We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous...except for the regular price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Ranked #88 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Roxboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous...except for the regular price”
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Everything about the experience was top notch...but their regular prices are out of my league. Would love to go back often, but must wait for another half priced trial offer. Found my deal on Expedia and glad I did. Magnificent room with balcony, separate living and sleeping areas, kitchenette and washer/dryer. May sound a bit downscale, but it was anything but. This hotel was contemporary luxury throughout...and the staff was even better. Did not get to eat there so can't comment.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,466
    506
    160
    86
    59
See reviews for
380
795
122
525
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2010

This hotel was recently opened, and it would appear as they either rushed to get it open or ran out of money a month out and skimped on the finishing touches. I often stay in this area of NY and was excited that this may be my new favorite, I checked out 3 days early. They are somewhat minor complaints but for the price paid at this property is not acceptable. Much like other Gansevoort properties, there is a bar scene in the roof, and I was asked too many times to display my room key to get in the hotel and elevators... one in the elevators I was asked on 4 occasions to let someone in the roof with my key. The rooms do not have what I would consider hot water by any means, it made showering uncomfortable. My dislike for the decorating aside, you can spot remnants of plastic packing material on corners and seams of furniture, minibar door was missing a handle but had a holes for screws, the titles in the bathtub had some extra holes drilled which cracked the glass and were plugged with plastic washers and the vents did not fit the openings leaving space to the sides in the drywall. Again all very minor but something I would not accept in a room past the $400 mark. The pool also already looks filthy and is VERY small, knowing this area is open with the bar it seems like 1 too many drinks have already been poured in it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilturbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2010

I would 100% recon my family and friends to stay that hotel....It's new fresh and quality of room are execellent...

One night went to sister hotel Gansevoor in Meatpacking Market....what a food....

I love this hotel...will plan next year again...with family...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishal-Designer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

We stayed at the Gansevoort Park Avenue from Nov. 22nd -24th, 2010. The hotel is nice and new with a helpful staff. The rooms are clean except for breadcrumbs on the box spring (we were checking for bedbugs - none found). We had a Park Avenue suite which is very big and has 3 balconies. Unfortunately, we were on the 7th floor and so traffic noise was loud and clear.

Overall, we had a good impression of the hotel until a single event really left a bad taste. The hotel has a Porsche service whereby a Panamera is on standby for guests who need a ride to anywhere. Our first morning, we saw the car parked in front and asked if we could have a lift to midtown. We were told that two other guests had reserved the car ahead of us and that in the future, we should call down or advise the doorman in advance. The next day, upon returning from some shopping, we again saw the car parked and available and asked the doorman if we could get a lift to the theatre district. He said no problem. We asked him to wait for us for 5 minutes so we could drop our bags off in our room and he agreed. When we came back down to the lobby, the car was gone! We asked the doorman what happened and he said: "sorry - the owner of the hotel took the car". We asked if he knew that we had just reserved it and he sheepishly said "yes but he took it anyways". What selfish disregard for his guests! I don't care that the guy owns the car - he puts it at the service of his paying customers and then jumps the queue. Anyways, this left a real distaste and is a long way from 5 star service. To the owner of the hotel - you should fire yourself, just as you would have fired an employee who pulled the same stunt.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank abench59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2010

I recently enjoyed a four night stay at the Gansevoort Park Avenue property. Despite the hotel being fairly new I have to say the service was flawless. The hotel is very well designed, better than their sister MPD location in my opinion. The rooftop bar, lounge, pool are all amazing and the food and cocktails served up there is great!

The nightclub and restaurant were not open yet during my stay, but I have no doubt that they will be just as hip and successful as the rest of the property. Park Ave South seems to be the new area for great restaurants (try Hurricane Club)

I usually stay in MPD or SoHo but decided to try Park Ave South to experience this new hotel and I have to admit it was a very convenient location. It's close to both the 5th Ave shops as well as SoHo so getting to either area took less than 10 - 15 mins (without traffic). As well, Eataly is only blocks away and is a "must try" when in NYC next.

I definitely recommend this hotel for the traveler who wants to be centrally located in a well designed hotel with a vibe, great service and hip guests. I have stayed at each Gansevoort property and have yet to be disappointed. This new property is a great addition to their successful portfolio.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zark17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2010

From Check-in to Check out, I wasnt disappointed. Rooms are Spotless and Large. All amenities, top to bottom are high-quality. There's nothing like that 'brand-new' feel! Service was friendly and available. Bar had a great scene. Cant wait until the Italian Restaurant opens. Stayed overnight for business but cant wait to bring the wife next time. Great location for midtown access. 'Thumbs up' all the way!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank levineds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2010

I stayed at the Gansevoort Park in a mixture of business and leisure trip after seeing the reviews in Trip Advisor. The room was spacious and beutifally furnished, all glass window with a small balcony. Nice view of the city.

The rooftop pool was amazing as well as the service and the kindness of the staff. Concierge always trying to make you feel well served.

The location is also nice, not typicall midtown Manhattan with good restuarants and service.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cool303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#207 of 467 in New York City
1,790 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#123 of 467 in New York City
3,518 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#127 of 467 in New York City
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
2,247 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#125 of 467 in New York City
3,059 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#54 of 467 in New York City
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Property: Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016-8403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#71 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#77 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#97 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing