We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel in a surprising location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royalton Park Avenue
Ranked #92 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

i was told that there was a full service hotel with nice rooms great staff heated out door pool on park ave south and 29 street place definately made the critirea the roof is amazing. the staff was helpful electronic new york times wall street journal free wifi

Room Tip: Dependeding how you book if you can request a king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harvey f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Harvey F,

Thank you for the lovely review. We are delighted you had a wonderful time and enjoyed our rooftop! Were you able to take a dip in our heated pool while up top? Our devoted team will be thrilled to know that your stay was made better by their attentive service. We can't wait to make more Manhattan memories with you!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,342 - 1,348 of 2,408 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is my hotel when I stay in New York. I must have shipped almost 20 boxes prior to arrival and they make this my home away from home! This hotel is located in the center of city near all the sights and glamorous high end shopping boutiques. It was easy and convenient to walk because everything is nearby. It's sophisticatedly designed interiors are contemporary but warm and comforting for your home away from home stay. I couldn't have been more happy with the staff! Everyone was so helpful and friendly to ensure my stay was pleasant and seamless by executing any request. They were attentive to my every need and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbrown243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear tbrown243,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. We are delighted to be your go-to hotel in New York and will do everything in our power to stay on the top of that list! Our dedicated team will be pleased to know of your kind sentiments and lovely regards. It was a pleasure having you and look forward to taking care of you upon your return.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed 3 nights for business. From arrival this hotel did not disappoint... Modern but cosy interior, staff friendly & efficient, rooms were a really good size, well appointed, clean and bed so comfortable. Requested a room move on the Saturday night due to noisy neighbors and the staff were very accommodating. The rooftop bar & pool are amazing. Would definitely return to this hotel. Special mention to Michael & Alex on reception, very friendly & helpful!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear H W,

Thank you for the wonderful review. Michael, Alex and the rest of our attentive team will be delighted to know they helped make your business trip more enjoyable. It was truly a pleasure having you and we look forward to taking care of you again.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Had a great stay, would love to be there in warm weather and use the rooftop pool. I would stay here again, close to Flatiron. The restaurant downstairs - Asselina - is very good and does room service 24 hrs. Did not have time for spa or fitness facility.

Room Tip: Loved my room at the end of the hallway. Closer to the elevator may be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsMalibu90265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear MsMalibu 90265,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're thrilled you had a lovely stay and our dedicated team exceeded your expectations. Did you know our rooftop pool is heated year round? Even when it's a bit frigid out, our pool keeps the heat. It is unfortunate you did not have time to indulge in a deep tissue massage or rejuvenating facial at the renowned Exhale Spa, however there's always next time! We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The room I had was quiet, modern, extremely clean & comfortable. The bed was extremely comfy & the staff couldn't be friendlier and more welcoming. As far as New York hotels go, this is my favorite. Great location too. I'm definitely coming back. I'm very happy I chose the Gansevoort Park Ave.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regularjoe75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Traveler D,

Thank you for the amazing feedback. Our devoted team will be pleased to hear you felt comfortable and welcomed. It is truly an honor to be your favorite New York hotel and we hope to keep providing the same level of excellent service, it not better, on your return. We look forward to taking care of you again.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Always interested in staying at the new boutique hotels in NYC and will certainly circle back to this great one. From the greeting curbside thru the lobby check out, the whole stay was fantastic. Room was noteworthy; it is quite large with a comfortable bed, clean bathrooms, and a balcony. Service was great. Try it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear William F,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're delighted that you're fond of our private balconies overlooking the city connected to our spacious rooms. We strive to provide guests with the ultimate experience with the comforts of home. We hope to create new and even more amazing Manhattan memories with you on your return!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I've been visited NYC very often lately and that was my best choice...very fancy, well located, clean, great decor, wi-fi, nice employees...I recomend...there is a fantastic roof-bar very well attended

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetillusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Sweetillusion,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are honored to be your choice NYC hotel! We're thrilled you found our rooftop to be a great spot for cocktail hour. While you were up there, did you also get a chance to take a refreshing dip in our heated pool? If not, we definitely recommend it and until then we look forward to your swift return.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#215 of 473 in New York City
1,890 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#128 of 473 in New York City
3,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Parker New York
Parker New York
#273 of 473 in New York City
5,733 reviews
Manhattan
The Dominick Hotel
The Dominick Hotel
#140 of 473 in New York City
3,193 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#47 of 473 in New York City
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton Park Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton Park Avenue

Address: 420 Park Avenue South, 29th Street Main Entrance, New York City, NY 10016-8403 (Formerly Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#61 Family Hotel in New York City
#75 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#76 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $259 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royalton Park Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royalton Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Royalton Park Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing