We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, but property had problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Ranked #87 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Great service, but property had problems”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in February 2013 with my wife and 15 month old son. We rented a Gansevoort Suite, which was very nicely sized, had a small balcony, and was quiet enough that we could put our son in a crib in the living room and enjoy some wine and movies in the bedroom at night.

The service at the hotel was excellent. Some points that stand out to me: the hotel provided a nearly full sized crib which was very comfortable for our son. They sent up a refrigerator which was essential for us with a child as young as our son. The doormen watched our car in the loading zone for an hour here and there when check-in/check-out traffic permitted, saving us substantial parking fees. Everyone we contacted was excellent, professional, polite. They handled out requests and problems (below) in a great way.

The room was a great size for an NYC room. It had a large living room and large bedroom. Two bathrooms, one with a huge bathtub. Perfect for a family with a small child.

The problems: the room was rundown. Fabric around a large mirror was torn, furniture was dinged up. This was a very minor thing to me, but I was expecting more from this hotel. The televisions didn't work. The picture was pixelated or just didn't come in. This was a big deal because we were in the room by 8:30 pm to put our son to bed. The idea was to watch tv and enjoy some wine. The front desk comped movies for us, which turned out fine, but again, not what I would have expected from the Gansevoort. Two out of three elevators were out of service for 1.5 days. This was a small inconvenience but could have been worse. We waited for about 15 or 20 minutes for an elevator once, and one other time, we took the stairs up about 6 flights (me carrying my son) to get to the pool. Not great, and could have been a major pain if we had been in a rush or were not able to use stairs.

All in all, a good experience and I would consider staying at this hotel again if we found a good price on a big room. But I would go into the stay expecting that I'll have some problems that will likely be dealt with quickly and professionally.

Room Tip: The rooftop bar can be loud, so might be best not to stay too close to the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Jon,

Thank you for your detailed review. We apologize for any technical issues during you stay, but we can assure you that it has been fixed and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will be sure to let our staff know your positive experience with their service. We look forward to your next visit so we get a chance to go beyond your expectations. Should you choose to make future reservations, you can contact our community manager at digital@gansevoortpark.com and we can provide all your necessary accommodations.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,469
    506
    160
    86
    59
See reviews for
381
796
122
525
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Love the Kardashians, so we HAD to stay at the Gansevoort. I really like the purple chandeliers and fireplace in lobby. The staff was great! Jane was really helpful. Room service was fast! New favorite hotel!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyM324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Amy324,

We’re honored to be your new favorite hotel! In our eyes, you are just as important as any celebrity and we’re thrilled you had a great time during your stay. If you plan on visiting again, you can reach out to our community manager at digital@gansevoortpark.com. Maybe we can even arrange a special tour of the Presidential Suite…

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed at Gansevoort Park for a 30th birthday party recently, where I was also hosting on the rooftop. I wish I could have stayed longer; there was plenty of snacks and goodies that were available there. The audio system has iPod integration. The beds? Super comfy. Bathroom features Cutler style products, which is top-of-the line and worth the price as well. Would definitely recommend staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUNIL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Sunil,

Happy 30th birthday! We also wish that you stayed longer, but you picked the perfect spot on our rooftop to throw your birthday bash. You can contact our community manager at digital@gansevoortpark.com for future reservations and events. We'll make sure to roll out the red carpet for you. Thanks again.

Best,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Talk about ultra chic! So cool with an incredibly classy decor. Everything about this hotel screams you are in NYC. It's in a prime location to amazing restaurants,bars and nightclubs. We had a beautiful suite over looking parts of the skyline. The rooftop bar is so chill to hang out and start your night off. The service was really top notch! Jane from concierge helped me with all my needs to settle in and start relaxing! She's probably the nicest concierge I've had the pleasure of meeting. All in all If you are looking to enjoy your time in NYC... you have to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Sofia,

Thank you for your amazing review. Jane will be happy that she helped make your stay memorable. Hopefully you were able to take a peek at the Empire State Building from our rooftop – completing the NYC experience. If you decide to stay with us again, you can reach out to our community manager at digital@gansevoortpark.com.



Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I was very impressed with the service during my weeklong stay at the Gansevoort Park Ave. I found one of the concierges to be particularly helpful. Her name was Jane and she took care of us from the beginning of our stay to the end. She is the reason I will be coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear David,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience. We’ll be sure to let Jane know how helpful she was during your stay. Hopefully after your next visit you’ll have even more reasons to come back. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I live on long island and decided to take my family to the city to have a new york experience. Most hotels arent very kid friendly, esp with food. But the concierge desk at the Park location ie: Jane S. was very kid friendly. Jane helped my wife and i find a nice place to eat that my children can enjoy their meal too. She was so sweet to my kids, my wife loved it. We will def stay at the park location again. The service was great and love the update dated modern look/pool.

Room Tip: take advantage of the indoor out door pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Mark,

We’re happy to hear you and your family enjoyed Manhattan, especially the dining experience the city offers to patrons of all ages. Did your kids get to try out our heated pool? Let us know if you plan on another family getaway by contacting our community manager at digital@gansevoortpark.com. We'll also be sure to let Jane know of your raving review!

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel was definitely a great choice! Not only did it feel glamorous as you walked into the lobby with high ceilings and beautiful chandeleres but the whole environment just felt welcoming. The room was a decent size, not too big or small, and very clean and comfortable! The rooftop club was awesome--feel like a celebrity! Wish I could have spent more time there! I will definitely stay with the Gansevoort Park for all future visits to NYC.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louis r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Louis,

Thank you for sharing the details of your fabulous stay. Hopefully next time you will be able to spend more time on the rooftop and maybe take a dip in our heated pool. Let us know when you book your next visit at digital@gansevoortpark.com and we will roll out the red carpet for you.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#205 of 466 in New York City
1,791 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#122 of 466 in New York City
3,521 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#135 of 466 in New York City
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#55 of 466 in New York City
2,254 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#124 of 466 in New York City
3,063 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#53 of 466 in New York City
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Property: Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016-8403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#70 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#76 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing