We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, Service and Rooms!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Ranked #77 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, Service and Rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just loved this place. The staff was first rate and the rooms were beautiful. Very cutting edge modern. We enjoyed the location, which was a short walk to lots of parks, and great restaurants. This hotel is really edgy modern, which is kind of fun in a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Kathryn T,

Thank you for the great review. We’re thrilled you enjoy the modern and unique qualities of our hotel and will pass along your sentiments to our team. If you stay with us again, our concierge will inform you of the top places to eat and indulge in for a good time. We recommend checking out the renowned ABC Kitchen in the Flatiron District. It's walking distance away and a trendy place to spend an evening. Be sure to try the guacamole and sautéed mushroom tacos. Also, their mango margarita will get the evening started on the right note. The dining opportunities are endless! We hope to see you again.

Best,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,414
    488
    153
    82
    56
See reviews for
359
765
116
512
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel offers very good value. It also is one of my favorite locations in NYC because it is so central to everything. The decor is a littly tacky and cheesy for my taste, but for the price it will do.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CDUB212121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear CDUB212121,

Thank you for the review. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, our Midtown location is prime and nearby the Flatiron District, Times Square, Fifth Avenue shopping and much more! If you stay with us again our concierge team will point you towards new and exciting options to discover in the city that never sleeps. We hope to see you in the future.

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Gansevoort Park Avenue tries to be hip, stylish and cool. While my husband and I don’t normally seek out such places when traveling with our young sons, ages 5 and 9, we thought we would give this place a try since they offer relatively large rooms and have a rooftop pool – a treat, certainly, in the summer in the city. The one bedroom suite lived up to our expectations. It was very large and decorated in a modern colorful way. The two bathrooms were stunning. We were very happy with the comfortable bed and nice linens. On this front the hotel scores high.

Now to the pool. What is not immediately obvious from the photos is that the pool is basically half indoors and half outdoors, with minimal seating available for those of us who like to sit in the sun. The music grows louder as the afternoon progresses, which can be annoying if you are not in the mood. On the days we were there all the seats in the sun were spoken for and the pool attendant wasn’t interested in monitoring the situation or helping with towels, etc. This is not the type of place where the staff escorts you to your chaise and places the towels for you. Basically you are on your own.

It probably is best that we were not interested in ordering food or beverages during the two afternoons and one morning that we were there because the very limited wait staff were hard to find. Not once was I ever asked if I wanted anything by anyone. The waitresses in their skimpy outfits seemed much more interested in congregating at the inside bar (which you must walk through to access the pool area) and socializing with the bartenders. They really couldn’t be bothered. Really.

And if you are in a party mood and think you want to visit a place where the beautiful people hang out, I am sorry to say you will probably be disappointed too. While we were there the area seemed more full of underage teenage girls trying to look old enough to drink.

Unfortunately, the lack of service at the pool is indicative of what we experienced in basically all aspects of our stay. When we arrived by taxi there was no doorman to greet us and no bell service at all. Even though we had requested an early check in, we had to wait a few hours for our room. As part of our package we were to receive a new robe for us to keep. This was communicated to the hotel at booking and I inquired about this at check-in. Several telephone calls later I still didn’t have my robe. Finally upon speaking with the manager (a very nice woman who couldn’t have been more lovely) I was brought another robe on a hanger and assured that it was “fresh” and “brand new”…even though it just as easily could have been one out of the laundry. I had to take their word for it. Fair enough, but kind of strange.

Also, even though I requested in person that the fold out couch in the living room be made into a bed for my boys while we were at dinner, and I was told that it would be done as a matter of course during turn down service…of course it wasn’t. A few more phone calls were necessary before it finally was taken care of.

On our last morning I couldn’t locate the hair dryer in the bathroom and asked for one to be sent up. After waiting for approximately ten minutes, housekeeping arrived with two hair brushes for me!

On the day of our departure we left our bags with the bellman for a few hours, only to return and realize that we perhaps had left our phone charger in the room. The desk attendant said she would follow up with housekeeping and I asked her to call me either way. Of course I never heard a peep.

Sorry to say we probably won’t be back. There are a lot of nice hotels in Manhattan and we will be staying where service is not an afterthought.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PartridgeSheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotels location is awesome. Staff is incredibly responsive. Rooms are wonderful. And the bar scene is inviting and fun. And a roof top pool!! A much better value for the buck than other 5 star hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Benjamin B,

Thank you for the lovely review. We’re happy our team, amenities and location made your stay worthwhile and one to remember. Since you enjoyed the nightlife at our rooftop pool, next time check out our hotel bar and eatery, The Windsor. It serves American bar classics with a European twist, and is a great place to watch a game or kick off the evening. On Wednesdays their Burgers and Bubbles special lets you enjoy a burger and two draft beers for only $25! We hope to see you again!


Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The common areas are looking a bit tired but the room was excellent as was the service and warm and friendly attitude of all the staff. The Gym and spa facilities are excellent. The rooftop pool bar is overrated and the furnishings and space needs an extreme makeover. The restaurant is great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seanmage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Seanmage,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re delighted you enjoyed your room and positive interaction with our team. Exhale Spa is a blissful place to relax and spend time unwinding. Try one of their signature massages or Core Fusion classes for an escape from the bustling city streets. We are disappointed that you did not take a huge liking to our rooftop décor, however we hope you took in the incredible views of the cityscape, including the Empire State Building. You can also grab a bite to eat from our rooftop menu while lounging. The Grilled Chicken Sliders with fontina, avocado, tomato and cilantro are a perfect poolside snack. We hope you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have stayed at more than a few hotels in New York, both uptown and downtown, depending on our in-town plans. This was our first stay half way in between and we loved it. From the moment we pulled up, the service was great - friendly, helpful, accommodating. We were already starting to relax into the weekend when we were ushered up to a lovely room with a comfortable bed and a fabulous bathroom, and we settled in. Convenient to the subway, and easy cab fare to either SoHo or Midtown, the location was perfect. There were some great restaurants within walking distance, and, when we didn't want to walk anymore, the restaurant at the hotel was yummy as well. We are already looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Laura N,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are pleased to hear about your positive stay and will pass along your sentiments to our team. As you said, our location is ideal for visitors and provides endless opportunities. Next time check out one a Broadway show followed by a stroll through the brilliant Times Square and a meal at one of Midtown’s renowned restaurants. We love John’s Pizza in the Theater District – it’s in an old church and serves mouth-watering slices. Our rooftop pool and lounge is also something you can check out while indulging in a signature cocktail and panoramic view. We too, are looking forward to your next visit. Don't stay away too long!

Best,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great hotel, floor to ceiling glass in the rooms, some small patios you can step out on, super comfortable beds, great linens, superior service. My room was an excellent size for New York City, where space is at a premium and goes for a pretty price in hotels. Nice people who in two days remembered who I was and what I needed.
I was there for business and thus the location was where I needed to be. If sight seeing or even a nice walk is what you have in mind, there are other spots in more interesting locations in the city. The sister hotel in the Meat Packing District would be good, for example if you like the nightlife.
5 stars except for the location, not far from the Empire State Building and close to not much else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1TravelDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear 1TravelDragon,

Thank you for the review. We’re thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed our rooms and hotel amenities during your business trip. Although our Park Avenue property is located in midtown, we bring a touch of the downtown vibe to the area with our lively rooftop pool and lounge. Also, the nearby Flatiron District is full of renowned restaurant and bar options. One of our favorites is the new and trendy ABC Cocina where you can find eclectic Spanish tapas and a twist on classic cocktails. If you stay with us again our concierge team will tell you more about places like this around our property. We hope to see you in the future!

Best,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#206 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,418 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Property: Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016-8403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#61 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#98 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing