We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing as always”
Review of Marea

Marea
Reserve with OpenTable
Marea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #98 of 13,619 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Broadway
Transit: Marea is located near Columbus Circle, a hub for the A, B, C, D and 1 subways lines. One block east and one block south at 57th St. and 7th Ave guests may utilize either the N, Q, R, W subway lines.
Description: Marea Ristorante, located in one of Manhattans most storied addresses, features Chef Michael White's ode to Italian seafood. From his trademark handmade pastas to his fresh crudo and whole fish, Chef White is committed to reinventing the notion of seafood in New York.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing as always”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Marea consistently has amazing food, good service, and an interesting wine list. Crudo is fresh and tasty. Pasta with octopus and bone marrow is fantastic. This is one of the places We always go out of our way to visit in New York.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RKLeBlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,069
    374
    160
    54
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very close to perfect”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Can't find a fault with this restaurant at all... The wine list has a "few" bargains, but you have to search them out. The menu is a tad confusing...so if it is your first visit, ask for help.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definitely fish”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Delicious. Spent around 3 hours in restaurant. Slow, leisurely meal while chatting. No hurry to get rid of us. The olive bread is scrumptious. Cannot remember what we ate, but it was all very tasty and delicious.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank The N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Italian in town”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the most casual 2 stars Michelins restaurant I had-visited so far. One thing for me is you don't have to be in full suit so u don't hv to worry about dress code. The food is absolutely perfect the pasta is homemade and also the crude is cooked to perfection. Also, the service is well trained, she gave me a good recommendation. For me the sea urchins on toasted with Lardo is highly recommended .

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bancha_chromehearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good Food, Mediocre Service”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We added one appetizer and one entree to the business lunch.

The texture of the grilled octopus, which comes in a large chunk, was wonderful. My companion also loved Seppia—he says the best raw squid in the US. Yes, I’ve had better raw squid outside of the US. Chilled zuppa was good, but not Wow.

Of the three pasta dishes we ordered, Agnolotti, the ravioli, was the best--great texture. Fusilli with octopus was also good. We weren’t big on Strozzapreti with crab and sea urchin. It had a very strong fishy smell (though we are crab and sea urchin lovers).

Their service is mediocre, reminding me of cruise ship dining rooms (and some cruise ships have better service!) We waited for 10 min before the waitress came to take orders. Another couple who was seated after us was waited on before us.

The biggest complaint was we ordered three appetizers and three entrees and she decided to give us an appetizer portion for one of the entrees without asking us! We got our most favorite entrée, Ravioli, in an appetizer portion! We ended up ordering another appetizer portion of Ravioli and paying for two appetizers instead of one entrée. We are big AND passionate eaters. It’s a crime to serve us small portions without our permission while charging more! For this reason, I’m not inclined to return to Marea.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalKuidaore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marea also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Marea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing