We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hospitality - The Way it Should Be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Ranked #20 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days and what can I say, wonderful location, wonderful staff, and a lovely hotel. My wife julia had chosen it through the reviews on this site and when I saw the pictures I was a bit sceptical about it's rather 'frilly' french dated looks, but I couldn't be any more wrong. the Rooms are beautifully kept with a modern touch; the bathrooms are very stylish with large walk in shower. We had a front facing room with small balcony too, and sticking my head out in the morning to breath in the morning buzz of New York with a coffee in hand is something to remember. Colin the manager couldn't be more welcoming and is a real credit to the apartments, as are the rest of the staff who are always ready to help out.
The only slight thing that might concern some older people perhaps is the bar downstairs which on the weekend can be playing dance music. This didn't bother us - in fact, quite the opposite, it's very handy as the ground floor lift opens up at the other side it you want to walk straight into the bar!!

This place is the best place I've stayed in for years, and I've stayed in some decent places. Book without hesitation

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astrobhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 968 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2010

My husband and I found this hotel thanks to tripadvisor. It was fantastic in every way from comfort to location. I am one of these travellers that likes to read all the reviews for a hotel whether negative or positive and I would say you would be hard pushed to find any negative. Colin the manager was very pleasant and helpful as was John who was on the front desk. The bar attached to it has a great atmosphere very American which is what we loved about it. Try the Hurricane cocktails they are to die for. You are literally 5 minutes walk from the heart of Times Square so location was excellent. This is my 2nd v isit to NY and when I return in the future I will be staying at the hotel. I have recommended it to all family and friends. Oh and one last thing the breakfast was lovely and healthy.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LettieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

On our first trip to NYC we were lucky enough to find this lovely hotel.
The staff are so very helpful, ask them anything, if they don't know they will find out.
The rooms are beautifully furnished, comfortable beds made up with very nice linens. Occitane goodies in the bathroom and a Kuerig coffee maker all added to the details the made this hotel a sanctuary. the location is perfect, so close to all amenities and yet peaceful and cosy.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

This is a great hotel, in a good position. We have stayed in many hotels in manhatten near to times square and many are noisy, however with some research it is possible to find quiet rooms. We took two rooms and even our teenage kids said they had little sleep although they loved the hotel. In the winter however, there is no excuse for poor heating. Other people have also complained about how COLD the rooms are. We were freezing. Worst of all the rooms we booked had been GIVEN TO SOMEONE ELSE. The guy on the desk was pleasant but made it clear it was "like it or lump it". As we had paid in advance we felt we had little option and he knew it.
So BEWARE... if you expect to get the room you think you booked and paid for in advance think again. This behaviour to me is completely unacceptable. Thank god we only booked for ONE NIGHT.
Unfortunately we will never return to this superficially pleasant hotel as there are many places nearby, just as good, at lower prices, WITH HEATING, RELATIVLY QUIET and HONEST about your booking details.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Englishman-in-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

What a great experience we had at The French Quarters Guest Apartments. We took a weekend getaway from ATL to NY to see "Fela on Broadway". The hotel was located right in the heart of Broadway. We stayed in Room 105 and it was so romantic. From the bed that made you want to stay in bed to the shower with enough to fit a few people in there. The staff was incredible and housekeeping was fabulous. Although the hotel was in the middle of everything, we still felt like we were in a quaint bed and breakfast away from it all. If you need silence to sleep then you may not want to stay there on a Friday or Saturday night but for me and my fiancee that can sleep through anything, the noise didn't bother us at all. They city noise added to our incredible NY experience. The bar at the lower level was also a great value add to our stay. We hung out there after the SuperBowl and it was a big party. We didn't even have to leave the area. We met a lot of locals and they all spoke highly of The French Quarters. We plan on coming back in 3 months and staying at The French Quarters again.
I wouldn't have found it without TripAdvisor. Thank you for turning me on to such an incredible hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdorce46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

My friends and I had planned an overnight trip to NYC from Philadelphia area which we do at least once a year. By investigating choices through TripAdvisor I discovered this wonderful boutique hotel.
We were able to upgrade, thanks to Colin, to a two bedroom suite which was extremely well appointed. We wished it were warmer so we could have enjoyed the wonderful balcony attached to the suite. All the staff was so friendly and accommodating. The beds were extremely comfortable. The location was fantastic for our theater tickets and for a lunch at Becco which had been prearranged. Kudos to everyone for making our stay very memorable. We are anxious to return

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sixela35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment in The French Quarters Guest Apartments for 3 nights during January. The building is centrally located in the Hell's Kitchen district and a 5 minute walk into Times Square. The accomodation was spotless and well equipped for a City Visitor. The apartment was serviced daily. It also had WiFi connections. Breakfast was basic enough and consisted of cereal, pastries, fresh fruit, bread, bagels, coffee, tea. The apartment faced a busy street but we were never disturbed by street noise. Colin and the front desk staff in the accomodation were very helpful and friendly. The bar attached to the property is lively, especially at the weekends. While the menu here is limited enough in choice, the service and bar atmosphere more than makes up for it. From my experience, I would highly recommend the French Quarters for a New York stay, whether business or leisure.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1SFD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 473 in New York City
1,466 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#7 of 473 in New York City
696 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#281 of 473 in New York City
12,054 reviews
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#25 of 473 in New York City
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3881
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $173 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The French Quarters Guest Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing