We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harlem Walks”
Review of Harlem

Harlem
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Harlem Hip-Hop Walking Tour
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Uptown and Harlem Food Tour
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Harlem Gospel Sunday Tour
Ranked #97 of 1,118 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Neighborhood covering the north section of Manhattan Island.
Canyon, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Harlem Walks”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

There are a lot of misconceptions of Harlem to be dangerous but I found it to be nice and a cool neighborhood and a plus: it's close to central park!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    393
    134
    34
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hebron, lsrael
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
166 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Black America at its Best”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

A visit to New York would hardly be complete without visiting Harlem. It is often said to be very dangerous; but this seems to be more racism than anything else - black New Yorkers have better things to do than to rob white people! Best is to walk there, from the Upper East Side, Central Park or the Upper West Side. It is worth strolling in Harlem with the architectural guidebook AIA GUIDE TO NEW YORK CITY.
When in Harlem, don't miss strolling on 125th Street - "Downtown Harlem". And while there, check out the Apollo Theater, which since the 1930's has been THE place for black musicians to perform in America - Billie Holiday, Duke Ellington & Little Richard appeared here, as did the occasional white artist such as Buddy Holly. Also, on the streets of Harlem are many good eateries, including some with African cuisine. The "soul food" is nothing but Southern downhome cooking (in Dixie, everybody, black & white, eats this kind); but if you can't make it down South, then do try it - it's delectable!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“DINNER IN HARLEM”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We took the subway to Harlem and had dinner at Sylvia's. It was fun to ride the subway and the food was delicious at Sylvia's. I would definitely go back to shop and visit Doug Fresh restaurant and the Apollo

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank LOVELYLINDA66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“it was pretty.”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

we drove through here on our way to times square. it is what i expected the building to look like in the city.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JesseFineUSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Must Visit Again”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

I'm a huge Harlem Renaissance fan, so I couldn't come to NYC and not visit Harlem.

If you're like me and like to sit back, take it all in and people-watch, then a trip on the Number 2 or 3 Subway Train Uptown to Harlem is a real treat!
Albeit a flying visit, I found Harlem to be a gently bustling place not unlike Brixton or Hackney in London, where there's an interesting mash up of culture, history and gentrification.

There are some really interesting places to see and things to do in Harlem, and I'm gutted that my trip wasn't long enough for me to do as much as I would have liked.
On first impressions Harlem isn't as scary or intimidating a some reviewers have mentioned; I walked a few blocks on arrival with my friend during the day and again on my own at night and was quite safe, in fact I found it to be a calming refuge from the claustrophobic nature of Downtown Manhattan.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank FlyyBlkGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harlem also viewed

 

Been to Harlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing