We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable Spanish Harlem-Home, Simple & Comfortable”
Review of Margot Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Margot Guest House
Ranked #28 of 77 New York City B&B and Inns
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Adorable Spanish Harlem-Home, Simple & Comfortable”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Margot Guest House was exactly the type of establishment we were hoping for. We wanted no part of the insanity that was Times Square for our first visit to New York. Our trip (my boyfriend and I) was during the first weekend of June. The main purpose was for Governor's Ball, a music fest on Randal's Island. We couldn't have picked a more perfect location. The house is in walking distance from the Randal's Island foot bridge, and the ferry. Lexington is full of small cafes, bakeries and restaurants, most are open late.

The rooms are small, but suitable for a couple or solo traveler. The decor is a mix between spanish and parisian flair. We were provided with a small fridge, coffee maker, air conditioner and tv. It was very comfortable, and felt private. We didn't see any other guests the whole stay. My boyfriend loved the owner Todd. He was full of information about the city, and the best way to get around.But he is a talker, so watch your time. Before we knew it, two hours had gone by.

The subway is located only a few blocks away, as well as Central Park and several museums. I personally didn't think the cafes located directly near the house were anything special, I'd recommend traveling down Lexington further or purchasing something from one of the local grocery stores.

All in all, it was a great stay. We'd absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    22
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
47
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I booked it for my parents for six nights when they came to visit us. They were extremely satisfied about the place. The room was spacious and cozy, furnished with everything they needed. They said will always stay there in their future trips to New York. Todd the owner is very friendly and arranged everything perfectly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sascia71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

If you're looking for a different NYC experience that doesn't involve time square and overpriced chain hotels then the Margot House is for you. The owner Todd, gives you the ins and outs of the area along with all the wonderful places to eat and visit during your stay. Are the rooms dated? Yes, to a degree, but think of it like your visiting a relative or friend. The bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is in great working order and you don't have to share it with the other guests. Plus the room has a fridge and microwave. What more do you really need to explore NYC. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duffman5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Mar got Guest House offered a large bedroom with an ensuite. It had a New York feel with it's shuttered windows and constant street noise. Even though we were on the top floor we found it difficult to sleep. The rear rooms may be quieter. The location was perfect for getting to anywhere being so close to the subway yet very affordable via taxi. We originally thought this was a bed and breakfast - wanted the home environment, found nobody around to talk to or seek advice from. The owner has his own job and the guest house is a sideline way to pay the mortgage without actually caring for the individuals in the house. Like I said - almost perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarthaM657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Margot Guest House it is much more than hotel in Manhattan. If you are looking for something different with affordable prices this is your place. You could find a great atmosphere in a neighborhood that is getting better everyday.

Located in Spanish HArlem, you could reach every major attraction very easily and little places with soul. This guest house has very good rooms, large ones with everything ready to please, is like to be in your flat living as a new yorker.

If you are looking something special, livable, affordable, well located and fun!, Margot Guest house is the ideal option. After being in NYC many times, this has been my best option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nelnunvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here for eight nights and loved it. Our accommodation was lovely, the room a very generous size, the bed was comfortable and most importantly as we were there when the temperature got down to minus 27C was warm. The neighbourhood is great with a number of places to eat and drink (our favourite a friendly little bar the Lexington Social). Todd has lots of helpful information about the area and there is also a folder with everything you would want to know.

The subway is only a couple of blocks away, Central Park and the Museum mile are close by.

Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed here from 4 to 10 November 2013, after the New York Marathon. The place is in Spanish Harlem and the feel of the environs is defiantly spanish. The room we had was large enough for the 2 of us. It was clean, tidy and very comfortable. The bathroom was good, but could have used just a little more room for our bathroom gear, but apart from that it was great. Our host met us at the house and showed us around and his tips and suggestions certainly came in very handy. It is close to the subway and there are buses everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#251 of 467 in New York City
737 reviews
Upper Yorkville Suites
#34 of 77 in New York City
56 reviews
Harlem
The Central Park North
The Central Park North
#27 of 77 in New York City
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Suites Manhattan
#59 of 163 in New York City
8 reviews
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#3 of 77 in New York City
611 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#21 of 77 in New York City
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margot Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margot Guest House

Property: Margot Guest House
Address: 1698 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10029
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Margot Guest House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing