We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intrepid Museum”

Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Intrepid Sea, Air and Space Museum
More Info
$122.00*
and up
New York CityPASS
More Info
$74.00*
and up
Full Day City Tour of New York City From Boston
Ranked #36 of 1,103 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum is a nonprofit, educational institution featuring the legendary aircraft carrier Intrepid, the space shuttle Enterprise, the world's fastest jets and a guided missile submarine. Through exhibitions, educational programming and the foremost collection of technologically groundbreaking aircraft and vessels, visitors of all ages and abilities are taken on an interactive journey through history to learn about American innovation and bravery. Welcoming over one million visitors annually, the Museum includes the Space Shuttle Pavilion, home to Enterprise, the world's first space shuttle that paved the way for America's successful Space Shuttle Program. On display are more than two dozen authentically restored aircraft, including the Lockheed A-12 Blackbird, the world's fastest military jet and spy plane, and the British Airways Concorde, the fastest commercial aircraft to ever cross the Atlantic Ocean. The Museum also includes the submarine Growler, the only American diesel-powered strategic missile submarine open to the public; the Exploreum Interactive Hall, a fully interactive exhibit space; an 18,000 sq. ft. education center; and Pier 86, a publicly accessible pier that is part of the Hudson River Park Trust. Download our free iPhone app, Mission Intrepid: Explore Enterprise, from the App Store today, and enhance your experience in the Space Shuttle Pavilion! The mission of the Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum is to promote the awareness and understanding of history, science and service through its collections, exhibitions and programming in order to honor our heroes, educate the public and inspire our youth.
Rugby
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Intrepid Museum”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is a WWII aircraft carrier berthed permanently at Pier 86 west 46 street. Well worth a visit despite the fact like many attractions there can be queues to get into visit Growler the submarine moored alongside. This is a unique experience and well worth the half hour wait. The space shuttle is also well worth seeing as well as the other space exhibits like Challenger and the Russian Soyuz capsule amazing that 3 astronauts travelled in such a confined space.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,076
    2,348
    607
    98
    44
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Attraction for Young and Old”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This aircraft carrier is a site not to be missed if you are visiting NYC. Admission fee is a little high but you will spend hours here. If you are a veteran you will be very interested in seeing all the planes on the top deck. I would definitely take the tour of the submarine and listen to what life was like months at a time for the men that served on this sub. There are so many exhibits to see. There is also a cafe downstairs with good food at fair prices. You will leave the ship feeling a great deal of pride to our veterans for their service to our country. Also this is a great learning experience for children of all ages. Enjoy! Happy Fourth of July

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Submarine walkthrough was good, but you have to wait before you could go in. They allow a small group at a time. So on a hot day, waiting kills all the fun. If you ask questions, the guide will answer else you can just pass through.

It was interesting to see all the planes on the flight deck, but would have been better if there was a guide to explain and they allowed you to check it from inside.

Shuttle Museum has a separate fee. It is nothing, you can just get your pictures clicked with the space shuttle and not go inside.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank rijul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, VA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“I went to see an aircraft carrier”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I'll start by saying I'm a Navy veteran. I served during the Viet Nam War aboard a Nuclear Submarine. A "Boomer", which is big in its own rite. I had never been on an Aircraft Carrier so that was the main attarction for me. The fact that it was the Intrepid, which has such a phenomenal history, made it special. Being a Submariner, I went aboard the Growler just for the fun of it. As someone who was used to staying submerged for almost 3 months without surfacing, I was glad I never had to put to see on a boat like that. My ship more closely resembeld a space ship. Whereas the Growler was more like being in a straight jacket,That said, it was quite an experinece walking through it and imagining what it must have been like for the crews that served abaoard her. Watch one of those old Victory at Sea movies for a better idea. The size of the Intrepid, on the otherhand, was awesome. My wife had arranged a tour that covered its WW II era. It served all the way through the Viet Nam War but our tour only covered WW II. The tour was two hours long and it was very interesting, inspirational and educational. The young man who guided our tour, Kevin, was surprisingly well informed about something that predated him by several generations and he utilized an i-pad to illustrate some of the things he talked about. I think it was a nice touch. As its battle ribbons attest to, no ship ever had a more distinguished life than the Intrepid. The number of enemy ships and planes it is credited with destroying in defense of this country is mind boggling. The amount of damage it withstood is equally impressive. Its history is long and proud and I'm glad to have learned as much as I did about it. I don't think it's possible to cover all of the "sea, air & space" offerings that were available in just one visit so I intend to come back again and again to take it all in for what it's worth. And to me, it's worth is beyond my estimation.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 69dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Need more interactive activities”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had seen and been inside the space shuttle in Florida, so was expecting the same here. disappointed that we could only take pictures around the shuttle. Visit inside the concorde was extra and inside the shuttle was also additional so that seemed a little pricey. The submarine walkthrough was good. If you ask questions, the guides inside would answer but no pro-activeness. The working staff seemed very dis-interested and at sharp 5, suddenly had all the energy to shut down the place. wish the helicopters and other aircrafts were walk through like they had 2 on the lower levels.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 83lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing