist you with all of your requests during your visit, as well as the other staff members. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the General Manager. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma city
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Pros- Dark, quiet, relaxing. Wine hour, morning coffee a nice bonus. The doorman actually stood in the middle of the street for several minutes hailing us a cab! Great sheets, toiletries, furniture, AMAZING bathroom. Missed the wine hour once (we thought it was at 6), and they send a bottle of wine to our room. :)

Cons- only 1 turndown service out of the 5 nights we stayed. Filled out the Kimpton In-Touch mentioning our pillow preference, my birthday and our 10th anniversary, but i don't think they even read it. We did get the free wireless and $15 minibar voucher. They did NOT have the sympathetic shoulder pillow. Don your good walking shoes, cause it is not very conveniently located. There is good shopping only a couple of blocks away, however. Clean over all, but housekeeping never disposed of dirty dishes, litter or towels/washcloths. I had to call to have them removed, since the living space is very small. NOTICE- The clothing storage is minuscule, so pack light! Didn't like the Food Parc. Food was not very good. Didn't eat at Bar Basque.

The Eventi was a great place to retire in peace in the evening or for an afternoon nap. I recommend earplugs. The ac is noisy when it kicks on and off.

*photos to come

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

We got an awesome opening rate for their rooms with 2 queens - $200 per night. If I could get that rate again, or even up to $100 more for that room at peak time, I would definitely stay there. However, at the current exorbitant rates, I would not. First, the good. The room was fantastic. Spacious, amazingly comfortable beds, wonderful amenities, very quiet night's sleep. We also greatly enjoyed the free wine reception offered every evening on the beautiful terrace (though it would be nice if they offered some food - like cheese and crackers - to go with it). However, the service was appalling as was the knowledge of the staff. We booked two rooms - one of which was not ready until almost 2 hours after check in. Although the manager was nice when we finally got to speak to her, the desk staff was rude. They messed up on a spa booking, the restaurant is exorbitantly priced for lousy service, and a desk staff recommended a diner that was 6-8 blocks walk away that ended up being closed with nothing else around to go to. When we complained, we got an apology, but no comps - no bottle of wine sent up to the room, no offer to discount our room even though check in was so late, etc. Also, the location of this hotel is fine if you don't mind walking (which we don't), but it is definitely not very close to much other than Penn Station. If you do stay here, join the Kimpton hotels membership so you can get free stuff from the minibar (I think it's $15 worth of items). Loved the room, but overall was disappointed. It was a good thing we didn't pay that much or I would have been more miffed about the service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bangkokgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eventi_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, November 1, 2010
Dear ‘Bangkokgal,’

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of Eventi on Trip Advisor.

I do apologize that you found our service to be poor. Considering that Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants remains #1 in terms of customer satisfaction in the luxury segment, I am just as disappointed as you that we let our team down.

I appreciate all the comments you make about the lack of service in the hotel. We take these comments very seriously and try to learn from them. Be sure that my entire team works very hard to improve service levels in every department. Hopefully when you return you will see the improvements and leave a satisfied guest.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Bert le Roux
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Kimpton usually does it right and this is no exception. From the moment you walk in the door you know you are "home". This hotel has the chic factor down pat, but more importantly, it is super comfortable. Many other hotels are overly chic to the point of non-functional. Eventi has it all. The lobby is very inviting and I could have hung out there all night long. They will cater to your every need and make you feel like one of the family. And to top it off, it was absolutely the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justinz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Justin-

So glad to hear that you now feel like a part of the Kimpton Family! Can't wait to see you next time, we'll have our comfy bed waiting for you. Did you know you can purchase all of the Kimpton bedding and stylish items online- its pretty cool.

Thanks so much for taking the time to voice your awesome thoughts about your experience at The Eventi Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 467 in New York City
3,171 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#28 of 467 in New York City
3,979 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#84 of 467 in New York City
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
807 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Eventi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Eventi

Property: Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10001-4101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton Hotel Eventi 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Eventi redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Kimpton Hotel Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. Kimpton Hotel Eventi's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Kimpton Hotel Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues. Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Eventi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing