We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Park Ave with a Twist” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Ranked #74 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Park Ave with a Twist”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Located in a slightly undiscovered corner of NYC near midtown, Murray Hill and Madison Square Park, this modern high rise hotel is a very hip, stylish addition to the neighborhood. Though sort of nowhere specific, it is surprisingly convenient to many areas and subway lines.

My room on the 14th floor was spacious and done in a combination of industrial grey and bright accents of white and magenta. There was an open city view of rooftops, but plenty of light. Decor was very trendy, though over time I'm not sure how well it will age, style-wise. As far as comfort goes, it was great. Great bedding, excellent closet space (especially for NYC) and a beautiful bathroom with plentiful amenities. For those interested in baths, there's a huge tub for soaking, not just the usual shower so often found in the city.

The rooftop pool and lounge deserve mention, as a positive or negative depending on your viewpoint. You can't avoid them entirely, since the club music played on the roof echoes all the way down the elevator shafts to serenade you as you wait for the car to arrive. Both are beautiful, but do draw crowds and lobby traffic to negotiate later in the evening. This makes entrances and exits for the hotel guests at busy times a bit of a challenge. On the (early) evening I was there, the bartender was friendly but seemed overwhelmed by the drinks menu. She had to consult the menu to see what ingredient to add to the shaker. She kind of gave up when she realized she lacked a key ingredient in the drink I ordered, so I opted for the simpler cosmo. She spilled it while decanting it. She cheerfully poured the remainder in a clean glass. Again, her attitude was fine, but this is not really acceptable for the price paid. Despite the views, it was a "one drink and go" experience.

Beyond that, the hotel component was delightful and I could heartily recommend it to anyone willing to stay slightly off the beaten path, but still be in a surprisingly convenient area.

Room Tip: For once you might not want the very highest floors in the hotel to avoid the noise from the rooftop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear DeanPork,

Thank you for the detailed review. We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed your room as well as the pleasures of our rooftop pool and lounge. We will look into your rooftop experience to ensure that our patrons are receiving exceptional service that exceeds expectations. With the summer season comes bustling rooftop night life, but there are always alternative options. If you stay with us again, be sure to indulge in some wonderful Italian cuisine and cocktails at Asellina, located in our hotel. How about their Margherita Pizza and Red Sangria? It’s convenient and absolutely delicious. Our concierge team is also happy to point you towards other evening options in the restaurant-rich area. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,


@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,414
    486
    153
    82
    56
See reviews for
359
764
116
512
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elmwood Park, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Beautiful Hotel, exceptional staff. First we want to thank Talia in reservations and also thank Michael at the front desk, both Talia & Michael went out of their way to make sure our weekend getaway was exceptional. Our room was upgraded and we were welcomed with a bottle of champagne the first evening. Food in the restaurant was wonderful, no need to go anywhere else for dinner. Can't wait to go back!!

Sal & Donna C.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sal3c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Sal and Donna,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We will pass on the compliments to Talia and Michael – they will be pleased you had an extraordinary stay. Along with dinner, Asellina offers a delicious brunch with homemade frittata, wood-fire baked eggs and much more. Our concierge team is also happy to recommend food options outside our walls if you decide to try something new. We hope you come back for more!

Best,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldwick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nice designs and accessories used in the hotel and the rooms; very friendly people and excellent facilities. Great pool bar on top of the building, really New York city life feeling. All together a great and relaxing experience to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Karin1905,

Thank you for the review. We’re pleased to hear you appreciated our unique interior as well as our gorgeous rooftop overlooking the majestic Empire State Building. To create ultimate relaxation, try an Exhale Spa yoga class or a deep-tissue massage during your next visit. It will be the cherry on top of an already amazing NYC experience. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have now stayed at this hotel several times and never seems to disappoint. The service is top notch and front desk always welcomes you.
The rooms are super clean and luxurious with great character. I have stayed in other hotels in the Manhattan, and the Gans Park has the largest rooms I have seen.
And when hungry, you cant go wrong with the homemade pasta at Asellina. I always want more after i finish it.
The pool on the roof has a great view and awesome for people watching. Its not huge, but it is Manhattan so what do you expect!
And, I always make sure I get a chance to go the the club upstairs for some more people watching and dancing.
The hotel has much more character than the major chains and more personality. While it's not a super high end Ritz (and has better rates than the Ritz), it's definitely my choice.

Room Tip: try to get one of the rooms with the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToddNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear ToddNewYork_NY,

Thank you for the review. We’re thrilled you enjoyed every aspect of our Park property. If you choose to stay with us again, our concierge team would be delighted to inform you of even more opportunities at our hotel and surrounding area. Perhaps you’d be interested in an Exhale Spa signature Core Fusion class, or a relaxing massage. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

hotel is gorgeous and up to date in style and technology its a great place to go in the summer and one of the few places that has a sun deck and a pool on a hot Saturday u must get to the pool early or u will find urself without a seat and then have to go up to sundeck where they have a great bar friendly staff and amazing drinks they even had a slush maker with alcoholic beverages and that was perfection on the hot day that I was there great hotel all in all also a bonus the club and bars that they have upstairs is absolutely amazing the red room a little more exclusive but def worth getting in great music great pool and great hotel def try this one out

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobby m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear bobby m,

Thank you for the great review. We’re pleased you were able to take advantage of our rooftop, sun deck, and breath-taking view from up top. Next time you make it over perhaps you’d be interested in trying our infamous alcoholic snow cones – a reviving combination of crushed ice, fruit juice and rum. We hope you make it back up for more day or night time fun this summer!

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Love this place Christmas trip in a beautiful suite was amazing. Our Suite had 2 bathrooms & a small balcony. We stayed @ this Gansevoort Christmas 2011 & 2012 as well a several other times. Its a beautiful modern hotel with modern furniture & decor. The holiday decorations made it festive & cheery. The nighclubs & great location made our stay comfortable & fun. The Gansevoort is pet friendly so we brought our Pomeranian Koda got his very own bed & treats from the staff

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Deven T,

Thank you for the review. We’re delighted we made your holiday even more special. Since you enjoyed our nightlife during the winter, you should check out our rooftop lounge and pool during the summer season! Stop by anytime for Wednesday Liquid Summer Sessions or brunch and cocktails on Saturday afternoons – and of course, bring Koda along! We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just finished a fabulous weekend away with my wife in NY made all the more special by our stay at the Gansevoort NYC.
The staff were exemplary, the room fantastic, the ambience electric. A special mention and thank you must be made to the lovely Jane, the hotel's concierge, who was amazing and possibly the best concierge I have come accross.
Jamie - London

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimbobpolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear jimbobpolo,

Thank you for the review! Jane is a great member of our team – she will be pleased to hear your positive feedback. We’re sure she pointed you in the right direction as our location is prime for a variety of cuisines such a authentic Indian, Italian and Korean, just to name a few. We hope you visit again soon!

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#206 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,416 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#46 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Property: Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016-8403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#59 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#98 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing