We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Luxury in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Ranked #86 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I'm writing an overdue review of the Gansevoort Park Ave Hotel in New York. Staying here last year was nothing short of wonderful. The accommodations, of course, are gorgeous, but the staff is what makes a memorable stay. Having stayed at every famous hotel in the city, (The Waldorf, Westin, Renaissence, "W" and others, I can tell you the staff at the Gansevoort Park Ave is the best I've ever encountered. The is a big difference between employees who are pleasant to you in hopes of gratuity, and those who are truly interested in serving you as a guest. Our visit this year was equally wonderful. Melissa and others at the front desk, Danny at the door, Grace in the restaurant, and Karin the manager were superb just to name a few, but
the highest praise I can offer is that we're going back for our third stay in August.

Room Tip: The rooms with terraces are the best! (#407 for example)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Lee,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. It was truly a pleasure having you. We will be sure to let all of our deserving staff know how much they contributed to your memorable visit. August is a beautiful time to go to NYC, especially with our rooftop pool to catch the sunrays and cool off in. See you again soon.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,632 - 1,638 of 2,380 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our wedding night and it was perfect. The rooms are very comfortable. The decor is very peculiar: hot pink/lavander curtains, purple chandeliers! The bathrooms were beautiful and spotless with top notch everything. The location is very accessible to everything in Manhattan. We ordered room service and the food was excellent. The staff was also very nice and professional. Even though we did not visit the rooftop bar, it is a popular spot during the evenings.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a suite which was in a corner of the building. Since the entire outside of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacprods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear jacprods,

First off, congratulations on your nuptials! Thank you for your lovely review. Maybe next time, you can visit our rooftop bar – have a cocktail and swim in our heated pool while overlooking the beautiful NYC skyline. We hope to see you again. If you have any questions, feel free to contact digital@gansevoorthotelgroup.com.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Gansevoort Park hotel is definitely one of if not the best hotel I have stayed in, from the customer service to the rooms to the roof top bar, every aspect is amazing. Definitely well worth the money and the next time I am in NYC I will be staying here.
I recommend for all if you dont mind spending a little bit extra its worth every cent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Jason,

Your review is making us blush. It’s easy to provide great service when we have great patrons. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A couple of friends and I have decided to spend our birthdays in NY. After researching many fabulous hotels and being undecided, I contacted Talia Rivera at the GPA. After chatting to Talia about the many hotel amenities ie: rooftop pool, great restaurants and bars as well as the various room types offered (balconies - awesome), I decided on the GPA. Talia spent lots of time with me to ensure everything will be perfect once we arrive. Needless to say, it was Talia who stood out and convinced me that the GPA is the best place to stay in Manhattan. If I had a hotel, this is the type of employee that I would have running my sales team. Looking forward to our stay.
Thanks again Talia for all of your help. E.Metcalfe

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank EricaM227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear EricaM227,

We’re excited for your arrival and we will be sure to let Talia know how helpful she was during reservations. If you have any questions or concerns, feel free to contact digital@gansevoorthotelgroup.com.

See you very soon!
@GansevoortPark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Awesome hotel in Midtown Manhattan. Hip, stylish, and a surprisingly very good value for the money. A previous review by Fusedmind is correct that it feels like a celebrity staying here, which might also be the case since many celebrities stay here. The rooms are spacious, very clean, elegant, and modern. This is a great hotel for both tourists and business travelers, due to it's convenient location in Manhattan, only two stops away from Grand Central and also two stops away from Union Square. While it's not the best place if you want something relaxing and family-oriented, it's one of the best in the city if you're looking for something upscale, fun, and trendy. There's a fun roof-top bar that's great for drinks after work or for a late-night drinking spot, though in the later hours it turns more into a club atmosphere. As other reviewers have stated, the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, and really makes the stay at the hotel an enjoyable experience. I'd highly recommend staying here if you're going to be taking a trip to New York.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armadillo_footprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear JayKaySF,

Thank you for your high recommendation of us. It was truly a pleasure having you and we are delighted that our staff was able to make your experience even more enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon.

Best,
@GansevoortPark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Only stayed there 2 nights. Mostly out on business during the day but at night the place comes alive with the rooftop. Breakfast at Asellina was superb. I give them a+++ for having a seperate elevator for the nightclub. Positive experience overall.

Room Tip: Ask for view of Park Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Katutu,

We’re thrilled that you enjoyed our rooftop. Hopefully you were able to take full advantage of our heated rooftop pool. Maybe next time, you can extend your business trip for more pleasure and experience our other services such as a massage at Exhale Spa. Hope to see you again soon and thank you for your review.

Best,
@GansevoortPark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed in a grand deluxe one king bed room that was pretty large and mostly comfortable. Fantastic location not far from Morgan Libray, Eataly, lots of places to eat and go out. The floor-to-ceiling window wall was great. It was a good deal in early spring. The rooms share unfortunate design elements with the former Gansevoort SoBe (now Perry) : massive heavy shower/closet doors that can only be slammed hard to close. Hard edges and angles everywhere in the bathroom. Some genius put cabinets with metal handles at knee level below the sink just to make sure that unless you are exactly in the middle of the sink you slam into it. Hard a bruise by the time I left. Most reception staff were nice with one exception. The best part though is the upstairs bar. Not a bad place to stay. In the neighborhood Gramercy is better. Rooms at Gansevoort I liked slightly better than W Union Square.

Room Tip: Narrow hallways, so stay sway from elevators. Also, rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows are a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear annadaria3,

Thank you for letting us know how your stay went. We appreciate your feedback and will look into the safety of our cabinets. Should you choose to stay with us again, we will make sure that you only receive the best possible service and hospitality. For any questions feel free to contact us at digital@gansevoorthotelgroup.com.

Sincerley,
@GansevoortPark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#218 of 470 in New York City
1,855 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#133 of 470 in New York City
3,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#155 of 470 in New York City
221 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#54 of 470 in New York City
2,466 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#131 of 470 in New York City
3,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016-8403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#61 Family Hotel in New York City
#70 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#76 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $286 - $664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing