We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool place!”
Review of Raines Law Room

Raines Law Room
Ranked #1,127 of 13,619 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very cool place!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Felt very authentic, very cool find. Loved the fact it is tucked away and hard to find. You press a buzzer and the doorman looks through his peep hole, then says he will come back once he sees if there is room then lets you in. We only had to wait in the back bar area for about 5-10 mins before we got a table. Very dark and ominous feeling down there, but the furniture, walls, etc really takes you back. Fantastic drinks but very expensive, although I expected that. We only stayed for one drink for the experience. The ambiance was unique but so non-energetic that we would have fallen asleep eventually, needed to keep our night going so we moved on. I give four stars because it was very good, but also not five as I was not blown away either.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sstn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    34
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nearly Excellent”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Nearly because the cocktail waitress passed off Gordon's as Hendrick's despite me seeing her pour it and then throw the empty bottle away!

Great speakeasy bar though and the use of the unmarked door and the fact you have to ring the doorbell and get access (which may or may not mean you have to put your name on the waiting list) is all cloak and dagger and adds to the experience.

Not the best cocktail I've had in the world but the barman was great (less so the female staff for the reason above!) and the atmosphere created with the lighting and use of booths nearly made up for it. If there was a 1/2 star I'd have given it 3.5 not 4 but i'm feeling generous!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan-les-Pins, France
Level Contributor
169 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“really cool bar”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

A step back 80 years, I suppose. Wasn't there to certify but that's what I would expect.

Cocktails are great, atmosphere is fantastic, price is not excessive. highly recommended.

Very hard to find if someone does not bring you there - but that's the cool part about it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unique speakeasy”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This place is a must. From the clock and dagger entry to the chain pulling for another expertly crafted cocktail. You really feel like you've stepped back in time with the decor, service and music. Loved it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDuncock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Danmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great cocktails in NY”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

A very charming place to drink some cocktails. The decor is as in 1920 and your are sitting in large chesterfield furniture. From the speakers you will hear some nice jazz music.
If you can find this place, go and have some cocktails.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jauer_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raines Law Room also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Raines Law Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing