We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the Razzle Dazzle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Ranked #76 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beware the Razzle Dazzle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you like to party hard and let it all hang out then this Hotel is for you. If you don't mind drunken revellers in and around the foyer, lifts and entrance ways you'll love the Ganesvoort Park. It's got razzle and dazzle but needs a lot more polish eg. some lobby staff need more lessons in customer service.

The room was clean and the beds very comfy but our desk was cluttered with a ridiculous amount of non complimentary drinks, snacks, alcohol, etc. On check out we were told we could not have a printed copy of our hotel room charges and subsequently we were then charged for items that we did not use..!!

On the upside the Gansevoort Park has a lovely rooftop pool area and bar that has a great vibe. The restaurant Asellina serves yummy food although it was a little on the pricier side but we received excellent service.

Location is in a great area with fabulous restaurants nearby, the subway a few steps away and the Empire State and Macy's only a quick 10 min walk.

Room Tip: Rooms facing 28th street are quieter from street noise. Guests using lifts can get noisy so avoid r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Moloha,

We appreciate the time you took to write this review and are supremely disappointed
to read about your interaction with our staff. If you have a free moment, we would be interested in hearing more about your personal experience staying with us. Please contact our Community Manager at Digital@GansevoortHotelGroup.com, and we will get down to the bottom of your situation to hopefully have the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Thank you,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,426
    494
    154
    82
    56
See reviews for
366
771
117
516
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

First time visitors to NYC should take the location of their hotel of choice very seriously. Friends had recommended that I stay elsewhere (based on my likes/dislikes) but I ignored them, much to my eventual disappointment.

But the hotel itself was quite enjoyable and of above average quality. The staff wre very friendly and helpful (thanks to Michael the concierge for some great suggestions) and the mini-bar fairly priced. The roof top pool was a highlight, though on several locations throughout the week it was closed, much to our ocassional disappointment.

The location was convinient if you want mid-town mayhem and a short walk to 5th Av.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Nice location, had some quite rooms if they are on the side, and probably had the best pool and pool lounge I have seen in NY (there are not that many anyways). People in the reception and concierge were both courteous and resourceful. The lobby is small and probably a bit noisy for those who wants to hold their meetings or read. But rooms are simply decorated and just right. The hotel is truly a night spot for those who wants to live the NYC night life. You get to see and meet young, beautiful, and sophisticated crowd. You may even pump into a celebrity or witness a photo shoot of a pretty model. The hotel convert the two story pool lounge to a nice bar that is connected to nice night club. There is also the champagne bar at the ground floor where you could enjoy the ambiance. In short, this hotel is a night spot and highly recommended to those who wants to be close to the "action". I did not try the food as I was busy tasting NYC finest restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaudiArabiaPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear SaudiArabiaPrince,

We are so happy you enjoyed our rooms as well as our communal areas. As an "Urban Resort," we're all about the perfect balance between self-indulgent relaxation and partying with a hint of decadence. As for our food, we recommend the stuffed olives and the spaghetti - doesn't get simpler or better than that. Hope to have you back soon.

All Our Best,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The lobby was nice and the hotel room was nicely decorated, but not very spacious. The front desk staff were not very courteous. That was disappointing, considering this is supposed to be a fancy hotel with a lot of hype. Also, I had called the day after I checked out because I thought I forgot something in the room, and I kept getting told to call back later in the day. When I finally called again, they transferred me to security and on one answered. Again, I was disappointed with the service.

It was about a 10 minute walk to the Herald Square subway station, so at least that part was convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear pinkpearl143,

It is deeply disturbing to read this review and have discussed
your experiences with our team, taking note of this matter on the behalf of our future guests. We know that our hotel is particularly vibrant, but we never want our guests to feel uncomfortable or unhappy with their stay. You remain our top priority. We would love to offer you the true Gansevoort experience during your next stay, as well as some special amenities to make up for any unpleasant experiences you've had. Please contact Digital@GansevoortHotelGroup.com the next time you need to head into town.

Sincerely,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Loved this hotel for the stylish and spacious (as in jumbo-sized) Grand Deluxe rooms, with a step out balcony, lots of natural light, windows that open, storage space to unpack, a desk/table for dining in-room with multiple chairs and a fabulous bath with jacuzzi tub for two. I've stayed in a dozen hotels in all parts of the city. This is by far my new favorite!

Service was spot on. I am a pretty picky traveler, but with the exception of one less then friendly bar waitress, staff was warm, welcoming and helpful. I associated with the brand with the party crowd of wannabes. Sign me up anyway.

Room Tip: Grand deluxe facing Park Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianeNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear dianeNorthCarolina,

What a fantastic review. Thank so much for both visiting us and writing about your stay. In the future please contact our Community Manager at Digital@GansevortHotelGroup.com before you book. Also, be sure to follow us on Twitter at @GansevoortPark for special room rates, news and more. We hope to have you back soon.

Warm regards,

@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Doors are very thin, so it sounded like Jersey Shore down the hall. We could hear the couple next door talking or with the TV on - really taking away from the romance of being alone. Any time someone was in the hallway, the noise seemed like the door was open and they were right in the room with you. The room was not as advertised - no Juliet balcony. Bed was saggy, so led to back aches.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asdlkfjalskjfdaljk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear asdlkfjalskjfdaljk,

As a boutique hotel, we strive for the ultimate in comfort for all of our guests, You are no exception, and we apologize profusely that your stay didn't live up to expectations. We'd be honored to invite you back for the ultimate Gansevoort Park Avenue experience. Please contact our Community Manager, Anna@GansevoortHotelGroup.com, and she will be happy to make sure that your next trip exceeds your wildest dreams. And, yes, we'd be happy to make sure you have a firmer bed upon arrival.

We look forward to hearing from you,

Community Manager
@GansevoortPark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I have stayed at the Gansevoort before and this year was just as special. We had a Double Double room on the 12th fl. Big room with 2 queen sized beds and larger bathroom with tub/shower. The view was directly above Park Ave. A complementary bottle of red wine with a note welcomed us. I have stayed at numerous hotels in NYC and as a former NYer, I have high standards for hotel location, room size, room type, amenities, etc. and the Gansevoort Park meets them easily. Nightly turn down service is a pleasant surprise as is the roof top pool and clubs. Do not be afraid of the hip vibe. All types of people are there (it does lean to the early twenties crowd) and fun is had by all. The pool has the most incredible view of the Empire State building and is ranked one of the top pools in the city. Pool and club access are granted easily to hotel guests (not always the case at such a desired location and you get to 'cut' the velvet line awaiting entry) and the staff is very accommodating. The staff accommodates your every need (although during this stay, the doorman stood 5' from the door and did not open it for us-call me a snob but I'm just telling you the issue I had). Bread and Butter across the street is a gem. They deliver 24/7 with a $10 minimum. They have a large variety of food and drinks. The neighborhood is great and close to all (the subway is across the street). I love this hotel and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mishywishy1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#205 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,439 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#47 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#140 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC

Property: Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Address: 420 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016-8403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in New York City
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#61 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#77 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#97 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gansevoort Park Avenue offers 249 luxury rooms and remarkable suites, most with lofty ceilings, Juliet balconies, and five fixture bathrooms. The three-story atrium lobby showcases striking herringbone granite floors, an oversized fireplace, and dramatic aubergine chandeliers. There is a signature rooftop pool for sunbathing and city-escape daydreaming and a bi-level rooftop bar + lounge wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Park Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing