We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views and free”

Staten Island Ferry
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.00*
and up
NYC Highlights Small-Group Tour
Ranked #19 of 1,080 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Used for sightseeing and transportation for commuters.
Newbury
Level Contributor
152 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great views and free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you want a great way to get snaps of lower Manhattan, the Statue of Liberty and the Brooklyn Bridge for free this is for you but be prepared for long queues at busy times.
There is not a lot to do at the other end (you have to disembark) so we came back on this next returning ferry.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael-Newbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,064 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,429
    4,500
    989
    111
    35
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
667 reviews
201 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“A free view of the Manhattan Skyline”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Grab a cup of coffee and jump on the free ferry and you will go out by the Status of Liberty and see all that is around Manhattan. The ride back in is the best as you see a complete view of the Manhattan skyline. So bundle up if its cold or rainy because you want to be outside to see it all!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TXMARTINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
384 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
“Excellent and free!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Now I don't mind spending money much to the chagrin of my wife but this was a fantastic free ferry trip with excellent views of Manhattan and the Statue of Liberty.

Ferry was clean, regular and well organised.

Great views, great experience and all for free.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GGGSarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I read here on tripadvisor about this ferry and wanted to give it a go.. Got up real early and took the ferry at 6.30am on a weekday. It is an amazing experience. The ferry is huge so you can pickup any spot you want - and it's almost empty. Great experience of going across Hudson - you get a great view of Manhattan, Statue of Liberty, Brooklyn and NJ. What i loved most is the duration - 30 minutes. It is not too short of a ride - so you have time to really enjoy it.. And the whole thing is free, which is amazing! I then took half an hour to walk a bit on Staten Island.. and then took the ferry back.
When you arrive at Staten Island you have to disembark the ferry even if you want to head straight back to NYC.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
420 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great Views of NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Thousands of people ride the Staten Island Ferry every day - both tourists and commuters. On this hazy day the views of the Manhattan Skyline, Statue of Liberty and Brooklyn Bridge were a bit dull and grey, but the ferry ride (free) was still worth the experience. Most visitors just ride the ferry to the island and immediately ride the next ferry back to Manhattan; we walked along the promenade to the 911 Memorial and then into the downtown area of Victory Boulevard for a very good lunch at the Every Good Thing Bookshop Cafe. Soup, Bagel and Hummus - 13 USDollars - kept us well fueled for the day. This is one of the funkiest bookshop cafes we have ever visited and is well worth a visit. The rest of downtown Staten Island is a bit rough and ready and very rundown. We then took a local bus into the center of the island. The island is home to half a million people and contains many parks. The residential housing is a wide mixture of family dwellings; the lot sizes seem to be larger and houses better the further into the center of the island we went. Overall, a very interesting day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Staten Island Ferry also viewed

 

Been to Staten Island Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing