We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great rooms, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royalton Park Avenue
Ranked #90 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Loved every minute in my room, beds extremely comfortable and room decor really nice.

It is a very convenient hotel for a business stay in Manhattan. went couple of times to the bar and as well to the rooftop which is really active at nights, good ambiance. Liked the fact that guests from the hotel have preference to go to the club, so its a great place to relax after a long day of work.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JoMc_Pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear JoMc_Pc,

Thank you for the lovely review. We're elated your experience was phenomenal from the moment you arrived. We understand business trips can often be tiresome and we're happy you were able to unwind on our rooftop. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,109 - 1,115 of 2,395 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriends and I always take a weekend vacation in the summer and I am thrilled about our getaway this year. We stayed at the Gansevoort Hotel Park Avenuefor three nights; each night getting better than the last. The management knew we were celebrating a birthday and sent us a champagne bottle. Our room was always in tip top shape and the rooftop pool and Sundeck were fantastic. From the bellboys to the concierge, each person made us feel welcomed and special. Thank you to Michael Ruggiero, who made our stay that much more comfortable and the rest of Gansevoort staff for being engaged in our New York activities. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Ashley M,

Thank you for sharing your outstanding experience. We're sending our well wishes and we're thrilled your girls getaway exceeded your expectations. A birthday celebration should be nothing but amazing and we're happy we could assist in making it a weekend to remember. We're also pleased you enjoyed the complimentary bubbly. We’ll be sure to inform Michael and the rest of our team of your kind words. We're looking forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, the staff are lovely and very helpful. The pool is nice. As I had already stayed at the Gansevoort Meatpacking, they upgraded me. The suite is beautiful, with huge closets and fantastic bathroom! And a bottle of fresh prosecco was waiting in the room!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear sophie a,

Thank you for the rave review. We're glad you chose to stay with us and we're thrilled you enjoyed your visit. It's the little things that can make a big difference and we're happy our team was able to upgrade your room. We're also pleased you loved our ample-sized suite and complimentary treats. We're looking forward to your next visit to New York.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Gansevoort for 5 nights as part of a trip with a group of friends to the US for a wedding. Overall, I really liked the hotel and would stay again when visiting NYC.

Arrived quite late in the evening and check in was smooth and friendly. Our room was on the 11th floor looking over E29th street. Room was lovely. Best part was bed - massive and SO comfortable. Nice decor and sofa and very clean. Bathroom nice enough with powerful shower and really nice Cutler bath products. Also the bathrobes were amazing!

Location is good, walking distance to a lot of places we wanted to go and easy to get taxis outside too.

We checked out after 4 nights and had booked to stay again after 2 nights in New Jersey before heading home. We had originally had 2 rooms booked in our party for that night but one had been cancelled as someone could not make it. There was then 3 of us so I asked if it was possible for a bed to be put in our room or to have a room with 2 beds - the man at the front desk was helpful and booked us into a room with 2 beds for our last night which was very helpful for us. This room was on 7th floor and still nice and quiet - wasn't as spacious as our first but that's because of 2 beds - also the robes weren't the same new ones we had in our first room. It wasn't a problem for us as only there for one night but just shows you get different things based on room.

The pool and bar on the roof of the pool are lovely. It was nice and hot when we were there so tried to get an hour or so a day by the pool. When we could get a bed it was really nice - always could in the morning but busy by end of the day. Brings me to my one negative about the hotel - the service everywhere in the hotel (especially the door staff) is really good but we found the pool bar staff to be quite bad. Not very friendly, really slow and sometimes unhelpful. It also says by the pool hotel guests only during business hours but that was definitely not the case as a couple of afternoons we couldn't get beds and there was definitely people not staying there on them. People should also know that most nights we were there the roof top bar and pool bar were closed for events - I get that it's a public rooftop and not just for guests but was sometimes a bit disappointing not to be able to go and have a nice drink outside before going out. We also tried to go to the rooftop bar one night and were spoken to quite rudely by the bar door staff and not treated like we were paying a lot of money to stay there. Living in London it suddenly felt like a pretentious London rooftop bar rather than the nice atmosphere of the rest of the hotel. Whilst I understand it is a public bar and pool area I think more care should be made so that the hotel guests don't feel unwelcome. We spoke to one of the doormen/porters? Rob about in one night - he was lovely and apologetic and sent a bottle of wine up to our room. (2 bottles of wine were then put on our bill when checking out do glad I noticed this and the lady on the front desk removed them straight away so that was ok). Both Rob and Danny at the door were very helpful to us - with taxis etc.

Ate at the restaurant next door/attached on our last lunch before getting flight. Food was nice and great service.

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank CarolineR07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear CarolineR07,

Thank you for the thorough review. We're glad you enjoyed your trip, but we apologize your rooftop experience fell short. You should have been treated with the utmost respect whether the lounge was crowded or not. We appreciate your feedback and we'll be sure to pass it along to the rest of our team to ensure all future visits are seamless. On another note, we're thrilled you found our comfortable beds to be irresistible and we're happy you were pleased with our bathroom products. We understand plans can change at the last minute, and we're elated the front desk was able to accommodate your needs. It was truly a pleasure having you and we hope your return soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Not sure who came up with the themes at that hotel (pictures of girls in underwear above the bed?), clearly trying to look trendy and hot. But surprisingly, a combination of a good bed, large space (exec room) and private terrace on Park Avenue South was enough to cheer me up.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frankieandcharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Frankieandcharl,

Thank you for the great review. We're happy you enjoyed your experience and we're glad you were fond of our ample-sized rooms. We're pleased our private terrace views put a smile on your face, as they are quite mesmerizing. We appreciate your comments regarding our décor and we'll pass them along to the rest of our dedicated team. It would be a pleasure to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay here. Service was top notch from getting out of the taxi to the front desk all the way up to the room. Room was very modern and clean. Hard to leave the bed as it was the most comfortable I have ever been in! Shower was amazing. The room was very clean and had all that we needed. Great views of the Empire State Building!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Eric D,

Thank you for the splendid review. Providing outstanding service is very important to us and we're pleased you felt well-taken care of from the moment you arrived. We're glad you loved our comfortable beds and soothing shower. We look forward to making many more Manhattan memories upon your return.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

I ended up booking a Park Ave suite, via Jetsetter. I did read some horror stories from users who had issues with checking in, the rooftop, etc, but I didn't have any of them. Check-in was a breeze thanks to a welcoming front desk staff, we felt secure thanks to security by the elevator and had an incredibly awesome room! Couldn't have asked for anymore.

Room Tip: The suites are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank desifromjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear desifromjc,

Thank you for sharing your excellent experience. It was wonderful having you and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay from the moment you arrived. We're glad you found our service to be flawless and we'll be sure to inform the rest of our dedicated team of your kind remarks. It was a pleasure having you and we'd love for you to visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#210 of 471 in New York City
1,877 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#127 of 471 in New York City
3,673 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#196 of 471 in New York City
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#193 of 471 in New York City
1,452 reviews
Midtown
Mondrian Park Avenue
Mondrian Park Avenue
#77 of 471 in New York City
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton Park Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton Park Avenue

Address: 420 Park Avenue South, 29th Street Main Entrance, New York City, NY 10016-8403 (Formerly Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#61 Family Hotel in New York City
#74 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#76 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $298 - $592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royalton Park Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royalton Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royalton Park Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing