We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel that understands that the experience is EVERYTHING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early And Save
Ranked #38 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great hotel that understands that the experience is EVERYTHING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Recently stayed at the Eventi Hotel in NYC and must say that Kimpton is totally getting it right. I travel a lot and must say that between the Eventi in NYC, the Palomar in SF and the Monaco in Baltimore, they totally understand that the customer experience is EVERYTHING. The staff are incredibly polite, the restaurants are strong and the hotel design and decor are very nicely done and I feel that I am always staying in a much pricier hotel than what I pay. A great bargain for what you get. I highly recommend these hotels that Kimpton own to stay at.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Hotel Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
John T,
Wow - thanks! Thanks for the strong recommendation. We really appreciate your loyalty and hope to see more and more of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,982
    784
    153
    42
    22
See reviews for
493
1,216
175
573
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (885)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
164 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed three nights at the Eventi. The quality is very high and the service very good. The hotel is very well located, just 10 minutes walk from Times Square. From my room I was able to see the Empire State Building. The breakfast starts at 7:30am. The quality of the food was extremely good with fresh fruit, freshly baked bred and pastry. Excellent! My room was big and the internet fast. The hotel has SPA and Gym, but I haven't tried them. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fjeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerEventi, Manager at Hotel Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
fjeron,
Boom! Thanks for the 5 star review and so happy you enjoyed yourself. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Overall, our stay at the Eventi was a positive experience as the hotel was in a great location, reasonably priced and the rooms were spacious and well appointed. The hotel is away from the madness of Times Square, but close to shopping, the subway and many great restaurants. It is also a reasonable walk to the theatre district (we saw Once) and after the show and a late dinner we enjoyed the stroll back to the hotel. The front desk was very helpful and gave us several great recommendations for restaurants. We had the breakfast buffet one morning and it was a little pricey but the food was fresh and the service was outstanding. The hotel design was trendy and very clean although the common areas were beginning to show a little wear and tear. The hotel does have a great outdoor area which we could not enjoy because of the cold weather.

The only problem we had with the hotel was with maid service - they did not clean the rooms until late in the day. The second day we missed the cleaning completely - we were out of the room all day and when we returned after five the room was not cleaned.

Overall we would recommend the Eventi as it was a good value and the location gave us a chance to explore another part of New York City.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwdubs60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Location, view, staff and attention to detail all go to make this one of the best hotels we've ever stopped in.
We were on the 23rd floor with an awesome view of the Empire State Building. The light and weather conditions over the skyline seemed to constantly change the panorama; The city waking up at dawn and coming to life, the sun going down at dusk... We sat enthralled, gazing out while we sipped on a cheeky glass of white.
As first timers to NYC, we were amazed at how easy it was to get around... The blocks and avenue system simply work. Anxious to soak it all up, we walked, took cabs, rode the subway... then walked some more.
I'd highly recommend the Eventi to anyone visiting the big apple; surrounded by wonderful restaurants, amazing sights, friendly New Yorkers, this is the start of a love affair.
We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: It's all good but the higher you go, the better it gets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa Park, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the Eventi this weekend Sat into Sunday for a quick getaway and my wifes birthday. The staff made us feel welcome from the second we walked into the door and addressing our every need. We ordered some room service...the food was great and arrived promptly. I had notified the hotel that we were staying for my wifes birthday, and they sent a little birthday package to our room and it was a very nice gesture that I had never seen in all the other hotels I have stayed in. Overall I have no complaints and I will return soon to visit another Kimpton hotel.

Room Tip: Corner Rooms are definitely worth the extra cash
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank massfd333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed for one night this weekend for our anniversary. When you reserve online, there is a notes section asking if there is an occasion, we told them it was our anniversary and got upgraded to an incredible suite they had open on the 21st floor. Was extremely pleased with absolutely everything. Will definitely be booking a suite next time!

-Parking garage right next door w/ valet for Eventi
-Extremely friendly and helpful staff!!
-Unbelievable view if you stay on a higher floor facing 6th ave. At night the Empire State Building looks huge right outside your window.
-Very close to Times Square and 5th Ave shopping
-Amazing bathroom esp the shower (suites even come with a jacuzzi tub)
-Really comfortable pillows and bed
-Extremely friendly and helpful staff again.
-If you forget any necessities (even phone charger or hair straightener), they can provide it to you!

Great place to take a girlfriend or wife for an anniversary or birthday. Definitely get a cityview room and if possible spring for a suite, you won't regret it. Book early to get better rates.

Room Tip: Book early to get better rates Cityview rooms are totally worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

It was great to be away from the crowds but still within easy reach of all the places we wanted to visit. Walking, subway and short cab drives took us all over NY. We especially enjoyed walking over to the high line which then allowed for a beautiful stroll and a completely different view of NY. The rooms were new and clean, although a little tight for 3, but it really was the excellent staff that made us feel welcome. The front desk, room service, and even engineering (who promptly came to fix our tv and then sent us complimentary cupcakes) always went above and beyond. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123hat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Muse Hotel New York
The Muse Hotel New York
#47 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,826 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#41 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#42 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,071 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,994 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#27 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Hotel Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eventi redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. Hotel Eventi's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Hotel Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues. Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing