We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A memorable dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of aldea

aldea
Reserve with OpenTable
aldea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,689 of 13,552 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Portuguese, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: Between 5th and 6th Avenues
Transit: The restaurant is 2 blocks from Union Square/14th Street with access to all major subways, including: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, L, N, R & Q trains. F & M trains at the 14th st stop.
Ponte Vedra Bch, Fl
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A memorable dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

A trip to New York needs at least one dinner in one of the finer restaurants in
the area and our visit to Aldea was the perfect choice! My son and I chose the tasting menu. All we were served, from the amuse bouche to pre menu appetizer to dessert, post dessert and post post dessert, was excellent. It was beautifully served by a very attentive staff. It was a memorable evening and we will definitely return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank duroce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    59
    26
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Portugese food that dreams are made of.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

On our food son's request we took him here for his 30th birthday dinner and were so pleased with everything. Restaurant was spacious (tables not on top of each other), on the quiet side (always hard to find in NYC), service was top notch and food outstanding. The wine menu although pricey has amazing choices. Our son introduced us to some new dishes (he spent a couple of weeks in Portugal last summer) and we were very impressed. Overall Aldea is a first class establishment in a convenient location and should be on your must visit list. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reedit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I'll be back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful terrine starter followed by succulent hanger steak. Fine service. Nice ambiance. Reasonable cost for NYC.

Helpful?
Thank Norman_Luxury_Yacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Rockaway, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had the pleasure of visiting this restaurant last night before the Eagles concert at Madison Square Garden...within walking distance (about 12 blocks or so) it was a very pleasant experience. Service was fantastic and food was very good. The decor is very upscale yet comfortable. Highly recommend the hanger steak. The only negative comment would be the food was not that hot...luke warm at best. Dessert named Little Dreams were to die for!! Try this place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious and Enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is certainly one of the enjoyable and repeatable dining experience in NYC. This place is great for business lunch, friends, family, and couples. I came here a few times and would continue to do so. The lunch menus are very affordable for those who are budget conscious or look for a good power lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thecow10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed aldea also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
Jersey City, NJ
New York City, NY
 

Been to aldea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing