We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in the heart of the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Eventi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Ranked #45 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the heart of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for her birthday weekend. We registered for the upgrade options Kimpton send in an email a few days before arrival. When we arrived, we were upgraded to one of the high floor Jacuzzi tub suites.

What a great room. Plenty of space to sprawl out in the living room and the bedroom. The bathroom was rather grand with both a tub and walk-in shower. The bathroom amenities were some of the best I have found at this price point of a hotel.

The bed was comfortable and sheets were soft. The two best attributes of a hotel bed. Room furnishings were trendy but comfortable. Some places seem to get caught up in the trendiness of the room and forget it should be comfortable. The Eventi figured out how to marry the two.

The staff delivered a very nice amenity plate for another guest's anniversary. We assumed they just mixed up the trays and come couple down the hall got my wife's birthday cupcake. That was the only service 'glitch' we encountered the entire stay.

The hotel is in a perfect starting location for ventures to any part of the city. The only problem is there are limited restaurants in the immediate area unless you're dying for Korean or fast food.

My only request to have made this the perfect weekend getaway hotel would have been better wine at the reception. I learned in college that free beer is the best beer. That doesn't hold true with wine.

Overall, great rooms, nice staff, and top notch location. A special thanks to the doorman that hunted down a livery during rush hour so we didn't miss our Le Bernardin reservations.

Room Tip: High floor city view rooms don't just give you a good view, they are farther away from the bar n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tulanecpt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,169
    855
    172
    45
    25
See reviews for
557
1,323
192
634
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is a gem of a hotel right near the Empire State Building. For NYC standards, the room was spacious. The bed was very comfortable with nice bedside lights for reading. I would have given it 5 stars but the first room I stayed in (1918) while it had an amazing view with a nice corner window and a king size bed, there was a mold problem coming from one of the bathroom drains. I moved rooms to accommodate a friend meeting me and I needed 2 queen beds and the second room was fine. Also, I ordered room service and the salad was ordinary. On my second night I ate at Eataly, which is easy walking distance, and had a spectacular meal. I will definitely come back to this hotel in the future. It was a 20 minute walk to Times Square and a good choice for someone coming into the city for theatre and shopping. Macy's is close by as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RitzQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

This was our second time staying at the Eventi while going to Westminster dog show. The hotel staff were all wonderful -- excellent recommendations on where to dine. Whereas last year we had some difficulty with the on site restaurant, this time the hostess and waiters were helpful and accomodating and the food was top notch. Our room was fantastic and of course the hotel's location is perfect -- easy walk to event, to theatre, shopping etc. We're already looking forward to staying again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoMillionMiles86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear TwoMillionMiles86,

I'm thrilled your recent stay was so outstanding! From dining out, to attending the Westminster Dog Show, it sounds like you had a fun filled experience in NYC. We're looking for your next stay with us, too!

Kind Regards,

Olivia Briggs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

What a beautiful hotel and our room was amazing! I stepped into the room and it was like, "omg, omg, where is my breathalyzer!" The bed, the sheets..all the textures...I couldn't handle it!
The service by the staff was impeccable and they were incredibly friendly! They have a great restaurant with a really great lounge, with a view down below to the courtyard. There was nothing I disliked but everything I loved! This place is a must stay! We are headed out to stay there again in March!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IntuitiveTouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear IntuitiveTouch,

I loved reading your review. I'm glad you were so excited when you saw your guestroom and that you loved everything about Eventi, and disliked nothing! If there is anything we can do to make your upcoming stay more special please let us know. Safe travels!

Warm Regards,

Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Extremely helpful staff with good bar/restaurant recommendations, nice rooms at reasonable price, cold breakfast buffet was a good value for excellent quality--you get to watch the hotel's giant outside LED movie screen show artistic geographical images (moon, Africa, volcanos) while you eat. Overall, very nice stay. Minor quibbles--minimal modulation between hot/cold in showers, free NYT was early edition. A helpful hint is to sign up for free Kimpton members "In Touch" program and you get free internet (perhaps this is why we got the top floor too). The hotel is only a 3 block walk to Penn Station and has good cab service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria,VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Usually stay in mid-town, but glad we switched to this location near Chelsea. Definitely a step up from all the Hilton Garden Inn, etc. in Chelsea. Stylish, but not too pretentious boutique hotel (except for the arm block some private security guy gave my wife trying to enter the elevator, i guess some VIP from fashion week needed their own elevator).

Plus:
-Fairly new (2 yr), so rooms are clean, smartly furnished w modern amenities and nice wall of windows to view the city
-Friendly Staff (especially to small children)
-Nice bar downstairs & good burger place next door in Food Parc
-Free wine happy hour n welcome cupcakes for kids were nice touches
-Stayed in the 1 bedroom suite which although smallish was well designed to use avlble space so didnt feel cramped
-Great rainforest shower
-Great location near KTown, MSG and NE Edge of Chelsea
-What I really liked is not getting nickeled n dimed on WiFi and actually having a decent speed.
Negatives:
-Just some small stuff like not filling up my TP, n free coffee ending before 9AM & having to pay $50/night to valet (which seems the going rate in NYC)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCRinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Clean,no carpets,bug free environment . Free credit towards minibar great way to get water without being a "platinum" . Good location. Complimentary coffee in am and wine after wk all in lobby.

Room Tip: Great empire state building views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bstar3714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#50 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#29 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,789 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#79 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Eventi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Eventi

Property: Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton Hotel Eventi 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Eventi redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Kimpton Hotel Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. Kimpton Hotel Eventi's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Kimpton Hotel Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues. Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Eventi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing