We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Interesting place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Ranked #84 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

A new breed of hotel with lots of "sensual" elements in the room and bar. Quite fun actually but be aware this is not your grandmas place. Windows everywhere in the room. You feel like a fist in a fish bowl or an exhibitionist! Service is young and casual. The bar attracts an in crowd. I prefer the one at the Meat packing district, but this is a good option for NYC.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zpd2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear zpd2012,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are always striving to improve upon the experience of every guest and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves in our floor to ceiling windows that highlight the NYC landscape. We also have blackout curtains so you can get some shut-eye and private time. We'd love to see you again.

Best,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,346
    470
    148
    81
    54
See reviews for
341
733
115
494
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint James, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The room was beautiful and well kept. The bed was very comfortable and the black out curtains were great. It was great to go upstairs to the lounge and have a few drinks with friends and just take the elevator back to your room. Loved the location and I look forward to staying here in a few weeks for a wedding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jks39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Jks39,

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It was truly a pleasure having you and we look forward to your return in a couple weeks. Let the good times roll!

Best,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We decided to stay at the Gansevoort Park Avenue for our Anniversary on the recommendation I received from my Magellan Vacations rep. He set everything up and when we checked in, the Gansevoort staff took over. The one specific thing that we wanted when we booked at the Gansevoort was a soaking tub in our bathroom. When I reminded the girl who was checking us in, she said that the room they were planning on giving us didn't have one. She went in the back to fix it immediately and actually took us upstairs and gave us a choice of two beautiful rooms with soaking bathtubs!!! All clean, neat, gorgeous and very SEXY!! They were so accommodating! Every single staff person that we encountered was smiling and nice.
You do have to call downstairs to get ice but every time we did it only took 5 minutes for it to arrive. Same when we asked for extra towels. Thank you for that!

***Notes about the pool - The pool is indoor/outdoor and very cute! Its not full size... but its fine. You can cool yourself off in it! It's a roof top pool in NY!

Julia helped out out when we left!! Everything was wonderful! Thank you, thank you! Find out who the nice girl was who checked us in and thank her too!! Even all the bell guys were great...smiling, happy and always something nice to say! Great job!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ceomeginc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear ceomeginc,

First off, happy anniversary! We're glad to have been a part of your wonderful milestone and our staff will be happy to hear that they could help make your stay positively memorable. It was truly a pleasure having you and we hope to see your smiling face again. Thank you for sharing your amazing experience.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

ideal location - plenty of restaurants attractions within walking distance. Staff helpful, hotel had everything we wanted, mini bar pricey, be warned! would definitely stay again. Room fine, double deluxe. Staying with daughter.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 11th floor this was far enough away from the rooftop bar, beds comfy slept fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Sally,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Even though your trip was short, we are happy to know that you enjoyed you stay with your daughter. Did you know we are walking distance from Madison Square Park? Spring is a beautiful time to visit. We're delighted that you will be coming back. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tai di Cadore, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Beautiful Hotel with great services and fantastic rooms. All the staff is incredible and the
speed and the care and the attention thei put into their job is amazing !!
Special congratulations to desk and concierge teams, absolutely fantastic and very very professional.

Room and room service in general absolutely at top level.

The Asellina Restausant is excellent and the food ( both Dinners and Breakfast ) were perfect !

Spa: Amazing !! Have to try !
Gym: Very well equipped, a little small but nice !

Room Tip: Ask for 29th street view, from there you can easily see the Empire State !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiore D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Fiore,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We will be sure to let our deserving staff know that they helped make your trip even more splendid. We're glad you were able to take advantage of Exhale Spa and our gym. Maybe next time you can try our heated rooftop pool overlooking the NYC skyline. It was truly a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We chose this Hotel because of having a pool in NYC. We were disappointed with the Hotel overall. The first room they gave us was very small with no shower. We asked to change and were given a much better room. Breakfast was not included and was expensive. You had to have it in the Hotel's Italian restaurant and it was of poor standard for the price. Would not return to this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a shower!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieA153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear MelanieA153,

We appreciate your feedback. There seems to be a misunderstanding since we have showers in every room, however we are glad you were able to receive a room that better fits your needs. Should you decide to visit us again, we would like the opportunity to surpass your expectations. For questions, please contact digital@gansevoorthotelgroup.com.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
175 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Nice staff, but I you are a more mature traveler and don't feel like staying in college dorm then look elsewhere . Broken furniture, no drawer space...twenty something's roaming the halls at midnight...Nuff said.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hockeyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear hockeyeh,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are disappointed that your stay did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will look into your concerns to provide the best possible service for our guests. Should you choose to stay with us again, we would love the opportunity to go above and beyond your needs. For questions, please feel free to contact digital@gansevoorthotelgroup.com.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#209 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#101 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,296 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#63 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#35 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#39 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Property: Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016-8403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#98 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing