We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Ranked #77 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great rooms and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at Gansevoort Park between 2/2/2013 - 2/12/2013. We chose this hotel because of it's location (close to 5th Avenue shopping but also close to MSG and Times Square) and the big rooms.

The hotel is exactly like on the pictures you find on facebook or tripadvisor. We had a 10th floor Superior King Room facing the courtyard which at first seemed a bit like a drawback but we ended up loving it because you do not have the street noise and because we were on the 10th floor we did not hear the rooftop bar, which you will definately hear if you have a room on floor 15 or above.

The room itself was very big by any city standarts and the bathroom was even bigger with a tub and a huge shower. The bed was very comfy, not as comfy as the W Beds but still very good.
Cleaning was spotless.

There are 3 bars at this hotel but one which is operated by Windsor not Gansevoort. We went to the rooftop a couple of times but ended up spending most of our evenings at Windsor. Windsor is pretty cool, you have a DJ playing music and 12 TV's to watch sports. They also have food and awesome drinks for pretty resonable prices.

I think it's the perfect hotel for longer stays since the rooms are very big and the location allows you to walk pretty much everywhere in Manhattan.

Room Tip: If you don't want the noise from the rooftop get a room below floor 14/15
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heise69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Heise69,

We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We agree that the Windsor is a great place to hang out for drinks and food. Did you know you can take your cocktail to the lobby for a change in ambiance? Our hotel is your playground. If you plan on coming back and would like the same room, just let our community manager know at digital@gansevoortpark.com.

Sincerely,
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,426
    496
    154
    82
    56
See reviews for
366
772
117
517
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

In the heart of Manhattan, this hotel is hip and happening, the restaurant and bars are amazing, room service fabulous, the rooms are lavish, best bed I've ever slept in and the staff are wonderful.

Only faulting them because I was stuck there during the Hurricane Sandy, and they were completely unprepared., despite their assurances before I checked in that they had everything under control in the event of a power outage as they had generators. Their generators literally only powered emergency lighting in the halls and ground floors and I was given a glow stick, rather than a flash light or something more sensible.

The phones in the hotel room were all cordless and therefore when the power went, the phones beeped non stop as their batteries died. Perhaps rethinking the chic and going for more practical options would be better. And of course the generators did not power the lifts. They need to be more prepared for a power failure as guests had to hike up and down some 16 - 18 flights of stairs. Back up water tanks as well would be sensible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raewynmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Raewynmarie,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize that our level of preparation for Hurricane Sandy was not up to your expectations. However, safety remained our number one priority during the storm and our staff worked tirelessly to ensure that everyone was cared for despite no electricity or running water. We appreciate your valuable feedback and are definitely making future precautions should an event such as this happens again. If you choose to give us a second chance, we can assure that your stay will have all the amenities you desire. For future reservations, you can reach out to our community manager at digital@gansevoortpark.com and we can provide the right accommodations for you.

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

It's always difficult for me to find hotel rooms that have above average sized rooms in New York when I'm on a business trip. I always end up in hotels with small rooms which makes it uncomfortable to work. There was a small couch and plenty of room for me so I didn't feel too claustrophobic. Just a heads up though I didn't get very good cell phone service (I have Sprint) so it was tough to make calls. Everything in the room was immaculate. The the guys in the lobby were super helpful with directions, storing my luggage, flagging cabs, top notch service, felt like I was important. I can't wait to get back in the summer to check out the roof top pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Matt,

We are thrilled that Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC was able to put some leisure and pleasure time into the mix of your business trip. Cellphone service is tricky in certain parts of NYC, but we apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused during your stay. Should you choose to mix business with pleasure again, please reach out to our community manager at digital@gansevoortpark.com and we can provide all your necessary accommodations. Our rooftop in the summer, in particular, is a must-try.


Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Gansevoort Park Avenue was an amazing hotel! Stayed at the hotel in January for work. It is the perfect location! I was in a delux double room and it was very spacious! One of the largest the hotel rooms I have stayed in while in NY. The bathroom features a huge soaking tub and the amenties are great! My room faced Park avenue and had floor to cieling views of the street. The rooftop pool and bar are incredible and the view is amazing. I will be returning again in March for work and I will be staying here again. I cant say enough good things about this hotel! Looking forward to my return to NY and the Gansevoort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farbase88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel was amazing! The rooms were the largest hotel rooms i've stayed in for NY, not to mention great decor and spotless! A huge tub to die for every night! The staff was friendly and very helpful. The location was perfect- 10 blocks from Union Sq, 10 blocks from Herald Sq. A delicious restaurant awaited our munchies for breakfast, lunch and dinner!
But the best part... a great rooftop bar and pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a great location, the restaurant and bars on site are good, the rooms are stylish and the service is exceptionally friendly and efficient.
This was my second time staying here. Everyone on the staff goes out of their way to be helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear travelyellow,

We are delighted to hear about your time at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC and even more excited to hear that we've "excelled." We hope that you choose to stay with us again. You can contact our community manager at digital@gansevoortpark.com and we will take care of your future reservation and accommodations.

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in Jan., 2013. When you step into the lobby of this boutique hotel in Murray Hill, you realize this is not just "another hotel". Uniquely decorated, and with the ever-warm ongoing fireplace in the lobby, it was a welcome retreat after a long day of running around NYC. The staff is superlative, the lobby comfortable, and the roof top bar an absolute destination for all folks under 35. We laughed through our whole stay as I am sure we were 20 years older than all the other guests, but we loved watching everyone have a very good time. The room was spacious, brightly decorated with a comfortable bed, and had a gorgeous, modern bath. If you are looking for a fun place to stay a bit downtown from the tourist craziness, and you don't mind sharing your space with weekend partiers, this is a terrific place to spend your time in NYC. We would love to go back!

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor and had no noise problems from the rooftop bar, but on the weekend, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Eileen,

Thank you for letting us know how your four night stay with us went. Our décor is a combination of modern classics, designed to brighten the day of world-weary travelers like yourselves. We're also thrilled that you enjoyed our rooftop lounge – we're sure you fit in just fine! Maybe next time you can indulge in a couple’s massage at our Exhale Spa for further relaxation. Should you need a reservation upon your next visit, please contact our community manager at digital@gansevoortpark.com to ensure superlative treatment. We look forward to seeing you again.


Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#207 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,440 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#47 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Property: Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016-8403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#61 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#77 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#97 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing