We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a quiet neighborhood.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Ranked #87 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a quiet neighborhood.”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed here after our wedding and couldn't have been happier! Unlike their other location across town, this hotel was actually a little more relaxing and quiet without being overly stuffy or boring. The rooftop pool was great as we're the food and drinks served there. Highly recommended if you're planning a trip to NYC!

Room Tip: The balconies are kind of small and chintzy so don't base your decision on them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Marco G,

Thank you for the brilliant review and congratulations on your wedding. We're elated you had a fantastic experience and found our location to be a perfect fit for the occasion. We offer an abundance of features that appeal to a broad range of guests which include both lively activities as well as relaxing ones. Spending your day lounging by our rooftop pool is always a great option and we're glad you enjoyed doing so. We appreciate your recommendation and would love to have you during your next trip to New York City.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,468
    506
    160
    86
    59
See reviews for
381
795
122
525
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I've stayed at the Gansevoort Park many times and I'm shocked that again, they surpassed my expectations. The staff was very helpful and made everything super convenient for me. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Janelson,

Thank you for the fantastic review. It’s always a pleasure having you and we’re thrilled we continuously exceed your expectations. It’s always sad to see you go, but we look forward to your return. Until next time!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the superior room , loft suite and gansevoort suite so it was a good opportunity to compare . The gansevoort suite is of course gorgeous , there are two bathrooms , large living room / dining room with seating for 6. Ensuite has a deep bathtub . The loft suite was the worst,the bed was a double and the TV in the bedroom mounted on the side wall so it was not easy to watch, there was only one bathroom in the main bedroom so although it is marketed as being suitable for 3 adults be aware it only has a bAthroom inside the main bedroom, there is also no bathtub as advertised , the loft had about 5 closets which was strange as the bedroom and living room were really small . If some of the closet space was used for the room it would have been more comfortable . The superior room was beautiful much better than the loft suite , big king size bed and big beautiful bathroom . The location of the hotel is good for someone who liked a quiet neighbourhood . But there's nothing around the area . Next time I would stay around soho which has all the shopping and restaurants .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yebziSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear yebziSydney,

Thank you for the thorough review. We’re glad you enjoyed staying in our Gansevoort suite but deeply regret your experience in our other rooms was not up to par. We have various different room styles to accommodate all of our guests’ preferences and we apologize they didn't all suit your needs. Our reservations team will happily work with each guest to provide them with the amenities and features that work best for them. Also, our concierge is always available to provide extensive restaurant, shopping and entertainment suggestions in the area. Additionally, we do have a sister location in the Meatpacking District that is near the art galleries of Chelsea, boutique shopping in Soho and boundless nightlife right outside our door. Please feel free to contact Digital@TheGHG.com with any further questions or concerns. We hope to have you again soon at any of our locations.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Everything is great. Good service, nice people, great location, high level guests, wonderful bed. The best option that we did. We loved to stay there. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Celi B,

Thank you for the outstanding review. We’re elated you a wonderful experience and delighted that your decision lead you to us. We’re thrilled you found our service to be superb and we’ll be sure to relay your kind remarks to the rest of our team. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to take care of you again.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Had a wedding in the City,decided to make it a one night getaway. Checked in went to Asellina for lunch,we enjoyed very much. When the room was ready we were ecstatic how big and beautiful it was. We had stayed at their other property in Turks and once again Gansevoort did not disappoint! Front desk,concierge,staff were awesome! Hotel is Gorgeous! After the wedding we headed up to the roof top bar for a night cap. All in all we had a Great time!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Craig S,

Thank you for the great review. It was a pleasure having you and we’re glad your trip was flawless from check-in to check-out. Sometimes all you need is a one night getaway to relax and we’re thrilled you chose to spend yours with us. We’re happy you were pleased with our ample-sized rooms and beautiful décor. Although our New York location provides a different vibe than our Turks + Caicos property, both offer gorgeous, comfortable rooms, but the same quality service. Our rooftop bar is the perfect place to end the evening after a great day of festivities and we’re elated you enjoyed your time spent above the skyline. We’d love to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Had another excellent stay at the Another great stay at the Gansevoort Park. As per usual the staff are very good and attentive. The bar staff at the pool bar need to be called out specifically this time. They clearly put up with a lit to say the least. Can't wait to stay there the next time, hopefully this time with the family.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BlackBell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear BlackBell2014,

Thank you for the delightful review and welcome back! It's always a pleasure having you and we're thrilled you enjoyed your experience. We're glad our dedicated team continues to surpass your expectations and we'll be sure to inform them of your compliments. Thank you for noticing the hard work our bar and lounge crew puts into making each guest's rooftop experience remarkable. In addition to our pool and lounge we have a variety of amenities and attractions that are perfect for family vacations. If you choose to bring everyone along next time, feel free to stop by our concierge for suggestions and recommendations in the area. Whether you come alone or with company, we look forward to you next visit.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I have stayed here multiple times. time and time again, the service just gets better and better. From the time you check in, the front desk staff makes sure that your every need is taken care of. Always a delight when Alexander is there. Always attentive and asks if there is anything he can do to make your stay that much better. As for the amenities they are very good. A roof top bar, to the restaurant Asellina...you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swetal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Swetal71,

Thank you for the exceptional review and we wish you a warm welcome back. We appreciate your invaluable loyalty and hope to continually exceed your expectations. We will be sure to relay your kind remarks to Alexander and the rest of our dedicated team, as we know they look forward to having you again soon. Our rooftop bar is the perfect place to enjoy a drink and take in the stunning, expansive views of the cityscape. Additionally, we're glad you enjoyed Asellina’s modern take on traditional Italian cuisine. It's quite convenient to be able to take a quick elevator ride downstairs and immediately be at your dining destination. We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#205 of 467 in New York City
1,791 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#122 of 467 in New York City
3,520 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#143 of 467 in New York City
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
2,252 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#126 of 467 in New York City
3,060 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#54 of 467 in New York City
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Property: Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016-8403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#70 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#76 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing