We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smooth hotel with the best roof!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Ranked #77 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smooth hotel with the best roof!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Days in NY is always a pleasure, but after a lot of walking is arriving back to the hotel's friendly staff at the hotel's roof terrace is a great value for us. Highly recommended place to stay in NY!

Breakfast can you order at the Italian restaurant, its always cold - but with friendly service!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olav L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Olav L,

Thank you for the review. We’re glad you found comfort in our hotel – it’s always nice to get away from the bustle of the city streets. Our rooftop is just the place to retreat and sit back with a couple of refreshing cocktails. In terms of your breakfast from Asellina, we apologize it wasn’t served at the proper temperature and will look into this issue with The One Group management team immediately. We need to be sure your frittata is served to perfection! Hope to see you again soon.

Best,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,414
    487
    153
    82
    56
See reviews for
359
764
116
512
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was a total surprise!!! The yung and energetic staff from the front desk to the door men/ bell boys were so very attentive and helpful! The restaruants really great, and the bars fun and very busy. It is very "young", but we felt very welcome even though we are quite a bit "up there".
Love the area.....

Room Tip: Chose one not close to the bar on the terrace , canbe noisy on weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Gia K,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We’re pleased with your numerous compliments and will pass them along to our team. Although our rooftop crowd is young at heart, we welcome all ages and are delighted you enjoyed yourself. The views are unbeatable and the cocktails are quenching. Next time you visit, try our popular Darlene Bubbles for a sparkling refreshment. Our concierge team will also point you towards more nearby dining and nightlife destinations you may want to try – the opportunities are endless in the city that never sleeps!

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
212 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is the sister hotel of the main Gansevoort in Meat Packing. Got a good rate via Founders Card. Hotel is on Park & 29th so well located. Lots of eating options around (but only till 1030 PM). Late nights you will have to go to Union Square.

Room is decent size considering its NYC. We have twin beds and both of our beds and bags fit nicely in the room. Free WiFi.

Great rooftop scene. As a hotel guest you have complimentary entry. The place packs up quickly at night. As expected, drinks are steep.

This hotel is worth repeating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear VCG,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We love providing quality deals to Founderscard members and are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Next time you visit, we’ll point you towards more late night dining options. Try Sushi Samba or The Hurricane Club, both just a few blocks down Park Avenue, for delicious Asian fusion cuisine. You’ll find great food and trendy vibes! We look forward to seeing you again.

Best,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed at the Gansevoort in Meatpacking a couple of years ago and Park Avenue is like its grown up big brother. The hotel has all the coolness of its Meatpacking sister but is more sophisticated with less of a party atmosphere, although the rooftop bar has a great vibe and fantastic views of Manhattan. The staff were excellent and the standard of service was exceptionally high. My room was large with a big bathroom and all the fittings you would expect. I loved both the Gansevoort hotels in NYC and would be torn between the two if I was choosing one of them again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a wrap-around terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StreamsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear StreamsUK,

Thank you for the wonderful review. It’s true – both of our New York City properties are in prime locations for shopping, restaurants and more. We’re thrilled you thoroughly enjoy spending time at our hotels and look forward to your future stays with us. Next time you’re at our Park Avenue property, we’ll suggest places you won’t want to miss. For example, check out Jean Georges’s award winning cuisine at ABC Kitchen right in the Flatiron District. Try the Skuna Bay salmon with sweet peas, shoots and chili oil. The opportunities are endless. We look forward to your next visit.

Best,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I visited the hotel Gansevoort Park for some drinks with friends. The hotel is centrally located so it was a convenient place for all of us to meet. We went to the rooftop bar which has a spectacular view of the New York City skyline (and a fancy pool). Definitely a great place to check out if you are looking for an outdoor drink spot.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Stephanie S,

Thank you for the lovely review. We’re delighted you stopped by for cocktails and experienced the captivating city views from our rooftop. If you stay with us, you can enjoy the heated pool year-round! Next time you’re in the area check out our modern Italian restaurant, Asellina. Stop by for the half-off happy hour or indulge in a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner. The baked lasagna with a three meat ragu, besciamella, nutmeg and parmigiano is mouthwateringly good. Pair it with a glass of Chianti and you’re set! We hope to see you in the future.

Best,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I am a 13 year old male. This hotel failed me considering what I could do. The rooftop pool closed at 6:00pm and then was opened to the public as a bar. The view was of an amazing dumpster alley. And the room tantalized us with food. It was THREE DOLLARS FOR A FREAKIN FUNSIZE MILKY-WAY! What the hell.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AfroZack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear AfroZach,

Thank you for the review. We are disappointed in your dissatisfaction with your stay and apologize our services did not suit your needs. We hope you were at least able to enjoy the pool and rooftop views during the morning or afternoon hours. We love having guests of all ages and the younger crowd is certainly not lower on our priorities. If you have a change of heart we would love to see you again and will point you towards activities both in the hotel and around the city that may interest you. Please contact digital@theghg.com with any further questions or concerns. Thank you.

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was extremely impressed with this hotel and especially the level of service we received from everyone that worked there. As a travel agent, I work with many hotels and the service was exceptional, something sadly lacking at many hotels! The front desk was extremely accommodating and over the top helpful. We had a small issue with our bath tub and the response time was so quick! They even did a follow up phone call to make sure everything was working properly. I have zero complaints regarding the hotel, the hotel service, the breakfast, the rooftop bar, and the location. I would recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Allison M,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We’re blushing with your compliments and will pass them along to the rest of our team. Since you’re a travel agent, it’s great to hear we stand out from the average hotel experience. We strive to provide top-notch service and are delighted you noticed this first hand with the bathtub issue. We’re sure your recommendations mean a lot and we hope to see you here again as well. On your next trip here, we suggest dining at Almond in the bustling Flatiron District. This rustic American-French bistro serves market-fresh dishes in a casually elegant atmosphere. Try the goat cheese ravioli with fava beans, buttered leeks, pistachios and marjoram. We hope to see you soon!

Best,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#206 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,418 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Property: Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016-8403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#61 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#98 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing