We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, nice rooms and good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Ranked #49 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We went in June 2010 with a 6 months old baby and had a very pleasant stay. We were upgraded free to a better room as there were empty rooms. Did not see the room we initially booked, but the upgraded one was very nice and comfortable, with views of the Empire State Building.
My only complaints: We found a lost t-shirt behind a chair, from the previous guests, and we were charged from the mini-bar and we haven't take anything, but they solved it immediately I must say.
The rest was just about perfect, also the size of the room (beeing a NY hotel).
Would return to that place, that's for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rosabcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EventiNewYork, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Dear Rosabcn,

Thank you for sharing this great review!
I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I'm sorry you experienced some challenges in your room and with your mini-bar, I appreciate you sharing this feedback as it helps us improve our service.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Eventi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,888 - 2,894 of 3,540 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was my second stay at Eventi, and there so many things to really like about this hotel. I'm a big Kimpton fan anyway, and their service and rooms are very consistent -- and lean toward the high-end. This hotel has very good size and very clean rooms, larger than the norm in NYC. The bathrooms are also clean, spacious and modern, and since this is a relatively new hotel, they feature big, walk in showers and high-end amenities, including a lighted make-up mirror (thank you!!!). I love the desk, free wifi, and stylish decor. This hotel also has an incredibly cool tapas restaurant that feels like you are on a spaceship (really), and a super-sized outdoor deck, which is also a rarity in NYC. It's perfect to bring your wine here during the famous wine / happy hour and enjoy the New York sunset view.
One thing I noticed on this second visit....The AT&T mobile signal is NOT good at this hotel. Beware. If you really need cell service while in your room, I would recommend asking at the front desk for a room that has a good signal. (One of the staff told me that one side of the hotel has better service.) I know NYC does not have the best signal, so I'm sure that plays a part. Still, it's not the best situation when you are trying to connect with a client or friend and you can't call them. Otherwise, a great hotel & close to the subway which is always a plus.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with good cell phone service!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Eventi is a Kimpton chain purposed built hotel built about 2-3 years ago, located in Midtown, 6th Avenue, a short 10-12 minute walk to busy Times Square. Upon arrival, check in was quick and efficient. Our double queen room located on the 20th floor offered a nice westerly view of the city. Rooms have a classy feel, a little bit on ths small side, but equipped with minibar, large LCD TV, clock radio with IPOD docking station, safe, floor to ceiling glass windows and super comfy beds. Continental breakfast served on the 2nd floor is just about adequate for our needs. Also tried the futuristic themed Bar Basque on same floor one evening but closes at midnight the night we were there. The free happy wine hour, a Kimpton trademark is a nice touch and served on the 5th floor verandah or lobby. There is also free internet access to check in and print out boarding passes on the 4th floor, normal use offered for a small fee. Did not try the gym but seems well equipped. All staff very friendly and pleasant, so thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone. The adjoining FoodParc on the ground flooor is also well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TokyoJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We got a great room rate through Magellan Vacations. The room was "large" for NYC standards (325 sq ft). Everything was done nicely in the room.

Only complaints:
1. could sometimes hear noises from other rooms
2. because the hotel is small, the staff is also small in number....which means you sometimes have to wait to be helped.
3. shower was not ideal because it is open and without a door. This means no privacy if others want to be in the bathroom at the same time and also can be cold.

Positives:
1. staff very nice and helpful
2. located in area that is close to many bars, clubs, nightlife
3. nicely decorated hotel
4. good room rate compared to other hotels
5. wine hour even though we never went
6. very dog friendly...you can bring your dog and there are no charges/fees

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

What we loved:
- very friendly service from the moment you arrive
- lots of little "freebies" (ex. coffee and tea in the morning, wine in the evening, bike rentals...)
- cool and functional contemporary design
- located right on 6th Avenue, which made getting a taxi relatively easy and good accessibility to most of Manhattan
- the bar on the second floor (especially at night)

Overall, a great Manhattan hotel that was very reasonably priced. The location wasn't the best on the island, but then again, getting a room in nicer areas also entails higher costs...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed at the Eventi- before during and after hurricane Irene.
The service, rooms, staff, food were always excellent.
However during the hurricane, things went to another level, it was clear from the start that they had been fully prepared. They were calm and made sure everyone had what they wanted, not just what they need! The staff ended up staying all weekend and couldn't have done any more for you.
When I return to New York- I will always stay @ the Eventi xxx

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EventiNewYork, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Dear Clisle,

Thank you for your amazing review and loyalty!
We all really enjoyed being there for our guests during the hurricane.

Hope to see you again soon at Eventi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We were delighted with our recent stay at the Eventi. We had chosen this hotel because of its proximity to Penn Station, as we wanted to use the LIRR to go to the US Open matches. The area in which the hotel is located is OK, but not exceptional--some of the streets looked a bit sketchy, but we never felt unsafe even when walking back from Penn Station late at night. It's an easy walk to Penn Station or Herald Square.

Although I had mixed feelings about the surroundings, the Eventi itself was wonderful. Every employee we encountered was friendly and helpful, our rooms were clean and well organized, and we loved the complimentary coffee or tea in the morning and the wine reception on the 5th floor veranda. After some busy days watching tennis and sightseeing, Eventi was the perfect place in which to relax and sleep!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank California-SLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#86 of 473 in New York City
3,336 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#29 of 473 in New York City
4,359 reviews
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#40 of 473 in New York City
3,931 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#15 of 473 in New York City
3,271 reviews
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#30 of 473 in New York City
3,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Eventi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Eventi

Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10001-4101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $204 - $583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton Hotel Eventi 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Eventi redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Kimpton Hotel Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. Kimpton Hotel Eventi's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Kimpton Hotel Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues. Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Eventi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing