We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here again for sure!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Ranked #88 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at this fantastic hotel. Kinda hip, but not in A Vegas kinda way. Great night club, rooftop pool, and nice rooms. The staff could not have been any better. The location for us was perfect, and we can't wait to go back next May.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank No2taxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear No2taxx,

Thank you for the amazing review. We're thrilled you had a wonderful experience and we're excited you've already planned your next visit. Our area is conveniently located near some of New York's best attractions and we're glad it perfectly suited your needs. We're also happy you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and our refreshing rooftop pool. See you next May!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,120 - 1,126 of 2,362 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

We use this hotel as our "get away" stay-cation. We love everything about it, the amenities, the gym, the rooms, and the patios (yes, the patios, not simply balconies, where you can lay out in the sun, or even have a group dinner. Yes, there is furniture.). The staff is friendly and accommodating.

The rooms are beautiful and spacious, with great bedding. We love the room service. I love the pool, it's a bit of a party at the pool (if that's your thing). There's a rooftop bar as well.

Needless to say, they have the basics covered: cleanliness, prompt service, great water pressure in the showers, great mini bar, free wifi!

Stay here. We cannot recommend it enough, just stay here.

Room Tip: Get a room with a patio!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear j s,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We loved having you and we're pleased you had an extraordinary experience. We offer a plethora of features and we're elated you could take advantage of so many of them. Whether you spend the day lounging or entertaining, it's always great to look out to the NYC skyline from one of our private terraces. We understand the importance of comfort and we're glad you're fond of our plush beds as well as our ample-sized rooms. We appreciate your compliments and we look forward to having you for many more getaways to come.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

crossing the bridge for a staycation in the city is something i've been wanting to do for years, so when the opportunity finally presented itself, i wanted it to be perfect. after extensive research, i chose the gansevoort on park ave, primarily because of the quiet neighborhood (unlike the meatpacking location) and the rooftop pool.

everyone that i interacted with at the hotel was incredibly friendly and helpful, from julie in the reservations department to alexander at the front desk. i'd requested a slightly earlier check-in, and alexander was very helpful not only in securing the room for me, but also for making sure the bucket of ice and champagne flutes were delivered to the room before my companion arrived 30 min later! he was there when we were checking out, and completely remembered me and was again just so genuinely personable and friendly.

there are a couple reasons i couldn't give this hotel 5/5: the brunch menu on the rooftop was unfortunately not anything i would order again, and we stopped at the rooftop bar late friday night before going back to our room and were given shots in an extremely warm plastic cup.

overall, i would 100% stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone. our room was on the 4th floor, so i was concerned about street noise being too loud, but it wasn't even a concern. the location is great. the deluxe king room we had was definitely a good size. the staff is wonderful.

as i said before, i've always wanted to have a staycation in nyc, and this was just so much better than i even imagined.

Room Tip: i heard some guests saying they could hear the bass from the rooftop bar from their room, so i would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bktrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear bktrish,

Thank you for the spectacular review. We're honored you chose to spend your NYC getaway with us and we're elated it surpassed your expectations. We strive to provide high quality service and we're glad you felt cared for by Julie and the rest of our team. We understand the importance of a good night's sleep and we're happy you enjoyed your quiet room. On another note, we apologize you weren't fond of our rooftop's brunch menu. Next time, our concierge will be happy to book a reservation at Asellina or provide alternative dining recommendations in the area. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to your next staycation with us.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were attending a concert at MSG and chose this hotel because of the location and previous reviews. It was Awesome right from the start. We pulled up and the doorman helped made us pull right over and grabbed our bags and valeted the car. We checked in and it was smooth sailing offering us both a drink because it was such a hot day. We went to the room and it was neat, clean and stylish. We were more then happy.
We went out for lunch and came back to relax at the rooftop pool bar area which was a perfect atmosphere before the concert. When we went back to the room to change we were so surprised to see 2 wine glasses and a complimentary bottle of Argentine wine along with a carafe of water with fruit on the table by the sitting area. That was OUTSTANDING customer service in my book!!
Later we walked out of the hotel and the doorman grabbed us a cab within a minute and off we went.
Later that night when we returned the lobby had the fire going and we sat and relaxed a few and grabbed a photo before heading up to the lounge. They had security by the elevators in the lobby which asked us if we were guests before going up to the lounge. We ended the night with a drink and beautiful views from the roof top.
Next morning we had a late checkout for 2 pm arranged which was very accommodating and gave us time for breakfast and a little walk in the area shopping.
Upon checkout they had our car ready and assisted with the bags again and gave us waters for the ride. ( FIJI WATER - My favorite)

I can't say enough how much we enjoyed the stay!
THANK YOU

Anthony & Dana

Room Tip: Ask for a late check out they were more then accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Anthony D,

Thank you for the rave review. It was a pleasure having you and we're thrilled your experience was flawless from start to finish. Seeing a concert at Madison Square Garden is always exciting and we're glad we could add to an already amazing night. Sometimes it is the little things that can mean the most and we're elated you enjoyed the complimentary treats. We appreciate your kind remarks and we'll be sure to relay them to the rest of our devoted team. We're pleased you had an amazing stay and we'd love to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was our first time at a Gansevoort hotel and we were very pleased. I wasn't happy that our room was not ready at check in but service made up for that. Front desk was very friendly and offered us complimentary water. We waited upstairs at the pool deck bar until our room was ready. The room decor was very trendy. Large with a balcony. Bathroom was updated with seperate shower. There was ipod dock and a cappuccino maker. The king bed was the best part. It had a feather bed on it and it was so comfortable. We were on the 11th floor and I found that the room was very quiet. The only thing I heard were a few sirens in the middle of the night but nothing that kept me up. We found a restaurant called Bagel Schmear on E 28th street right around the corrner. Cheap breakfast, great bagels. They had sandwiches also that were reasonably priced. Also we parked our car over night at the lot accross from there on E 28th. It saved us $15 a night instead of paying $60 to valet at hotel. Also for dinner one night we ate at the Outback which was about 6th blocks away. I would definately stay again and I would recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disneygirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear disneygirl41,

Thank you for the lovely review. We enjoyed having you and we're elated you had a great experience. We apologize your room wasn't ready upon arrival, but we're pleased our team was able to quickly accommodate you. It's important to feel comfortable and we're glad you loved our cozy beds as well as the rest of our amenities. It's wonderful that you had a chance to explore our neighborhood and enjoy the local restaurants. We hope to have you again and we're looking forward to creating many more Manhattan memories.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was my first stay at the Gansevoort Park. I was truly not prepared for the level of service I received nor the amazing accommodations. I arrived a bit early, but was not greeted with resistance, rather a welcoming smile along with a complimentary upgrade. When I opened the door to my room, I said out loud, "You have got to be kidding me!". The room was huge with enough room to entertain, relax and work. The bathroom had a walk-in shower and a deep soaking tub. The mini-bar, though off limits to my corporate card, was very well appointed. I slept well and was not bothered by any external noises. I did not get a chance to experience the rooftop pool or bar, but plan to on my next visit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Daryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Daryl M,

Thank you for the brilliant review. It was a pleasure having you and we're thrilled your experience was nothing short of amazing. It's our priority to ensure you feel well-taken care of and we're glad you enjoyed your room upgrade and early check-in. We're happy you were able to take advantage of our features including our relaxing deep tubs and comfortable beds. On another note, our rooftop pool is a great place to cool down, while taking in our expansive views. We hope you have a chance to take a dip next time. We appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to having you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The gansevoort hotel is everything I imagined it to be! Everyone is so friendly and helpful. The hotel is extremely clean and beautiful unlike most of the hotels in the city. There is always someone available to cater to your any need. There is one bellman in particular who made my experience seamless: Marcus. Marcus is a super kind and generous man, he made sure that we were taken care of, and arranged for many perks for my friends birthday. He was super accommodating and a great asset to the hotel. Thank you Marcus for making my experience at the gansevoort one to remember.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margok555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear MargoK555,

Thank you for the outstanding review. We're sending our birthday wishes and we're glad your experience was phenomenal. It's the small details that can make a celebration memorable and we're thrilled you felt cared for by Marcus. We'll be sure to relay your compliments to him, as we know he looks forward to having you again soon. We're happy your stay surpassed expectations and we can't wait for your return.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#224 of 469 in New York City
1,849 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#134 of 469 in New York City
3,623 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#143 of 469 in New York City
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#128 of 469 in New York City
3,148 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#59 of 469 in New York City
2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016-8403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#72 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#76 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $290 - $662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing