We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Ranked #87 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
cincinnati, ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice experience!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We just returned from a 3 night stay at the Gansevoort. We usually stay at the Mandarin during our trips to NYC but some in our party wanted a more affordable option. Having to plan the trip for 5 other people, I was majorly stressing about finding a good hotel. I finally decided the Gansevoort would be a good option. We absolutely loved our stay and I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

The club is extremely noisy until very late as other users have noted. There is a tremendous amount of noise that comes down the elevator shaft even when you are not close to the club. Having read this in reviews, I called the hotel and asked to be kept away from the club. They were exceptionally accommodating and placed our party on the 14th floor. My sister has sleeping troubles, and she said she slept great. None of us noticed any noise from the club. There are some noises that come from the street but that is to be expected anywhere in NYC.

One of my favorite things about NYC is the views, the views from our room on the 14th floor were nothing exceptional. You can see down the street quiet well but don't expect any sweeping panoramas. They do have lovely standing balconies off the rooms, which was a really nice touch.

The beds at this hotel are awesome! They may be the most comfortable I have ever experienced at a hotel.

The location was great. We were easily able to walk to several great little restaurants, coffee joints, drug stores, etc. I felt like we could cab easily to major NYC landmarks.

Free wifi was a plus as many upper class hotels make you pay a daily rate.

The really standout point to me about the Gansevoort was the staff, they really made an effort to keep us comfortable. Not only did they keep us away from the club, they also listened to my request to be on a higher floor. They sent us a complimentary bottle of wine to our room and supplied us with mini waters when we were in the lobby. My friend requested a clothes steamer and they quickly delivered it to the room and let us keep it for the duration of the stay.

Overall, a very good experience.

Room Tip: I've read that rooms on floors 10-11 are the quietest, we stayed on floor 14 and didn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bschmitt8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear bschmitt8,

Thank you for the brilliant review. We understand planning a trip for a large group can be stressful, but we're thrilled you were satisfied with the outcome of your stay. We are always happy to accommodate your preferences and we're glad you enjoyed your quiet room. It's important to us to continuously provide flawless service and we're pleased you felt well-cared for. We'll be sure to share your compliments with the rest of our team as we know they look forward to having you again. We're delighted you loved our comfortable beds and fantastic location. Our area is conveniently situated near many of the city's attractions and offers a variety of delicious restaurants. It was a pleasure having you and we hope you return soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,448
    499
    158
    86
    58
See reviews for
369
788
122
522
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I stayed at the Gansevoort Park Avenue for a weekend trip to NYC. Loved the location, the ease of the check-in, Valet, and concierge help! Our room was a Deluxe suite which could be the largest hotel room I've ever been in NYC. Bathroom was also of ample size, separate shower and soaker tub. A lot of closet space and couch for extra seating. They also have turn-down service and prep your room with ice! We faced Park Avenue and had a great view on the 18th floor. As others have reviewed, on the weekend nights (Not sure about weeknights), you can hear the bass the higher you're up but it drowns out and isn't 'too" bad.

The rooftop pool is an extra perk we loved having ,especially in the hot summer day. However- the pool staff was painstakingly slow. There was a bachelorette group of SEVENTEEN girls to which the staff seemed to attend to more then all the other guests up top. We were told to order through the pool waitress however after half hour of waiting we demanded the inside bartender to just serve us. *Note.....alcohol is not served up there till 11am. Other then the Slower then molasses service upstairs, the rest of the staff was great. Our Concierge gave us great time-saving tips and suggestions of places to dine and times to hit the MOMA, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Park Avenue side. Higher floors may be louder with the nightclub above. Hit the Pool EA...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haliay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Haliay,

Thank you for the great review. We're glad your weekend in NYC was wonderful and we're thrilled you loved your room. We're pleased our ample-sized bathrooms and spacious closets helped make you feel comfortable. We're also happy you were fond of our turndown service, as we strive to continuously go the extra mile to provide a seamless trip. We apologize for the slow poolside service and we appreciate you sharing your experience. Our management happily welcomes all feedback and we'll be sure to inform them of your comments. We look forward to having you again.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Really good experience at the Gansevoort this time in large part thanks to Max. He took the time to help me out above and beyond the call of duty. He escorted me to the subway around the corner and started me on my journey.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Robin L,

Thank you for the amazing review. We're thrilled you had a fantastic experience and we're elated Max was able to help make it memorable. We appreciate your compliments and we'll be sure to relay them to our dedicated team. We hope you return soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Nice people, nice food, nice rooms, nice general atmosphere. Very modern and luxurious. Good gym facilities. Very central (obviously) so great location! Best way to describe it is just very very good. Highlight has to be the rooftop pool area and bar - especially towards the end of the week, it's just like a non-stop party up there, so fun! Would definitely recommend to groups of friends and young people, less so for little children and elderly people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plummerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear plummerh,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We're glad you had a phenomenal experience and loved our area. Its central location is quite convenient and it's a quick subway ride or walk to many of NYC's best attractions. We're also pleased you enjoyed our rooftop pool. Lounging above the skyline while overlooking the Empire State building is an amazing way to make a vacation memorable. We appreciate your recommendation and we would love to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Nice hotel located at Park Avenue, close to shopping, excellent service staff, free wi fi, rooms quiet and clean, well attended only negative the value for money is not the best, the view from the room was pretty bad.
For the rest of the hotel very good and valid rooftop for a drink.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear GioDel2014,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're glad you enjoyed our convenient location and found our team to be helpful. Additionally, we're thrilled you felt comfortable in our quiet and well-kept rooms, but we apologize you weren't satisfied with the view. Next time, our reservations department will be happy to provide a suite that accommodates your preferences. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is beautiful with great rooms. The concierge was very nice and helpful. The front desk was very friendly when we checked in as well as when we had a mixup with our Jetsetter reservation.

The one thing I didn't love was how popular our hotel appeared to be at night. I guess the rooftop club is one of the places to go at night so there were quite a few people outside all the time. The good news is that I couldn't hear them from my room. I'm not old and stodgy but I guess I just like it when my hotel isn't always the center of attention...

Bathrooms are huge. Very clean. They have a iPod deck but it's for the old iPod plug so bring your plug if you need to charge.

Otherwise, I would definitely consider coming back for the right price.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank skimmilk70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear skimmilk70,

Thank you for the amazing review. We're pleased you had a wonderful experience and we're elated our team could provide a smooth check-in. We understand the importance of comfort
and we're happy you enjoyed our ample-sized rooms as well as our enormous bathrooms. We agree, our rooftop often becomes quite lively in the evenings, but we're glad the noise did not
disturb your slumber. It was a pleasure having you and we would love to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2014

My husband and I renovated our bathroom, we live in the East Vill. A one week reno turned into a month. We stayed at the Gansevoort Park Ave. We stayed for apprx 2 weeks through out the month. Our experience each time was wonderful.

The roof top pool is fabulous- Effie - was our server. She always made sure we were OK and was on point. She was one of the best servers I have ever had at a trendy hotel.

The Front Desk- Alexander, Michael Ruggiero and Julia took care of us..... so responsive, so friendly and good at their jobs.

Reservations-JULIE - THANK YOUUUUUUU

GREAT HOTEL,
FABULOUS STAFF
FAMILY FRIENDLY
CLEAN
LOVE IT!!

Room Tip: The rooms with the larger Terrace is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Kara Q,

Thank you for the fantastic review. We're thrilled we could be your home-away-from-home and we're glad you had an excellent experience. We loved having you and we'll be sure to relay your kind remarks to Effie, Alexander, Michael, Julia and the rest of our dedicated team. Lounging poolside on our rooftop is always a relaxing way to spend the day and we're glad you enjoyed it. We can't wait for your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#213 of 468 in New York City
1,764 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#115 of 468 in New York City
3,489 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 468 in New York City
2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#127 of 468 in New York City
180 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#55 of 468 in New York City
934 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#53 of 468 in New York City
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Property: Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016-8403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#70 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#77 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#97 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing