We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good business option in midtown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Eventi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Ranked #44 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very good business option in midtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed at the Eventi while on business in July. Location is good for Midtown. Reception was friendly/efficient. Room was great (4th floor) with view via the floor to ceiling window of the 6th Ave. enjoyed the business wine reception. Staff were helpful - especially the guys our front who will do whatever it takes to get you a cab! Didn't use the meeting rooms - but they seem to be good for conferences etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,168
    855
    172
    45
    25
See reviews for
557
1,323
192
634
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

A wonderful example of Kimpton chic - very nice place, warm and thoughtful staff, luxe amenities, quirky and interesting features like the dual (rain and hand held) shower (which is HUGE by NY standards). Rooms are also large by NY standards - unlike many other Kimptons, this was purpose built, so it's a newer (5 years or so) building with all the amenities. It's a great place and often great value - sign up for their 'in touch' program (free) and they send specials and last minute deals. Valet parking is pricey. A very well run hotel.

Room Tip: book a regular room, and if they have 'city view' (ESB) rooms available, they'll move yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Beautiful boutique modern hotel! 10-15 minute walk to Times Square! Very clean and comfortable beds. Our room on the 21st floor overlook the beautiful city skyline! Has a very nice open deck and happy hour daily! Nice size fitness center and free bicycles (first come first served basis). The staff is very friendly and helpful. They also have many complimentary items that other hotels just don't have (too many to list). So if you happen to have forgotten to pack s omeething, it is likely on that list! They also have free delicious coffee in the lobby every morning. I would definately visit this property again!

Room Tip: Top floors are definately the better views of the NYC skyline!
See more room tips
Green Features: They are surely a "green" hotel with many environmentally friendly practices
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLSL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

As a former resident of NYC and one who visits the greatest city in the world multiple times a year, for both business and pleasure, I have had occasion to stay at many of the city's finer properties. Eventi has become my NYC home away from home. As with many Kimpton hotels, the staff distinguish their hotels from the competition. This is especially the case with Eventi. Visit after visit, Assistant Front Office Manager Gabriella Monte has gone above and beyond. On my latest visit, accompanied by my son, Concierge Kevin Rountree had created a wonderful caricature drawing of my son, drawn off of a photo that I had shared from a prior trip. Like most people, I appreciate attentive, individualized service when I travel. I especially appreciate it when my loved ones are meant to feel welcomed and special. Well done Kimpton Hotels and especially well done Eventi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E_Hue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Been travelling a fair bit - I LOVE the Kimpton Brand - I go back to the Epic in Miami often, but wow was the eventi a disappointment ?

From the checking-in, where at 16:00 (4pm) I was told that my room wasn't ready, that I had a common surname(wait for it) - I left to go shopping around the corner. On my return, the chap behind the check in desk could not (a) remember my common surname and (b) forgot that he tried to check me in an hour prior!

I was later joined by the rest of our group, flying in from London. Wanting to put our feet up, and have a beer to chill out, we were told that the Bar on the 2nd floor was 'a Private Event' and as such not open. When I asked our hostess if they were running a hotel (with ammenities for guests) or a conference /events centre, it was all lost on her.

Suffice to say, we were made to sit in the lobby, tried to order a beer but the waitress (probably hired on looks and not command of the english language) could not take the order.

We got some vouchers to make up for our 'inconvenience' - worth 'a drink' each. The next night we tried to redeem them for bloody mary's - only to be told that they would not cover the cost of any cocktails - house wine only. I gave them to some wine drinking folk and left.

The rooms are OK, the hotel have no character. Better bet is to stay in the Village! His area is all commercial and devoid of what i would call the 'real New York'.

In short - Kimpton is great, the Eventi isn't! !!

Room Tip: Stay in East Village!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Calvin L,
Sure looks like with missed with you on your stay with us - sorry to read. You are right we don't currently have a bar in the lobby, but that doesn't mean we won't always...hint hint! We look forward to winning you back. Have a great rest of 2013 and we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Vermont
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I like the Kimpton brand. I like the fact that they are completely, absolutely Pet Friendly and I like the feeling that the understand that God is in the details.

We recently visited New York City on a last-minute trip, and i wanted to bring our two dogs. I made a reservation for them at the D Pet Hotel, and was pleasantly surprised to find the Eventi Hotel is two blocks away.

We were greeted warmly. Our one bedroom suite was comfortable and surprisingly (for NYC) large. I love the deep bathtub in the shower -- seems to be a Kimpton specialty (first saw this in Baltimore). We had an excellent dinner on our first night: the service was great, and the food was abundant and delicious.

The only small glitch was that they don't have ice machines, and didn't seem to have insulated ice buckets. Her Ladyship likes having ice the morning -- but is not fond of calling room service (etc.) to get it. At my suggestion the hotel sent someone out to buy a small cooler, like one you'd take on a picnic. It was a perfect solution, and kept the ice frozen for the duration of our stay.

The broadband was fast. TV's large and modern. Lots of plug sockets to charge our road warrior devices.

I have two teeny, tiny criticisms. When we checked in the bellman was more involved filling out some sort of card for the car, and left Her Ladyship to schlep the bags. I even mentioned this to him, but the form took priority over our luggage. (I also like to be vigilant with luggage on a bustling sidewalk -- lest it go walkabout.)

We checked out, but wanted to leave our baggage until later in the afternoon. The front desk told me I'd need to go back to the room with the bellman for "security reasons." I told them I was not doing this, and they arranged to (apparently) send a security guard in my place. Apparently "union rules" prohibit a bellman from going into an empty guest room. Odd rules -- I suspect it's more related to tipping rather than anything else.

Her Ladyship and I enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back to the Eventi.

Room Tip: We took advantage of the Kimpton upgrade program and were upgraded (for $95 per night) to a one bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig_Walsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time at Eventi and I will say, they did not disappoint. The rooms feature outstanding views of the city with wall to wall windows facing the Empire State Building. The cleanliness is impeccable. Even the pipes under the sinks (yes I looked) I don't miss anything when it comes to cleanliness and neither does Eventi.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cbufis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#50 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#29 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,788 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#82 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Eventi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Eventi

Property: Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton Hotel Eventi 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Eventi redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Kimpton Hotel Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. Kimpton Hotel Eventi's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Kimpton Hotel Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues. Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Eventi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing