We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, hip, luxurious hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Ranked #77 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful, hip, luxurious hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed here with two friends for a long weekend. The lobby has beautiful modern furniture with a lovely fireplace. Just around the corner from the lobby (connected) is a full service restaurant (very nice and hip) and around the other side, connected, is a full service bar and lounge. On the two top floors are bars (3 or 4 in all). The outdoor pool and lounge is very nice. You don't find too many of those in NY! Our room had two double beds and was plenty spacious. The bathroom was great!! Tons of storage shelves and cabinets and the shower was so nice that none of us wanted to end our shower. The water pressure was great. The room had a fully stocked bar and then some! The staff came by to ask if we needed ice early in the evening. I suppose lots of people enjoy cocktails before they go out. Nice touch. Late evening the bars on the top levels really get rocking. They have bouncers and elevator operators to keep the crowds in check. There is a special elevator used late night for that crowd. Rest assured, if that is not your scene you will not even know it is going on, as it is separate from the main lobby. Now, one thing you must do is get a massage at the Exhale Spa (located on the 3rd floor). It was, by far, the BEST massage my friends and I have ever had. That's saying a lot, because we've traveled to many places to have massages and we were all blown away. I will definitely return!

Room Tip: We had room that was on the 5th floor and sort of close to the corner of the street and it was noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear AKMonty,

Thank you for the lovely review. We truly appreciate your sentiments and will pass them along to our team. It’s wonderful you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we’ll continue to provide positively memorable experiences for you to indulge in. Next time, we’ll point you towards new experiences in the city. Check out renowned restaurants in the nearby Flatiron District for delectable dining. ABC Kitchen is one of our favorites – their kasha and bowtie pasta with black truffles, fresh mozzarella and parmesan will leave you wanting more. The opportunities go on and on! We look forward to your return.

Best,

Gansevoort Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,426
    496
    154
    82
    56
See reviews for
366
772
117
517
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our staying at Gansevoort,This hotel is clean, comfortable and in a very good location! Far enough from away from the tourist area. Close to Empire state buildin and Union square.
The staff is always nice and helpful...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fammexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear fammexico,

Thank you for the great review. We’re thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed your time here and will pass along your compliments to our team. If you stay with us again we’ll point you towards more great opportunities to take advantage of. Check out the nearby Eataly for high-end Italian goods. Stroll through the many aisles or indulge in a meal at one of the authentic eateries. We hope to see you again!

Best,

Gansevoort Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

From the moment we walked through the door, we were pleased with our choice of hotel. The entire staff was immensely helpful, courteous and friendly, and although I arrived very early on my check in day, I was accommodated and an amazing room was found for me! The room was large, comfortable and very clean. The bathroom is contemporary and the robes were plush. The location was just the right distance from uptown and downtown- and only a block from the subway. The rooms need more light in the sitting area, hallway and bathroom. We travel to NYC several times a year, and I am looking forward to going back.

Merrill and Steve

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merrill d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Merrill and Steve,

Thank you for the lovely review. We’re thrilled with your sentiments and look forward to providing another memorable vacation in New York City for you! Our location truly is ideal and next time we’ll lead you towards even more opportunities. Be sure to stroll through the famous Eataly for an authentic Italian experience. Shop for fresh goods, dine at the rooftop restaurant, La Birreria and more! There’s never a dull moment in the city that never sleeps and we strive to create everlasting memories. Currently, we’re working on additional lighting amenities and appreciate your feedback. We look forward to your return.

Best,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Staying at GPNYC will make you feel young!! The staff is friendly cheerful and helpful!! The guest rooms are tasteful and spacious! Bathrooms are well appointed. Sometimes the best value for the price. The towels need replacing and the lighting in the bathroom and hallway needs to be updated. Hopefully this will be done soon!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Mindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Mindy W,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re delighted you enjoyed our welcoming staff and comfortable rooms. We value your feedback regarding the towels and lighting, and will make it heard. In fact, we’re working on enhancing our bathroom amenities to provide a better-lit space. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san Diego
Level Contributor
90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was a little skeptical about the hotel package I purchased from Orbitz... BUT, I was very pleased. The staff is very friendly from the time you get out of the cab. I was very impressed how courteous the staff was, no matter what time we returned to the hotel, there was always someone there to greet you and get you the next elevator. The room was very cute, the bed was fantasticlly comfortable! I really liked the location of the hotel, it was close to the subway and the Empire State Building. The hotel was far enough away from the tourist area, it was perfect.
I cannot say enough about the staff, everyone was so nice and helpful. I will be coming back to this hotel next year for another awesome experiance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Danielle C,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We’re thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and will pass along your sentiments to our dedicated team. We want each and every guest to have a special experience and we’re glad your stay was one to remember. Next time, check out some of the renowned cuisine located in the nearby Flatiron District. Try Craft for fresh farm-to-table food. Their menu changes seasonly – the pumpkin agnolotti is an autumn favorite. We hope you make it back to the Big Apple soon!

Best,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Nice enough hotel. The room was very attractive and the staff helpful and professional. However, the lack of light in the room was a major drawback, especially in the evening. For example, there was a couch in the room, but as soon as the sun went down reading on the couch was out of the question. The desk lighting was dim. The lighting on the bathroom counter was not really enough for applying make-up. If you stay at this hotel, bring your own lamps.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank judyanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear judyanddavid,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re thrilled you enjoyed our décor and friendly team. If you stay with us again, housekeeping will be happy to provide additional lighting for a brighter ambiance. Also, we’ll point you towards exciting opportunities to take advantage of while in the city. For example, the famous Eataly is just a ten-minute walk away. You’ll find the highest quality Italian ingredients and can indulge in a meal at Manzo Ristorante or Birreria. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Hotel beds should be comfy. Esp at $500/night + tax! The pillow top on this bed is soft but the coils are rock hard so you sink right through onto a rock hard surface. I felt back pain as soon as I laid down. Couldn't find a comfortable position. Tried asking for another room or a mattress pad but the front desk never got back to me. After tossing and turning all night, woke up twisted into a pretzel and feeling sore all over. If you can't get a comfortable night's sleep, nothing else really matters.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigi_xoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Gigi_xoxo,

Thank you for the review. We sincerely apologize for the lack of comfort you experienced. We agree that a good night’s sleep is crucial and we’re disappointed you were uncomfortable. We are immediately looking into the issue with the front desk to ensure responsive service. If you decide to stay with us again, our reservations team will do their best to place you in a sleeping arrangement that better suits your wishes. Please contact digital@theghg.com with any questions or further concerns. Thank you.

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#208 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,440 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#47 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Property: Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016-8403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#61 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#77 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#97 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing