We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Ranked #88 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I LOVE this hotel and since coming here 2010, it is the only hotel I will stay at in New York. It's definitely trendy, but aside from the "trend" the hotel rooms are exceptional. Not only are the rooms spacious, quality amenities but the bathrooms are extremely large for NYC standards.

I have stayed in both upgraded and standard. I like both. The upgraded rooms are extra spacious with a desk area (with office supplies) and sitting area great to even host a dinner or breakfast with friends - which I have done a few times because the room service comes from Asselina (one of my favorite Italian restaurants in the city). In the upgraded rooms you get a complimentary Nespresso Machine and pods & a terrace slide window (rare for hotels in NYC). You can also request a game console if you want to play games which are complimentary.. I needed it to watch some DVDs.

I also love the plush beds and the plush bathroom robes. I always feel like I'm on vacation when I stay here even though sometimes it's for business. I especially like the service at the hotel. The front desk is extremely professional and the staff is friendly and helpful with recommendations. It's also great to be greeted by your name - extremely welcoming. The bathrooms are big, modern and the Cutler amenities are nice and gratuitous. They provide a lot of towels. The minibar is filled with fun varieties and offers all your favorite spirits. In the lobby you sometimes know when there is a party in the terrace because of the noise but when you get in your room, you cannot hear a thing & Park avenue is sound proof!

I love taking meetings at Asselina during the day. I haven't worked out at the Gansevoort yet, but I see a lot of people going there for group yoga sessions - it seems a popular place for this. I also love the location, walking distance to Union Square, the 6 train, flatiron and Gramercy and a quick taxi ride down park avenue if you are going uptown. There is also an upstairs pool, bar and terrace which I like to go to during summers.

Well done and keep up the great service & lovely rooms!

Room Tip: It's worth staying in an upgraded Deluxe Room if you are staying for more than 3 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trotsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Trotsee,

Thank you for the detailed review. We take your feedback to heart and will pass along your positive sentiments to our team. It’s great you enjoyed everything from our Egyptian Cotton sheets to our minibar offerings. Have you tried our other hotel restaurant, The Windsor? Their Sriracha honey wings are undeniably delicious. Also, you can take a dip in our heated rooftop pool even during the winter seasons. Experience the skyline views any time of year! We look forward to seeing you again.

Best,

Gansevoort Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,463
    506
    160
    86
    58
See reviews for
379
793
122
525
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The service here is exceptional, extremely courteous concierge and bell staff, very relaxing and laid back, comfortable bed and as much quiet as I think you can get in Midtown Manhattan. I'm so glad to stay here for business and I'm looking forward to coming back for family and friend fun too!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadelineDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear MadelineDuke,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We loved having you and are pleased we helped you find a bit pleasure during your business trip. Next time, be sure to check out our rooftop views as well as the tasty cuisine at Asellina. Indulge in the prosciutto pizza with black truffle and farmer’s egg paired with a glass of rich Italian wine. We’ll see you again soon!

Best,

Gansevoort Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel on business in October. Room was very spacious with an excellent bathroom. Overall feel of the hotel and staff was very trendy, but definitely guest focused. Staff was courteous and attentive throughout my stay. Great location and views as well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Todd W,

Thank you for the lovely review. We’re delighted to make your business trip positively memorable. When we see you again, we’ll happily direct you towards renowned dining options in the area. Check out Tamarind in the nearby Flatiron District for authentic Indian cuisine. Their Chicken Tikka Masala is a must try. We hope to see you in the future!

Best,

Gansevoort Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Township, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Arriving at the hotel with our family it seemed nice. Quickly it went downhill. The elevator and 10th floor reaked of pot. The rooms reaked. The partying went on for both nights. There was not anyone in authority taking care of the problems. They kept serving the party next door after complaints. There were strage girls going in a presummed bachelor party. We went to concierge she was very sassy. This is truely a springbreak type hotel. The balcony was where the party extended, which unfortunately was next to our bedroom. You can not sleep at this hotel or bring a family. As soon as you leave all your clothes have to go to the cleaners.

Room Tip: Do not go!!! Rooms with balconies good for pot heads Rooms on north side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank debramanga12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear debramanga12.

We’re thankful you took the time to review your experience with us. However, we are so disappointed to hear that your stay was disrupted and not up to our high standards. A good night’s sleep is so important, and we deeply regret you were kept up.
Your feedback concerning our concierge staff is taken very seriously, so rest assured that the appropriate measures to rectify this issue will be taken.
We offer our sincere apologies for your negative experience and hope to make it up to you next time you’re with us.
Please contact digital@theghg.com with any questions or further concerns. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Gansevoort Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I reserved two rooms at this hotel for my family (with one child) based on the room size of 370 square feet, which is hard to find in NYC with in the price range Gansevoort hotel offers. At the time of check in, the receptionist was amazingly nice and professional and the check in process was a breeze. I had contacted them by email prior to my trip to have two connecting rooms and their response were always fast and my requests for a sofa bed and connecting rooms were all met with no problem.
The bathroom size is amazingly big. The sink area has a big counter top space, also four drawers, two open spaces under the counter with a big cabinet under the sink. I always had problems with small bathrooms in Manhattan hotels with my make ups and hair irons, and other beauty products. I can not emphasize enough how good the bathroom size was. The bed were comfortable too. We didn't have out of ordinary noise problems. We were on level 7.
We enjoyed the bar on top floor as well as Asselina restaurant was nice too as before.
Even though it was cold during our trip in November, some people were using the heated pool on the roof. At time of check in and check out we got the same Bell man, Chris who was super nice and assisted us with so many luggages and bags we had to put in the Cab with no problem and not attitude. Over all, I love this hotel and will most definitely stay there because of the service we received the comfortableness of the room size. Also,just across the street on Park Ave, there is this supermarket self service style restaurant that you can buy water bottles, fruits, and so many other stuff you may need if you have kids. Also all the hotel professional photos on their website as well as travelers photos show exactly how the hotel is.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Nic J,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We’re thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed our sizable rooms and seamless service. If you stay with us again we’ll point you towards even more New York opportunities. Spend a family evening in the nearby Theater District. See one of the many renowned Broadway shows and enjoy a fulfilling dinner at John’s Pizza. Their famous pies are located inside a historical church with entrancing stained glass décor.We hope you visit Manhattan again soon!

Best,

Gansevoort Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I agree with all of the positive previous reviews - all of the creature comforts are definitely there and the location is fantastic but what sets the GPANYC apart from most other hotels is the service. Whenever there was a small problem with something working or with needing something, the response time was very good, and the people were friendly about doing the service. Though it seems to have a snobbish vibe, it isn't - very comfortable and nice.

Room Tip: make reservation early and request a room not too close to the rooftop bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkermom34438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear parkermom34438,

Thank you for the great review. We’re thrilled you enjoyed everything and will pass your thoughtful sentiments along to our team. We hope you had a chance to check out our scenic rooftop views and delicious food options. Be sure to indulge in an Asellina brunch next time you’re in the area. The Italian toast with fresh ricotta and cinnamon apple is the perfect way to begin any day. We wish you the best and hope you return soon!

Sincerely,

Gansevoort Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is on Park Avenue, and is a roughly 20 minute walk from Central Park. There is a rooftop pool and bar, from which you can see the Empire State Building a couple of blocks away. The rooms are nice and we had floor to ceiling windows. The staff are friendly and helpful. There are a lot of restaurants nearby and cabs are plentiful to get to anywhere on Manhattan.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 37SueF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear 37SueF,

Thank you for the lovely review. We’re thrilled your overall experience was one to remember. We’ll continue to provide the "High-Life" on our rooftop for every stay. If you stay with us again, we’ll lead you towards top restaurants in the area. Enjoy an evening at the French brasserie Les Halles located right across the street. Try the delectable mussels steamed in white wine, tomato and chorizo for an unforgettable dining experience. We hope to see you again!

Best,

Gansevoort Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#204 of 466 in New York City
1,787 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#120 of 466 in New York City
3,513 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#131 of 466 in New York City
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#53 of 466 in New York City
2,241 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#55 of 466 in New York City
965 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#125 of 466 in New York City
3,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Property: Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016-8403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#71 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#77 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#97 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing