We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best Hotel we could have choosen for out staying in NYC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Ranked #83 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Tai di Cadore, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Hotel we could have choosen for out staying in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Beautiful Hotel with great services and fantastic rooms. All the staff is incredible and the
speed and the care and the attention thei put into their job is amazing !!
Special congratulations to desk and concierge teams, absolutely fantastic and very very professional.

Room and room service in general absolutely at top level.

The Asellina Restausant is excellent and the food ( both Dinners and Breakfast ) were perfect !

Spa: Amazing !! Have to try !
Gym: Very well equipped, a little small but nice !

Room Tip: Ask for 29th street view, from there you can easily see the Empire State !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiore D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Fiore,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We will be sure to let our deserving staff know that they helped make your trip even more splendid. We're glad you were able to take advantage of Exhale Spa and our gym. Maybe next time you can try our heated rooftop pool overlooking the NYC skyline. It was truly a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,346
    470
    148
    81
    53
See reviews for
340
733
115
494
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We chose this Hotel because of having a pool in NYC. We were disappointed with the Hotel overall. The first room they gave us was very small with no shower. We asked to change and were given a much better room. Breakfast was not included and was expensive. You had to have it in the Hotel's Italian restaurant and it was of poor standard for the price. Would not return to this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a shower!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieA153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear MelanieA153,

We appreciate your feedback. There seems to be a misunderstanding since we have showers in every room, however we are glad you were able to receive a room that better fits your needs. Should you decide to visit us again, we would like the opportunity to surpass your expectations. For questions, please contact digital@gansevoorthotelgroup.com.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
175 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Nice staff, but I you are a more mature traveler and don't feel like staying in college dorm then look elsewhere . Broken furniture, no drawer space...twenty something's roaming the halls at midnight...Nuff said.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hockeyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear hockeyeh,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are disappointed that your stay did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will look into your concerns to provide the best possible service for our guests. Should you choose to stay with us again, we would love the opportunity to go above and beyond your needs. For questions, please feel free to contact digital@gansevoorthotelgroup.com.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Cool even by New York standards. Friendly and professional staff. The room was exceptional. Room service prompt and courteous. Housekeeping courteous with turn down service discreetly when you are out of the room not as you are taking a shower to go out as many hotels do. Beautiful roof top bar and pool. Upgrade to a room with a terrace. A terrace in New York City is almost impossible to find. I am in NYC about every 6 weeks so I plan on making the Gansevoort my home away from home!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindar-03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear cinder-03,

We're very pleased that your enjoyed your stay and flattered that we can be your home away from home. Maybe on your next visit, you can check out Exhale Spa and indulge in a relaxing massage or facial. We can't wait to see you again. Thank you for your review.

Best,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The last minute I booked a 50th Birthday Vacation at the Gansevoort Park Avenue, Talia in reservations was amazing, described the hotel perfectly. Staff very friendly and accommadating . Hotel restaurant was great for lunch. Roof top club and bar a lot of fun, beautiful atmosphere!!!
rooms very clean

Room Tip: all rooms beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dedeag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear XX,

First off, Happy Birthday! We will be sure to let Talia know how she made your vacation the perfect getaway. Thank you for your amazing review and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was honestly a little surprised by some of the negative reviews on here. Granted, I stayed on a Tuesday night, so the bar was quieter than I imagine it would be on a weekend. However, I didn't hear a peep from my room, neither bar nor street noise. I stayed in a Grand Deluxe, which I would highly recommend. In New York, a room that big is worth a few extra dollars!

I was only there for one night, sadly, but the staff I encountered were fabulous. The girl who checked me in was bubbly and sweet, the doormen/bell boys were polite and friendly-- I only have positive things to say about them.

I did go for dinner at Asellina and really enjoyed the branzino ravioli (a special that evening, so I don't believe they have it all the time). Very fresh, great meal, and a nice, somewhat buzzy atmosphere in the restaurant.

The bathroom in our room was huge, with separate tub and shower and plenty of counter space (which, for two girls getting ready together, is terribly important!).

Really, I couldn't find anything I didn't like about this hotel. I would love to come back in the warmer months when the outdoor portion of the pool is open, because it looks like a great way to spend the day.

Room Tip: Go for the Grand Deluxe; it's almost 200 square feet larger than the Deluxe, and not that much p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RunCatchKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear RunCatchKiss,

Thank you for your sharing your amazing experience. Even though our encounter was only for one night, it was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again. Maybe on your next trip, you'll have time to indulge at Exhale Spa or go swimming in our heated rooftop pool. Thanks again for your review.

Best,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel showed its brilliance- their people and service. For me, it is all about these two. Once you ensure you are in a good location and have a nice room (we were fortunate to have the opportunity to upgrade to the Park Avenue Suite), it is the people that make the real difference. While I cannot speak of the restaurant, lounge or bar venues from first hand customer experience, I can share that I observed all three bustling with customers, and all were smiling.

What we did experience as customers, was a consistent high level of "professional friendliness" and high regard to ensuring we were receiving our best possible experience while visiting NYC.
Notably, the front staff. The concierge Jane, is truly a talent. Juggling twelve balls (at least!) at any given time, always delivering the best results. The bell staff, Clancy and the others, are wonderful, It is like they are there to make everything seamless and easy. Love them!
I also was fortunate to experience the spa...again, all staff were great, really working together and supporting each other. The icing on the cake was my best massage ever. Ask for Fernando. A gift.

Many thanks to this hotel...to its people. An extra thanks to Temara (also extremely approachable and customer focussed), the manager of these talents.
Well done!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a corner suite...well worth the extra cost. I repeat, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyfulTravellerCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear JoyfulTravellerCPH,

Thank you for your lovely review. We will be sure to let Jane, Clancy and all of our deserving staff know of the positive impact they made during your stay. It was a pleasure having you and we hope it won't be the last. We're delighted you were able to squeeze in a massage at Exhale Spa. Maybe next time you can try one of their well-renown Core Fusion classes. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#209 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#102 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,295 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#62 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#35 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#39 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Property: Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016-8403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#66 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#98 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing