We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeding our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Ranked #39 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeding our expectations”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

What defines a great hotel experience? A great bed, not too soft and not too hard? A wonderful breakfast? A room with a with? A central location that puts you at the heart of the city? A consigliere service that gets you a table at a popular restaurant? Friendly staff that has genuine smiles, smiles that origin from the fact that they are truly proud of the product and service they are offering? At the Eventi in New York you get all of this....and more!

I have stayed at numerous good and great hotels around the world, but never felt more welcome and appreciated than at this hotel. The staff responds swiftly to all requests, you never have to wait for anything at all, and they do it all with a personal touch. I am truly impressed by their attitude and service level. It says something about a company, its culture and values, when all layers of employees wears their uniform with pride, their heart on the sleeve if you will, and represents the hotel and the brand in such a good way.

Our expectations were high, but the hotel itself and the staff at Eventi exceeded our expectations by a country mile. This is the type of experience you talk about, or at least we do! Thanks again for a wonderful stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenningDS1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,244
    886
    175
    45
    26
See reviews for
585
1,352
200
665
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (984)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Most NYC hotels have small rooms, a fair level of service and an average restaurant. This hotel is different. It's a small'ish boutique hotel, with better than average rooms. While the rooms aren't large, they're arranged in a unique way where it feels a bit bigger than it actually is. The bed is comfortable, nice flat screen television and actually a nice bathroom and products. I enjoyed the restaurant and ate there for breakfast each morning.

If they had a lobby bar, it was closed early, by the time I got back to the hotel in the evening, although I didn't clarify whether they actually had one or not. I did have a service issue upon check in and when I brought it up to the management the next morning, they addressed it immediately.

This is a unique hotel and certainly an interesting place to try.

Room Tip: The largest room you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvanPSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumford, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed at the Eventi with two other couples and five children. The hotel is a fairly easy 15 block walk straight up to Times Square. Hotel deatils:

- Check-in and lobby staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful. Nice fireplace and sitting area in a tight, homey setting.

- Bar, restaurant and lounge are on 2nd floor in beautiful greenhouse like open air set-up looking right across at large movie screen on adjacent building wall. Cool. Food and drinks were fine. Service is a bit impersonal and detached.

- Rooms are modern and hip. Comfortable and well appointed. Beds were very comfortable.

- Elevators were a bit slow at times and, be quick, they close fast. Haha. No big deal.

I'd stay here again. To me, the Giraffe Hotel and The Eventi are both solid bets in this area of NYC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeansDesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have stayed at Kimpton properties in the past and always had a positive experience, so the bar was high for Eventi! Expectations were not only met, but they were exceeded, I was totally blown away by this hotel. Our room and in particular the service at the hotel was top notch.

We stayed during the second weekend in March -- the weather should have been fine. It wasn't -- our flight from Boston was cancelled that friday and we could only get out on Saturday due to the snowstorm. I called the hotel and they were more than friendly about pushing back the reservation by a day and told me that my room would be ready whenever we arrived. Good Start.

When we arrived on Saturday, we had a smooth and easy check-in process. We were travelling with an 8 month old baby, so were pleased to know that the room was ready with the crib already in place as requested. And i should say that the front desk people paid special attention to our daughter and even got her to smile -- that matters a lot to us!

Our room was fantastic (we splurged a bit) -- we had a suite with two rooms and a perfect view of the empire state building. Bathroom was super nice (fancy marble) and they even had cupcakes waiting for us (which were not from the day before thankfully!). We couldn't have been happier.

I slept great that night but my wife did not and here is the reason for why we were so pleased with our stay. She realized that she was allergic to something feather in the room but we left the hotel in the morning and forgot about it until we arrived back at 8PM that night. I was a little nervous, thinking there would not be appropriate staff to remove the feather items. Well not more than 5 minutes after our call, a team of 3 people from housekeeping arrived and made the switch in less that 2 minutes. And they could not have been friendlier... that sealed it for us.

In addition to the front desk staff and valet staff being so friendly, the security staff by the elevator at night were also great. Its nice that we did not have to use a key card to access our floor in the elevator but felt secure with the very friendly gentleman standing by the elevator who recognized us every time we arrived.

We wish we could have stayed longer though we know where we will be staying for our next trip to NYC!

Room Tip: Try and get a view of the Empire State Building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tannerybrookrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

it is not often that you expect warmth and service at a hotel in NYC. The eventi does that well right from the time you check in. Prompt and helpful, the good experience starts from the reception and continues in every department including the restaurant. the rooms are good size and the hotel is well located minutes from the empire state building, about 1.5 km from times square and a nice walk from chelsea and the flower market.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharifDRangnekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2013

As a frequent traveler and national sales manager for a top hotel company, my standards and expectations are exceptionally high. The Eventi Hotel surprised me at every turn. From the moment I entered the modern and clean hotel, Preston offered me an iPhone charger as I had lost my luggage and a dead battery. He turned a rough start to the trip into a better one. The next morning at breakfast, the staff greeted my husband and our infant son warmly and gave us the best service. Food was good and the wine hour each day was fun! The front desk / bell staff, Gabriella, Franciso and Patrick were so friendly and connected with us in such a personal way. The room was perfect and we slept soundly each night. Location was close to the subway, so we could hop on and be anywhere we wanted in just moments. We cannot wait to visit our favorite city again soon and we will without a doubt stay at our new favorite hotel, The Eventi Hotel.

Room Tip: I recommend booking the City View room through the Internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

A former New Yorker, I still travel back to the city I love several times a year. I've tried many different hotels over the years but rarely submit reviews on them because I'm usually underwhelmed. A lot of hotel experiences in NYC under $500/night are very 'meh'.

The Eventi Hotel, however, changed all that. I've been in Kimpton hotels before but this one is especially sexy. The rooms are slightly above average size for NYC but because they feature floor-to-ceiling windows they feel much bigger. The window wall really opens up the space up and provides a dramatic view of the city outside your little aerie in the sky. We had an oblique view of the Empire State building from our 12th floor room.

The location on 6th Ave and W. 30th is close to Penn Station, which is good news if you are arriving by train. Even if not, it's a very central location close to multiple train lines, the always charming Chelsea neighborhood, and an excellent home base overall.

The bathrooms are enormous, impeccably clean, and beautifully finished. Our bathroom had a walk-in shower for two with both an overhead rain shower head and a handheld shower spray. The water pressure was excellent. The white marble vanity is expansive and truly built for two. You won't lack for space to put your toiletries in this bathroom.

Everyone on the staff that I dealt with was professional, fast, and friendly. When I checked in I was distracted, disorganized, and in a hurry and the front desk attendant never lost his smooth, calm, and professional demeanor with me. Thank you!

Room Tip: Rooms ending in -05 have a slightly different layout (square instead of rectangular). The bed is fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chachi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 466 in New York City
3,177 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#27 of 466 in New York City
3,984 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#86 of 466 in New York City
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#54 of 466 in New York City
807 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#48 of 466 in New York City
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Eventi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Eventi

Property: Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10001-4101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton Hotel Eventi 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Eventi redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Kimpton Hotel Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. Kimpton Hotel Eventi's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Kimpton Hotel Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues. Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Eventi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing