We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in a great area of NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Trump SoHo New York
Ranked #132 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
PA - USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in a great area of NYC”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I went up for a weekend in March 2013. The hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating. They were happy to answer our questions and go out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The room was great as we had a nice one bedroom suite with the bedroom and living room separated over looking the Hudson. My only complaint.... parking. The one day price to park the car at the hotel in valet was around $65 per night. What I failed to realize was that it only lasted 24hrs.... I checked out 27hrs later and my bill was over $100 for parking. That I find ridiculous. So my only word of advice.... park at one of the lots outside of the hotel! Other than that.... great hotel, great Soho Location (away from the touristy mess of Times Square).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BC4323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear BC4323

Thank you for staying with us at the Trump SoHo. I am pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay and thank you for your nice comments about our staff. I appreciate your feedback on our parking and look forward to welcoming you and your wife back again.

Best,
Andreas Oberoi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,034
    646
    202
    89
    61
See reviews for
617
1,262
139
534
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

When I pay $400 a night for a hotel room, I expect to be overawed, impressed, and blown away with the details, the quality, and the enjoyment. Unfortunately at The Trump I was amassing disappointment after disappointment.

We checked in as a luxury place to stay in February whilst the blizzard threatened to hit NYC. I must say that the staff were brilliant and very helpful, from the desk to the cleaners to the doormen. That the hotel did get right. They also let us check in and out a little earlier/later than advertised which was a huge help. It was the rest that was a huge let down.

We were promised a room with free WiFi when we booked over the phone then told that was wrong when we checked in. They agreed, eventually, to give it to us anyway but it took a further two times for us to ask once we were in our room for them to give it to us.

The toilet paper in the room was the kind of quality I expect in a public toilet, thin and scratchy and not nice to use.

The lamp in the bathroom didn't work.

There was no bath oil/cream to use, so we had a beautiful bath and nothing to put in it. We had to go to the spa and order a specially created blend (at what cost?!).

Despite knowing/seeing we had a child with us we were not offered children's amenities which they promise as being part of your room when you check in.

You had to pay to use the spa and sauna which again, on their website makes you assume anyone can access, like in any other hotel.

Late at night some monkey in the room above us kept whacking our windows (as they open from the floor (dangerous with children in the room also) and screaming and shouting. We called security to get that stopped.

Also we appeared to be in a room that could adjoin the next room. Unlike every other hotel which has a thick door so you cannot hear through this interconnecting door, this one obviously didn't. There were a gaggle of women in this room and they were having fun. And we could hear every single word they said. They weren't being overly loud but there was literally no soundproofing between rooms. When they came home at 3am this was particularly annoying as it woke us up, and our baby. This is the most basic thing which should never be a problem. Even cheap motel's have more soundproofing that The Trump!

We discovered after not sleeping all night due to the overly soft bed that when we stripped it down it had something like 3 huge feather mattress protectors. The pile on the room floor was nearly 2m high! Finally we slept when we got the bed to a more normal mattress feel.

And finally, we ordered a morning newspaper and never received one.

So all in all, very upset and if I was going to NYC again to stay in upmarket luxury, then I would choose one of the other 20 worthy contenders.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillysgoneglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Gillysgoneglobal

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I would be happy to discuss your stay personally with you, and can be reached at GMaoberoi@trumphotels.com or 212-842-5527. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Best,
Andreas Oberoi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

A good hotel with the nice staff.

Sweet modern furniture.

Room is big enough, which is composed of a bedroom and living room.
Try to reserve a room on the higher floor.

Large windows and a stunning view of NY.

Breakfast is not very big..and tasty... BUT you can order smth from the menu list...well typically American.

Quite small swimming pool, not so many sunbeds but always fresh towels and drinking water.
Very nice poolbar where you can taste delicious salads and drink refreshing cocktails :)

I recommend this hotel for people who is younger than 45 years old.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jekaterina_Tallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Jekaterina_Tallin

Thank you for sharing your experience from your stay with us this summer. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our pool and Bar d’Eau. I appreciate your kind comments about our staff and look forward to welcoming you back to the Trump SoHo.

Best,
Andreas Oberoi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Excellent service. Exercise facility is small but sufficient. Rooms were clean with great views. Trendy shops and restaurants are only a few short blocks from hotel, which is also near other neat neighborhoods (walking distance to meat packing). Would stay here again. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Alex B

Thank you for sharing your feedback at the Trump SoHo. I am happy that you enjoyed our downtown location in SoHo and the views from your room. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to NYC.

Best,
Andreas Oberoi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

They say first impressions mean alot. Wow! Blown away by the service, the smiling faces and the warmth that we felt throughout our stay. The Front Desk was very welcoming, great feeling in the lobby. The spa services were so enjoyable and the staff was very helpful and welcoming. Koi was energetic, and great food! The view was amazing, the best sunset in years!
I can't wait to return and tell all my friends about this great experience.

Room Tip: Northwest Corner one bedroom suite has an amazing view of midtown Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisk07042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Chrisk07042

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. I am pleased to hear you felt welcomed during your stay and enjoyed your services at the spa. I look forward to your return visit to the Trump SoHo.

Best,
Andreas Oberoi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed March 7-10. This hotel is the best location in NYC if you like spending your time downtown and in Soho. I have been to New York numerous times for work and for pleasure and this is my favourite hotel to date.

Upon check in - I was asked if I wanted to pay for an upgrade to a higher floor with a view. After having a chat with the front desk, I was very kindly offered a complimentary upgrade to room 3502 - which I believe is a Premiere King. What a view! It was our first wedding anniversary - and the front desk were terrific. I have forgotten the name of the person who checked me in but she was great and it was some of the best customer service I have received.

We did not have time to use the Spa or eat at the restaurant but they looked great.

Of course the general irritation of having to pay for wi-fi exists. At $14.95 a day it is expensive but this is not exclusive to Soho Trump. All hotels seem to do this now.

The only thing I would change is my own plans next time so i can get to use the pool, which is closed for the winter.

Room Tip: I think you have to get on the higher floor for rooms with a view. Without the view the hotel is goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear NSGLondon

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Trump SoHo while celebrating your first wedding anniversary. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our downtown location and the views from your room. We do offer complimentary wifi in our rooms when the reservation is booked directly through our website. In addition, we also have complimentary wifi in our lobby for all guests and a complimentary business center. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best,
Andreas Oberoi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed just under 2 weeks at the Trump Soho (18/02 - 01/03) and I can't recommend it enough. Friendly staff from check in to doormen, concierge and housekeeping staff.

Room was nice and clean and maintained by housekeeping to a very good standard.

We didn't make much use of the facilities (gym, spa) as we were out from morning to evening but I would definitely stay again and am already planning my next visit towards the end of the year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sav2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpNYCSoHo, General Manager at Trump SoHo New York, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear sav2427

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay at the Trump SoHo. I appreciate your nice remarks about our staff and look forward to your return visit at the end of the year.

Best,
Andreas Oberoi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#164 of 468 in New York City
1,376 reviews
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Trump International Hotel and To...
#107 of 468 in New York City
1,235 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#84 of 468 in New York City
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Greenwich Hotel
Greenwich Hotel
#96 of 468 in New York City
520 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#60 of 468 in New York City
442 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#58 of 468 in New York City
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump SoHo New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump SoHo New York

Property: Trump SoHo New York
Address: 246 Spring Street, New York City, NY 10013-1521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in New York City
#30 Business Hotel in New York City
#62 Family Hotel in New York City
#85 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#108 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump SoHo New York 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adding distinction to the skyline, Trump SoHo® New York brings a new perspective of Manhattan from its 391 guest rooms, providing unparalleled views of the city from floor-to-ceiling windows in the deluxe and premiere rooms and suites. The Spa at Trump® features New York's only luxury hammam experience, relaxation rooms and fitness center. Trump SoHo is pleased to welcome the new signature restaurant Koi SoHo, featuring an imaginative menu of contemporary Japanese cuisine. Plan your business or social gathering in one of the hotel's exclusive meeting and event spaces. Unwind over cocktails in The Library or retreat to the seasonal Bar d'Eau with its outdoor pool deck. Possessing one of the city’s most coveted locations where SoHo meets Tribeca and the West Village with celebrated art galleries, restaurants, shopping and nightlife, Trump SoHo New York is downtown like you’ve never experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trump SoHo New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump Soho New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing