We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum
from $29.00
More Info
from $69.00
More Info
New York CityPASS
1,178 Reviews
from $126.00
More Info
from $119.04
More Info
Reviews (8,533)
Filter reviews
5,336 results
Traveler rating
3,190
1,637
407
68
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,190
1,637
407
68
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flight deck aircraft carrier space shuttle growler submarine concorde tour star trek hangar deck military history cold war british airways concorde fighter jets flight simulator vietnam war on display interactive displays new york general admission
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 5,336 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

This tour includes a tour of the only US submarine you can tour.
The Space Shuttle in also included.
Tour will take about 2-3 hours.

Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intrepidmuseum, Manager at Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We hope you enjoyed your time with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Had a great time here with the highlight for me being going aboard the Concorde on a guided tour.

More to see than you would expect, and would recommend allowing up to 3 hours to see everything without rushing.

Thank DJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intrepidmuseum, Manager at Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We were there early and in November so no lines at all, and not crowded inside. Would have expected more planes but it was ok.
Well worth the time and money.
Spent about two and a half hours there.

Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I spent 3 hours on a Sunday as I needed to be in NYC on business Monday. My impressions are colored because I have visited Battleship Cove in Fall River, Ma where the WWII battleship USS Massachusetts, WWII Sub Lionfish and other exhibits I find very appealing for their authenticity.

The Intrepid on the other hand was not an authentic experience. Due to buildings on the flight deck, particularly that which houses the first space shuttle Enterprise, it was impossible to experience the size of the ship. The building at the stern cuts off perhaps 20 to 25% of the length of the deck making it not only impossible to experience a view of the deck but also prohibited walking to the end of the deck. This was a very serious disappointment. The shuttle should be on the pier where its building will not ruin the deck experience.

The hangar deck was absolutely inauthentic. They have converted it into an amusement park and not an experience of a hangar deck. Very disappointing.

Only the island, a small part of the deck below the hangar deck and a small section forward the hangar deck were authentic.

The intrepid was very much a disappointment. Even on the pier, there is no unobstructed view from bow to stern. Too many modern buildings and bulky stairways have been built. A terrible decision.

The Growler was a better experience as it was largely authentic. The Intrepid might well be a large museum building as nearly all of the historic authenticity has been destroyed.

And, while compared with the USS Massachusetts where one can explore most of all the decks from the bridge to the actual bottom of the ship, there is no access to perhaps 90% of most of the inside of the Intrepid, excluding the hangar deck, which is, essentially, cleansed of all authenticity.

The Intrepid museum was a true disappointment if you are looking for authenticity.

Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intrepidmuseum, Manager at Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We are sorry for your experience at the Intrepid and value your input. Please reach out to us directly so we can learn more. You can email us at Marketing@Intrepidmuseum.org.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited Intrepid on a New York City Pass. Large number of aircraft on display. A Concorde is also just next to Intrepid. We had our 13 year old son with us and he was amazed at the size of the vessel. Lots of information available on the main hangar deck as well as several film shows and educational experiences. Well worth a visit.

Thank andyray45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intrepidmuseum, Manager at Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thanks for the review, Andy! We're happy to hear that your son enjoyed his time with us, and hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

When walking from Times Square to the Circle Line Cruises (at Pier 83 on 42nd) along 44th, 45th, or 46th Street, one has no choice but to walk past the USS Intrepid aircraft carrier anchored at Pier 86 on 46th Street with actual jets visible on its flattop. It is a majestic-looking ship looking both noble and battle-worn. We walked past it uttering “Wow” and “Very nice”, took some pictures, and wished that we had had more time to be able to go aboard and tour it. Unfortunately there was no time in our schedule for a tour of this impressive warship.

Thank Yitzchak M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intrepidmuseum, Manager at Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We hope you are able to pay us a visit during your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was great to seat in the legendary Concorde, taking pictures in the cockpit and seating as a customer.. only con’s was the guide tour who didn’t know so well the story and specs of this amazing plane...

Thank jules2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

So much to see here from the Intrepid aircraft carrier and its military history to the various war planes on the deck, the space shuttle below and so much history both war and space related. Need several hours and this is an excellent place to bring children. One of our highlights when in New York.

Thank CDAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went first thing in the morning do the lines were not very long we purchased our tickets online through tripadvisor but make sure you remember to print out your tickets before you go.
We went through the submarine first which was amazing and it still smelt of diesel fuel which added to the atmosphere.
Then to the intrepid ship which was very open and amazing to see all the levels accessible of how they lived and worked, including the different aircraft's used.
Lastly the area with the Enterprise wow, truly amazing.
We look forward to bringing our children here next visit.

Thank missbunny78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Enjoyed this place today parts were very sad but this boat survived more than most I would recommend it to anyone but get there early to avoid ques

Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews