We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Countless Other Options... Disappointing... Most Likely Would Not Return~”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Ranked #41 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Countless Other Options... Disappointing... Most Likely Would Not Return~”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We visit Manhattan frequently for business and pleasure, and normally stay at the same hotels (one of the HK gems). I had received an email offer from Kimpton, so we decided to give Eventi a try, as we planned to be in Chelsea for most of our stay.

The room was clean and well appointed, but the bedroom was THE SMALLEST we ever experienced in NYC. There was barely enough room to walk on either side of the bed. I am NOT exaggerating! In addition, the closet was so small that a small duffel or 20 inch carry on could not fit. Hangers barely made clearance when you closed the closet door. Our bags (we travel light and pack only the essentials) had to be stored on the chair squeezed tightly in the corner of the room.

The bathroom was HUGE... clean, nicely sized, marble doorless shower, Etro amenities (LOVE!), plenty of towels! It's too bad they did not reduce the size of the bathroom (and entry way) to make the bedroom less claustrophobic.

The wine hour was completely disorganized. It was evident that the clueless female staff member directing people had NO IDEA who were real guests or just people just off the street. Trust me, we confirmed that a majority of the people in attendance were NOT hotel guests. THIS WAS A RED FLAG SAFETY ISSUE FOR US! She just herded people like cattle into the area. The set up was just so bizarre! We (along with the other couple we were with) refused to wait in line ten minutes for a glass of wine. We just paid for our wine in the lounge. $$$ Also, it would have been nice to grab a few bites of cheese from the table to enjoy with the wine we PAID for, but a few "non GUESTS" loaded overflowing plates and left nothing. The staff said they could not replenish?!? The whole experience was chaotic and rogue.

The staff was distant and not at all friendly like we had experienced at the Palomar in Philly.

The coffee service in the lobby was empty our entire stay, so we just walked to Starbucks. That is unacceptable, especially early morning!!! Epic fail!

Overall... again, the room was clean, but with all of the other choices in Manhattan, the negatives outweigh the positives at Eventi. Unless the room rate was irresistible to make up for the shortfalls, we most likely will not return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimbeegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
kimbeegee,
Thanks for your recent review. Its odd to read about a complaint about the size of our rooms, but we appreciate all feedback. We hope you give us another try and we are certain we will win you over!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,225
    881
    174
    45
    26
See reviews for
575
1,346
198
660
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (979)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Eventi has it all. Location, in the heart of midtown , a few steps from Macy's and Empire State Building, easy reach of Penn and Grand Central and well served by cabs and subways.

Stepping in off a busy sidewalk, you enter Eventi world. ... Friendly , efficient service served with a beaming smile. The rooms are quirky and feel spacious, bed is comfortable and views are great from floor to ceiling windows. Join Kimpton in touch and free wif is yours.

Had great food in the open terrace restaurant , Humphrey. Breakfast was very yummy, recommend farmhouse scramble , only sad my check in at Kennedy prevented me from enjoying another breakfast delight.

I would definitely stay again..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteOrchidABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Very much enjoyed this hotel. The staff made the stay;although the services were great as well. All of the staff seem to enjoy their jobs and want to make your stay great. The rooms were very nice though lighting levels were a bit low. I would definitely stay here again, book early for the best rates!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

What defines a great hotel experience? A great bed, not too soft and not too hard? A wonderful breakfast? A room with a with? A central location that puts you at the heart of the city? A consigliere service that gets you a table at a popular restaurant? Friendly staff that has genuine smiles, smiles that origin from the fact that they are truly proud of the product and service they are offering? At the Eventi in New York you get all of this....and more!

I have stayed at numerous good and great hotels around the world, but never felt more welcome and appreciated than at this hotel. The staff responds swiftly to all requests, you never have to wait for anything at all, and they do it all with a personal touch. I am truly impressed by their attitude and service level. It says something about a company, its culture and values, when all layers of employees wears their uniform with pride, their heart on the sleeve if you will, and represents the hotel and the brand in such a good way.

Our expectations were high, but the hotel itself and the staff at Eventi exceeded our expectations by a country mile. This is the type of experience you talk about, or at least we do! Thanks again for a wonderful stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenningDS1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
145 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Most NYC hotels have small rooms, a fair level of service and an average restaurant. This hotel is different. It's a small'ish boutique hotel, with better than average rooms. While the rooms aren't large, they're arranged in a unique way where it feels a bit bigger than it actually is. The bed is comfortable, nice flat screen television and actually a nice bathroom and products. I enjoyed the restaurant and ate there for breakfast each morning.

If they had a lobby bar, it was closed early, by the time I got back to the hotel in the evening, although I didn't clarify whether they actually had one or not. I did have a service issue upon check in and when I brought it up to the management the next morning, they addressed it immediately.

This is a unique hotel and certainly an interesting place to try.

Room Tip: The largest room you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvanPSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumford, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed at the Eventi with two other couples and five children. The hotel is a fairly easy 15 block walk straight up to Times Square. Hotel deatils:

- Check-in and lobby staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful. Nice fireplace and sitting area in a tight, homey setting.

- Bar, restaurant and lounge are on 2nd floor in beautiful greenhouse like open air set-up looking right across at large movie screen on adjacent building wall. Cool. Food and drinks were fine. Service is a bit impersonal and detached.

- Rooms are modern and hip. Comfortable and well appointed. Beds were very comfortable.

- Elevators were a bit slow at times and, be quick, they close fast. Haha. No big deal.

I'd stay here again. To me, the Giraffe Hotel and The Eventi are both solid bets in this area of NYC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeansDesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have stayed at Kimpton properties in the past and always had a positive experience, so the bar was high for Eventi! Expectations were not only met, but they were exceeded, I was totally blown away by this hotel. Our room and in particular the service at the hotel was top notch.

We stayed during the second weekend in March -- the weather should have been fine. It wasn't -- our flight from Boston was cancelled that friday and we could only get out on Saturday due to the snowstorm. I called the hotel and they were more than friendly about pushing back the reservation by a day and told me that my room would be ready whenever we arrived. Good Start.

When we arrived on Saturday, we had a smooth and easy check-in process. We were travelling with an 8 month old baby, so were pleased to know that the room was ready with the crib already in place as requested. And i should say that the front desk people paid special attention to our daughter and even got her to smile -- that matters a lot to us!

Our room was fantastic (we splurged a bit) -- we had a suite with two rooms and a perfect view of the empire state building. Bathroom was super nice (fancy marble) and they even had cupcakes waiting for us (which were not from the day before thankfully!). We couldn't have been happier.

I slept great that night but my wife did not and here is the reason for why we were so pleased with our stay. She realized that she was allergic to something feather in the room but we left the hotel in the morning and forgot about it until we arrived back at 8PM that night. I was a little nervous, thinking there would not be appropriate staff to remove the feather items. Well not more than 5 minutes after our call, a team of 3 people from housekeeping arrived and made the switch in less that 2 minutes. And they could not have been friendlier... that sealed it for us.

In addition to the front desk staff and valet staff being so friendly, the security staff by the elevator at night were also great. Its nice that we did not have to use a key card to access our floor in the elevator but felt secure with the very friendly gentleman standing by the elevator who recognized us every time we arrived.

We wish we could have stayed longer though we know where we will be staying for our next trip to NYC!

Room Tip: Try and get a view of the Empire State Building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tannerybrookrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#57 of 468 in New York City
3,158 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 468 in New York City
775 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#83 of 468 in New York City
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#27 of 468 in New York City
3,944 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#56 of 468 in New York City
812 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Eventi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Eventi

Property: Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001-4101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton Hotel Eventi 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Eventi redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Kimpton Hotel Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. Kimpton Hotel Eventi's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Kimpton Hotel Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues. Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Eventi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing