We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Intrepid Sea, Air and Space Museum
More Info
$122.00*
and up
New York CityPASS
More Info
$74.00*
and up
Full Day City Tour of New York City From Boston
Ranked #36 of 1,103 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum is a nonprofit, educational institution featuring the legendary aircraft carrier Intrepid, the space shuttle Enterprise, the world's fastest jets and a guided missile submarine. Through exhibitions, educational programming and the foremost collection of technologically groundbreaking aircraft and vessels, visitors of all ages and abilities are taken on an interactive journey through history to learn about American innovation and bravery. Welcoming over one million visitors annually, the Museum includes the Space Shuttle Pavilion, home to Enterprise, the world's first space shuttle that paved the way for America's successful Space Shuttle Program. On display are more than two dozen authentically restored aircraft, including the Lockheed A-12 Blackbird, the world's fastest military jet and spy plane, and the British Airways Concorde, the fastest commercial aircraft to ever cross the Atlantic Ocean. The Museum also includes the submarine Growler, the only American diesel-powered strategic missile submarine open to the public; the Exploreum Interactive Hall, a fully interactive exhibit space; an 18,000 sq. ft. education center; and Pier 86, a publicly accessible pier that is part of the Hudson River Park Trust. Download our free iPhone app, Mission Intrepid: Explore Enterprise, from the App Store today, and enhance your experience in the Space Shuttle Pavilion! The mission of the Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum is to promote the awareness and understanding of history, science and service through its collections, exhibitions and programming in order to honor our heroes, educate the public and inspire our youth.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

If you like aircraft.. then this is a must, it was awesome, The SR71 and the Space Shuttle where my favorites, we rushed this on our last day and so wished we had more time. Be prepared for the usual security checks.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andyks2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,071
    2,344
    605
    97
    44
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Engaging and Educational!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I visited the Intrepid last week with my two children ages 10 and 12. Our overall experience was wonderful but the real highlight was our tour of the Space Shuttle Pavillion. I cannot recommend this enough. Our guide, John, was so informative and friendly. Without that tour we would have buzzed through the exhibit in 20 minutes and missed out on something truly special. While we were there we also saw a group taking the Concorde tour and they had the same feedback about their tour. Spend the extra time and money and make the most of your experience.

The rest of the museum is also fantastic. There is a high degree of interactivity which kids love. The history and science is easily accessible to children and adults.

Wonderful day in the city! Give yourself PLENTY of time!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intrepidmuseum, at Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are glad you and your children enjoyed the tour of the Space Shuttle Pavilion - we always like hearing visitors' thoughts about those programs. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A journey down memory of World War II and Intrepid role”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Many of us have not seen the sweet and blood which has flown when the World War II was staged. Strangely, Intrepid did not stand out as a 'MUST VISIT' in the New York city attractions. I decided to check this out, as their website gave me an option of FIVE different guided tours on board the Intrepid museum. Intrepid museum is actually the ship Intrepid itself, with more than two dozen aircraft housed on top of the ship.

Do not miss the 15 minute film on Kamikaze experience. This mind blowing black and White film, showcases mind blowing footage from the WW II encounters. The engagements of Intrepid in WW II are narrated by a fire fighter, Gunner and other officers. Bush Senior served with distinction on board this ship as well. Intrepid, is also home to the Space shuttle which retired after a space voyage and is now a permanent exhibit at the Intrepid. My guide, Brad, is the grandson of a distinguished officer who had rendered service in WW II on Intrepid.

I would very much recommend a dwell time of 5 hours on board the Intrepid, with a mandatory visit to the space shuttle, atleast ONE guided tour and a general walk around on the Intrepid. in my opinion, a visit to the Intrepid is a MUST SEE in your New York tour itinerary.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ravi512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intrepidmuseum, at Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your thorough review of the Intrepid Museum. We are pleased to hear your thoughts about the Kamikaze Experience film. It is an important part of Intrepid's history. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fab morning out”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

This was a place my husband wanted to see and I was OK, but it's not my idea of fun. Was I wrong ! I especially enjoyed the Concorde tour - an extra cost but well worth it. If you only want one extra skip the shuttle and do this instead. Mark (? - 11am tour 21feb) was great - informative and amusing with a wealth of stories - we definitely lucked out getting him to show us round this fabulous plane. Thank you.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank NannyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must when visiting NYC”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

This museum has an amazing range of real planes and for the most part not replicas. Entry is quite expensive but you definitely get what you pay for. The only bit of the museum I was not able to experience is the food. The Concorde tour is a must, it is 20 dollars a head yet afterwards it doesn't feel like it was wasted. The simulator was excellent but it only lasts 3 minutes. If you are visiting NYC this is the best way to spend an afternoon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing